Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#4446780 - 11/03/18 02:49 PM Just started using a headset in WOFF  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 3,067
RAF_Louvert Offline
BOC President; Pilot Extraordinaire; Humble Man
RAF_Louvert  Offline
BOC President; Pilot Extraordinaire; Humble Man
Senior Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 3,067
L'Etoile du Nord
.

Holy schnikees! eek2

I should have done this long long ago, but I've had a real aversion to headsets ever since my four-year stint in the USAF when I wore them all the time while doing my job. However, earlier this week, I took the plunge and ordered a pair of the Logitech G430 Surround Sound. They arrived in this morning's mail and I've just hooked them up and loaded the software, and wow...just wow! Sounds coming from everywhere, loud ones, soft ones, and everything in between. They put me into the cockpit even deeper than I was before. Absolutely amazing, WOFF is almost like a whole new sim with these ... almost. smile2

.


[Linked Image]

Three RFC Brass Hats were strolling down a street in London. Two walked into a bar, the third one ducked.
_________________________________________________________________________

Former Cold War Warrior, USAF Security Service 1974-1978, E-4, Morse Systems Intercept, England, Europe, and points above.
"pippy-pahpah-pippy pah-pip-pah"

#4446796 - 11/03/18 03:13 PM Re: Just started using a headset in WOFF [Re: RAF_Louvert]  
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,821
Fullofit Online content
Member
Fullofit  Online Content
Member

Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,821
Ajax, ON
Lou, I’ve recently made similar discovery, except I unplugged my headphones from the on-board socket and purchased a dedicated SoundBlaster sound card. OMG! What a difference! There were sounds I’ve not heard before. Engines sound like engines. Guns sound like they’re being fired and not bottles of Champagne being opened. If you are using your motherboard chipset to connect your headphones, do yourself a favour and don’t. Get a good sound card and treat your ears to an orgy. You’ll not regret it.


"Take the cylinder out of my kidneys,
The connecting rod out of my brain, my brain,
From out of my arse take the camshaft,
And assemble the engine again."
#4446797 - 11/03/18 03:16 PM Re: Just started using a headset in WOFF [Re: RAF_Louvert]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 1,649
Hasse Offline
Member
Hasse  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 1,649
IMHO, a headset is just as essential for flight sims as a head tracking device.

Really adds to the immersion!


"Upon my word I've had as much excitement on a car as in the air, especially since the R.F.C. have had women drivers."

James McCudden, Five Years in the Royal Flying Corps
#4446805 - 11/03/18 03:35 PM Re: Just started using a headset in WOFF [Re: RAF_Louvert]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 3,067
RAF_Louvert Offline
BOC President; Pilot Extraordinaire; Humble Man
RAF_Louvert  Offline
BOC President; Pilot Extraordinaire; Humble Man
Senior Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 3,067
L'Etoile du Nord
.

It really does, Hasse.

And Fullofit, I'm taking baby steps. biggrin I will say that the sound quality I am currently getting from my Sabertooth P67 mobo is pretty friggin' amazing.

.

#4446810 - 11/03/18 03:50 PM Re: Just started using a headset in WOFF [Re: RAF_Louvert]  
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 470
Nowi Offline
Member
Nowi  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 470
Florida
I started using a headset when I got TrackIr. I don’t like hats.

My headset is a 7.1 system, and I hear all kinds of different sounds than I heard on my 5.1 speakers. I’m still in the process of recognizing sounds. For example, only recently I realized I was getting aural cues when my plane was about to stall. You have to listen closely to pick out the distinct sounds. I think there may actually be a distinct plinking sound if your fuel tank is hit, but I’m still not sure.

And the engine sounds are better on the headphones, especially the Argus.

Nowi


Nowi
#4446811 - 11/03/18 03:54 PM Re: Just started using a headset in WOFF [Re: RAF_Louvert]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 3,067
RAF_Louvert Offline
BOC President; Pilot Extraordinaire; Humble Man
RAF_Louvert  Offline
BOC President; Pilot Extraordinaire; Humble Man
Senior Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 3,067
L'Etoile du Nord
.

Argus...cough cough...climate change...cough cough...Vogons

.

#4446816 - 11/03/18 04:20 PM Re: Just started using a headset in WOFF [Re: RAF_Louvert]  
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,861
Robert_Wiggins Offline
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Robert_Wiggins  Offline
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,861
Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
+1 on all that. Headset for me is indispensable. Great sound and keeps out the surrounding audio disturbances!! That does not extend to spousal interruptions! Lord knows I could not allow that!! yep

Last edited by Robert_Wiggins; 11/03/18 04:20 PM.

(System_Specs)
Case: Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Pwr Sup: OCZ, GameXStream,1000-Watt
MB: Asus Maximus VI Extreme
Mem: Corsair Vengeance (2x 8GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz, Unbuffered
CPU: Intel i7-4770K, OC to 4.427Ghz
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Seidon 240M Liquid CPU Cooler
Vid Card: ASUS GTX 980Ti STRIX 6GB
OS and Games on separate: Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD
Monitor: Primary ASUS PG27AQ 4k; Secondary Samsung SyncMaster BX2450L
Periphs: MS Sidewinder FFB2 Pro, TrackIR 4

#4446818 - 11/03/18 04:30 PM Re: Just started using a headset in WOFF [Re: RAF_Louvert]  
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 470
Nowi Offline
Member
Nowi  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 470
Florida
I rely on the headset not to annoy my spouse who often is sitting at her own PC playing Backgammon or on line Poker. It also keeps out, mostly, her Korean cursing when she loses a hand.

Nowi


Nowi
#4446833 - 11/03/18 06:04 PM Re: Just started using a headset in WOFF [Re: RAF_Louvert]  
Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,564
OldHat Offline
Member
OldHat  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,564
A good quality analog headphone connected to an AMP + USB DAC setup has best soundstage and positional audio for games and music lovers. Once you ditch your onboard sound or dedicated sound card you will not look back.

#4446932 - 11/04/18 03:09 PM Re: Just started using a headset in WOFF [Re: RAF_Louvert]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 177
Mr_Dirt Offline
Member
Mr_Dirt  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 177
Missouri USA
Been using a Razer for years, much like the others so I do not disturb the Minister of Finance. I want to stay on her good side because I may need to ask for some appropriations soon.
John

#4446991 - 11/05/18 03:42 AM Re: Just started using a headset in WOFF [Re: RAF_Louvert]  
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 179
Sailor_Steve Offline
Member
Sailor_Steve  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 179
Salt Lake City, Utah, U.S. of ...
I live in an apartment, so not disturbing the neighbors is vital. Right now I'm using a cheap pair of Sades 'phones and mic. I hate to say it but the sound is terrific - 7.1 and the whole shebang. No complaints at all.


Some people are born stupid. I've had to work hard my whole life to get this way. I'm proud of the job I've done
#4447007 - 11/05/18 11:41 AM Re: Just started using a headset in WOFF [Re: RAF_Louvert]  
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 470
Nowi Offline
Member
Nowi  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 470
Florida
Sade SA 902 here.


Nowi
#4449347 - 11/18/18 08:27 PM Re: Just started using a headset in WOFF [Re: Nowi]  
Joined: May 2017
Posts: 214
jerbear Offline
Member
jerbear  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2017
Posts: 214
SET UP HELP REQUESTED:

I bought some Logitech G430 surround sound. I have the software downloaded and it detects the device, the surround sound is turned on, but I only get sound from the left headphone, all sound, whether it is supposed to be from the right, front, rear etc, it all comes out of the left speaker only.

In the windows 10 devices it is selected as default device and everything seems to be fine until I get to the spatial sound setting, this is permanently off, with no other option and the box for Turn On 7.1 virtual surround sound is greyed out. I think this is the obstacle but cannot find a way around it. Any of you Experten have any advice? deadhorse

Last edited by jerbear; 11/18/18 08:28 PM.
#4449405 - 11/19/18 04:18 AM Re: Just started using a headset in WOFF [Re: RAF_Louvert]  
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 611
Ace_Pilto Offline
Livestreamer/YouTuber
Ace_Pilto  Offline
Livestreamer/YouTuber
Member

Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 611
Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha
Check that stereo is enabled and take a look through the settings in your Logitech gaming app.


Let's pretend I got the BWOC badge to embed here.

Wenn ihr sieg im deine Kampf selbst gegen, wirst schwer wie stahl sein.
#4449540 - 11/20/18 12:01 AM Re: Just started using a headset in WOFF [Re: Ace_Pilto]  
Joined: May 2017
Posts: 214
jerbear Offline
Member
jerbear  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2017
Posts: 214
Thanks Ace

Last edited by jerbear; 11/20/18 12:03 AM.
#4449595 - 11/20/18 10:42 AM Re: Just started using a headset in WOFF [Re: RAF_Louvert]  
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 611
Ace_Pilto Offline
Livestreamer/YouTuber
Ace_Pilto  Offline
Livestreamer/YouTuber
Member

Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 611
Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha
Sorry to go off topic but, is anyone else getting a URL to Amazon appearing on the word " Logitech " here? I know my machine is free of Malware so it's kind of weird.


Let's pretend I got the BWOC badge to embed here.

Wenn ihr sieg im deine Kampf selbst gegen, wirst schwer wie stahl sein.
#4449616 - 11/20/18 01:07 PM Re: Just started using a headset in WOFF [Re: RAF_Louvert]  
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 470
Nowi Offline
Member
Nowi  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 470
Florida
Yes! Every post.


Nowi
#4449679 - 11/20/18 07:34 PM Re: Just started using a headset in WOFF [Re: RAF_Louvert]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,511
JJJ65 Online cool
Member
JJJ65  Online Cool
Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,511
Czech Rep.
Yes smile

#4449862 - 11/21/18 08:47 PM Re: Just started using a headset in WOFF [Re: RAF_Louvert]  
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 470
Nowi Offline
Member
Nowi  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 470
Florida


Nowi
#4449863 - 11/21/18 08:48 PM Re: Just started using a headset in WOFF [Re: RAF_Louvert]  
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 470
Nowi Offline
Member
Nowi  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 470
Florida
Yep! It appeared with a hyperlink that I did not place!

Last edited by Nowi; 11/21/18 08:48 PM.

Nowi
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Polovski 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Mooooo!
by Blade_Meister. 12/13/18 05:22 PM
Dolby Atmos sound....
by Bill_Grant. 12/13/18 04:23 PM
House Party
by KraziKanuK. 12/13/18 12:03 PM
Amazing Engineering
by Timothy. 12/12/18 05:52 PM
New WW2 flight sim, War Online:Pacific
by JimBobb. 12/12/18 08:29 AM
Time to stop drinkin'....
by Bill_Grant. 12/11/18 02:14 PM
What Will Be The Next "Big Thing"?
by F4UDash4. 12/10/18 03:57 PM
Miami vs. New England
by PanzerMeyer. 12/10/18 03:31 PM
Anyone watch Live PD....
by KraziKanuK. 12/10/18 12:58 PM
Another Good One Passes
by rwatson. 12/10/18 11:17 AM
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0