Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4455943 - 01/03/19 05:58 PM WINGS OVER FLANDERS FIELDS  
malcolmgeneral2 Offline
malcolmgeneral2  Offline

London
To start: Wonderful sim - pro single player, hugely immersive, 80 planes and four air forces, campaign option - well done OBD

But no sim is 100 percent perfect and I had a few thoughts and would appreciate any comments:

1) As a mediocre pilot I opted for the training on BE2c at Sutton farm and was bit taken aback by having my first flight take place in the dark!? The sim does allow for night flying as airfields are lit but new pilots always flew in daylight in reasonable conditions. The 3rd flight was also at night and so i opted for "Airman auto pilot" to see me through these missions! On arrival at the front my first mission was set at night in the face of a snowstorm! agh! (I see weather conditions can be changed before each single mission but time of flight very limited or not at all. There is a settings clock that allows one to move three hours back or forwards but can lead one flying at dusk into the night!? Needless to add I called on airman auto pilot but even he couldn't managed and he crashed my plane and killed me - so i lost that particular 'career'

2) when on a mission in a campaign I find that if I use the TAC and map options and follow the set out route to and from the target I very soon lose my leader and wingmen? If I follow as i should my leader there seems to be much time spent going round in circles on setting out and over the target area?. Now this maybe because the Leader is coordinating his flight on takeoff and being sure to remain for the allotted time in the target area as per the mission instructions but one does seem to fly very long ways off the map route on most missions - ?