Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4457253 - 01/14/19 02:20 PM Resurrecting Old Thrustmaster Gameport Hardware  
PSU_Jedi Offline
PSU_Jedi  Offline

Washington, DC
All,

I've combed through these forums and found a lot of information about how to mod old gameport hardware to USB so that you can still use them. However, everything I've found has involved people digging into the joysticks and throttles and replacing boards. I'm not quite there yet.

I've just started learning arduino and haven't delved into circuitry very much since I was in college 20 years ago, so the work I want to do is all going to be external to my existing flight hardware (I really don't want to accidentally ruin these nice controls).

I have a Thrustmaster F-22 Pro, F-16 TQS, and the Pro Rudder pedals. I want to hook them up as they normally would and then make a "black box" from the gameport that would've normally connected to the computer. I'm convinced this is possible, but maybe a little more complicated than going directly into the base of the controller and modifying there. Has anyone attempted to this project this way? If so, what were the pitfalls? TIA

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4457261 - 01/14/19 03:36 PM Re: Resurrecting Old Thrustmaster Gameport Hardware [Re: PSU_Jedi]  
Sokol1 Offline
Sokol1  Offline

Internet
Several persons have done this kind of modernization, using BU0836, MJoy16, MMjoy2.. Arduino with custom code.

But you necessarily don't need create program for Arduino, joystick code already exist, just need flash then, e.g. the popular MMjoy2 for Aduino PRO Micro, Teensy 2.0...topic about in this forum, with some F16FLCS conversions - search in the topic backwards.:

http://SimHQ.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/topics/3899105/1