Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4441172 - 09/27/18 08:53 PM Campaign Qestions  
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,456
Genbrien Offline
Stick to the plan man!
Genbrien  Offline
Stick to the plan man!
Member

Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,456
Quebec, Canada
me again!

-Pak priorities: I guess if I want the AI to attack more North after some days, I have to set the priorities higher, but should I lower them on the South, or let them as they were?


-Tankers: How should I procede for it? Just make a single package with only 1 tanker in it patrolling for some hours, or adding one to other flight of the same package?
also, I made one with customs waypoints; it was fying straight at Fl240 but as soon as it entered turn, it plummeted to like FL200. Not really ideal when about to make contact….

-Air escort: I mostly fly A2G missions and want to be escorted. What best type of Ai flight should I take? Tried BARCAP, wich does a good job in general on our way to target, but they attack everything enroute (even helos) and they turn back home when their flight lead dont have ammo anymore… Then I tried some escorts, wich is great for a 1 time drop of bombs because they dont loiter and RTB as soon as they reached their TGT waypoint


XBL/PSN/others: genbrien
Mobo: Asus P8P67 deluxe Monitor: Samsung 23'' 1920*1080
CPU: i7 2600k@ 4.8Ghz Keyboard: Logitech G15
GPU:GTX 980 Strix Mouse: G700s
PSU: Corsair TX750w Gaming Devices: Saitek X55, TrackIr5
RAM: Mushkin 2x4gb ddr2 9-9-9-24 @1600mhz
Case: Cooler Master 690 SSD: Intel X25m 80gb
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4441188 - 09/27/18 10:24 PM Re: Campaign Qestions [Re: Genbrien]  
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,835
DBond Offline
Strategerizer
DBond  Offline
Strategerizer
Hotshot

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,835
NooJoyzee
Originally Posted by Genbrien


-Pak priorities: I guess if I want the AI to attack more North after some days, I have to set the priorities higher, but should I lower them on the South, or let them as they were?


Which campaign are you playing? What is the challenge rating? I feel I can give better advice knowing these two things. In general though, yes, you can shift these PAKS depending on how things are going. For me, in a general sort of way, I tend to start a new campaign with the PAKS that are adjacent to the front line set to all the way on, fully red. This means both sides of the front. The rest are all off, both behind my lines and deeper in to enemy territory. Without knowing which campaign it is it it's difficult to speak of specifics. However most Korea BMS campaigns begin with the infamous Wall O' MiGs. Until this is broken, you don't want to be sending deep strikes. You should consider waiting until the Red airforce is smashed and then begin to slowly roll the PAKS deeper. This allows you to roll back the enemy air defenses instead of sending missions over intact defenses to hit deeper targets. If things go well and Blue starts to move forward, you can continue to modify the PAKS so that you aren't wasting airframes patrolling places that are now even further behind the lines. Thre's more to it, but in general that's the way I approach it.


Quote
-Tankers: How should I procede for it? Just make a single package with only 1 tanker in it patrolling for some hours, or adding one to other flight of the same package?
also, I made one with customs waypoints; it was fying straight at Fl240 but as soon as it entered turn, it plummeted to like FL200. Not really ideal when about to make contact….


I would reckon that over the years I have finished more than 100 Falcon campaigns, and I have never refueled in the air once. This isn't to say that you can't or shouldn't, more so to make the point that I've never found it necessary. I've refueled in the training, but not in a campaign. So my advice here is more academic than borne of practical.experience. In almost all cases, when you take a mission and look at the brief it will list a tanker location or several. If you feel these are inadequate, you can frag one yourself, but you need to give it suitable waypoints, flight altitudes and role. In your example it would just take a quick adjustment to the steerpoint altitudes to keep that tanker flying at the same flight level. It should have a pair of refueling steerpoints along with a station or vulnerability time. During this time it will fly back and forth between these two points, as long as they are the same it should maintain altitude as it runs it's racecourse.

In addition to this you can always ask AWACS for vectors to a tanker. In most campaigns there will always be gas aloft, but usually well behind the lines. This is useful if you're flying with a squadron based some way back, but if you're at a front-line field it's more trouble than it's worth as you could just grease it on down to your home base. You can also choose to hotpit refuel at any Blue base. I always make it a point to choose a good divert field during mission planning. By default that divert field can be anywhere, often to the rear of your own base. I like to drag that steerpoint to an intact Blue base close to the front along my expected egress route. If I get damage or need gas I can set it down there as soon as I fence out. Get the tower frequency before you step and write it down. Then, if you need it, call them up and get vectors. (Edit: I should say landing permission, because if you dragged the divert steerpoint there you'll not need vectors)

There are screenshots in this forum of me landing with less than 100 pounds, so while I haven't found it necessary to refuel, that doesn't mean it's not a good idea lol.

Quote
-Air escort: I mostly fly A2G missions and want to be escorted. What best type of Ai flight should I take? Tried BARCAP, wich does a good job in general on our way to target, but they attack everything enroute (even helos) and they turn back home when their flight lead dont have ammo anymore… Then I tried some escorts, wich is great for a 1 time drop of bombs because they dont loiter and RTB as soon as they reached their TGT waypoint


Depends on the mission as your post alludes to. For missions like interdictions for example, where you'll be loitering, choose TARCAP.

Last edited by DBond; 09/27/18 11:19 PM.
#4441194 - 09/27/18 11:07 PM Re: Campaign Qestions [Re: DBond]  
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,835
DBond Offline
Strategerizer
DBond  Offline
Strategerizer
Hotshot

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,835
NooJoyzee
Originally Posted by DBond
There are screenshots in this forum of me landing with less than 100 pounds, so while I haven't found it necessary to refuel, that doesn't mean it's not a good idea lol.



Case in point haha



[Linked Image]

That's Kimhae in Strong DPRK theater Iron Fortress. The jet is the thoroughbred Block 30. What a sexy beast she is.

But a glance at the gasometer shows I almost didn't make it there smile

#4441198 - 09/27/18 11:35 PM Re: Campaign Qestions [Re: DBond]  
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,456
Genbrien Offline
Stick to the plan man!
Genbrien  Offline
Stick to the plan man!
Member

Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,456
Quebec, Canada
Thx again for your fast and helpfull answers!

Originally Posted by DBond


Which campaign are you playing? What is the challenge rating?

Iron Forteress, Veteran. Every SAMs to Seoul are destroyed, and air resistance is now very weak


So if I put all southern region to priority 0, Ai will still frag shipment/delevries/awacs/logistic/etc?(non combat)


Quote
I have never refueled in the air once.

I dont need to refuel either, but I'm trying a new way to play with 0 external tank to practice my AR skillz


Quote
In almost all cases, when you take a mission and look at the brief it will list a tanker location or several.[quote]
had a few instance where there was none at all


[quote]It should have a pair of refueling steerpoints along with a station or vulnerability time. During this time it will fly back and forth between these two points, as long as they are the same it should maintain altitude as it runs it's racecourse.

is the racetrack a fixed patern or I can make it as long as I want? If so, is there a best lenght between those steerpoints?

Quote
You can also choose to hotpit refuel at any Blue base. I always make it a point to choose a good divert field during mission planning. By default that divert field can be anywhere, often to the rear of your own base. I like to drag that steerpoint to an intact Blue base close to the front along my expected egress route. If I get damage or need gas I can set it down there as soon as I fence out. Get the tower frequency before you step and write it down. Then, if you need it, call them up and get vectors.

thx, never tought of that

Quote
There are screenshots in this forum of me landing with less than 100 pounds, so while I haven't found it necessary to refuel, that doesn't mean it's not a good idea lol.

landed this PM with 200lbs. Punsan to Seoul trip with 4- GBU-24, and a missed AR because of that *** tanker lol

Quote

Depends on the mission as your post alludes to. For missions like interdictions for example, where you'll be loitering, choose TARCAP.

thx I'll try that!


-how is it working for wingmans when they run out of fuel?
straight RTB, or they can AR and go back to their mission?

Attached Files 42643582_235100713835666_6768332614081183744_n.jpg
Last edited by Genbrien; 09/27/18 11:41 PM.

XBL/PSN/others: genbrien
Mobo: Asus P8P67 deluxe Monitor: Samsung 23'' 1920*1080
CPU: i7 2600k@ 4.8Ghz Keyboard: Logitech G15
GPU:GTX 980 Strix Mouse: G700s
PSU: Corsair TX750w Gaming Devices: Saitek X55, TrackIr5
RAM: Mushkin 2x4gb ddr2 9-9-9-24 @1600mhz
Case: Cooler Master 690 SSD: Intel X25m 80gb
#4441203 - 09/28/18 12:00 AM Re: Campaign Qestions [Re: Genbrien]  
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,835
DBond Offline
Strategerizer
DBond  Offline
Strategerizer
Hotshot

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,835
NooJoyzee
Originally Posted by Genbrien
Thx again for your fast and helpfull answers!


My pleasure, as there hasn't been any campaign talk in this forum for a year.

Quote
Iron Forteress, Veteran. Every SAMs to Seoul are destroyed, and air resistance is now very weak

So if I put all southern region to priority 0, Ai will still frag shipment/delevries/awacs/logistic/etc?(non combat)


Correct, it will not affect supply, ELINT or tanker missions. However, it will affect how much CAP those missions get. In the standard theater Iron Fortress the only objective is Seoul. And as a short, five-day campaign, you want to concentrate on the western part of the front along the Osan-Suwon-Seoul corridor. So I tend to hold the line in the center and east, and roll PAKS up to Seoul and Kaesong once we've gained air superiority.


Quote
It should have a pair of refueling steerpoints along with a station or vulnerability time. During this time it will fly back and forth between these two points, as long as they are the same it should maintain altitude as it runs it's racecourse.
is the racetrack a fixed patern or I can make it as long as I want? If so, is there a best lenght between those steerpoints?


Fixed pattern yes. You can make it longer, but you'll soon run afoul of speed/timing limits. When the steerpoints turn red it's not workable. And Falcon being Falcon, sometimes you can't get it back. It would require some trial and error. I'd be interested to know the results should you test it.

Quote
You can also choose to hotpit refuel at any Blue base. I always make it a point to choose a good divert field during mission planning. By default that divert field can be anywhere, often to the rear of your own base. I like to drag that steerpoint to an intact Blue base close to the front along my expected egress route. If I get damage or need gas I can set it down there as soon as I fence out. Get the tower frequency before you step and write it down. Then, if you need it, call them up and get vectors.


Quote
thx, never tought of that


No worries. Once you've become acclimated to the theater, at the point where you know where each airfield is, you can just call in anywhere. Print the radio frequencies from the docs and you're good to go. The divert steerpoint just makes it easier. So if you took off from say Kangnung in the east, and find yourself over Seoul, you might just say I'll call Kimpo and have a beer at the O Club. Well, not in the campaign you're playing since it's Red smile

Quote
There are screenshots in this forum of me landing with less than 100 pounds, so while I haven't found it necessary to refuel, that doesn't mean it's not a good idea lol.

Quote
landed this PM with 200lbs. Punsan to Seoul trip with 4- GBU-24, and a missed AR because of that *** tanker lol


I approve thumbsup

Quote


-how is it working for wingmans when they run out of fuel?
straight RTB, or they can AR and go back to their mission?


You need to give them the RTB command or they'll crash. You should consider making regular checks with AI wingmen to keep an eye on them and send them home when low on fuel or out/low on ordnance. The wingman AI is excellent in BMS, but it requires you to tell them what to do or they will be at best ineffective, or at worst, dead. They will not come back after RTB. As to if they would return after AAR I have no idea Doh.

#4441210 - 09/28/18 12:48 AM Re: Campaign Qestions [Re: Genbrien]  
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,835
DBond Offline
Strategerizer
DBond  Offline
Strategerizer
Hotshot

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,835
NooJoyzee
Edit, don't need the big pic, but in regards to your PAKS shot

If those were my PAKS I would redo them. There will be missions going to Pyongyang, and that's asking a lot. But it's not my campaign and it's a good idea to try different things to see what's what. Pusan as well is heavy, so all HAV missions in that sector will be CAP'd. Nothing inherently wrong with any of this. But if you look to maximize your limited assets, the PAKS could be more focused along the front and objective. That said, this particular campaign features a very shallow Blue territory, so it doesn't make that much difference. In Tiger Spirit or Rolling Fire though you wouldn't want to CAP Pusan or Japan.

This post covers some of my thoughts on PAKS and sliders

Last edited by DBond; 09/28/18 01:05 AM.
#4441256 - 09/28/18 12:35 PM Re: Campaign Qestions [Re: Genbrien]  
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,835
DBond Offline
Strategerizer
DBond  Offline
Strategerizer
Hotshot

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,835
NooJoyzee
Just noticed it's day 5 in your campaign. It will end this day (well technically morning day 6, or 120 hours from campaign start time). It will be a stalemate.

This campaign (standard Korea Iron Fortress) is the best one to get involved in tasking ground units. Clear the way up the corridor with airstrikes and give movement orders to ground units to take everything up to and including Seoul. The five day limit means oftentimes the computer won't act with enough urgency to capture the objective in time to get a victory in the logbook..

#4441912 - 10/02/18 06:18 PM Re: Campaign Qestions [Re: DBond]  
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,456
Genbrien Offline
Stick to the plan man!
Genbrien  Offline
Stick to the plan man!
Member

Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,456
Quebec, Canada
Originally Posted by DBond
Just noticed it's day 5 in your campaign. It will end this day (well technically morning day 6, or 120 hours from campaign start time). It will be a stalemate.

tasking ground units.
give movement orders to ground units

how do you do that? Must instruct each individuals ground units by unticking ''set by HQ'' ?

edit: nvm, I found out.
gonna be fun to move troops now!


Last edited by Genbrien; 10/02/18 06:48 PM.

XBL/PSN/others: genbrien
Mobo: Asus P8P67 deluxe Monitor: Samsung 23'' 1920*1080
CPU: i7 2600k@ 4.8Ghz Keyboard: Logitech G15
GPU:GTX 980 Strix Mouse: G700s
PSU: Corsair TX750w Gaming Devices: Saitek X55, TrackIr5
RAM: Mushkin 2x4gb ddr2 9-9-9-24 @1600mhz
Case: Cooler Master 690 SSD: Intel X25m 80gb
#4441924 - 10/02/18 07:04 PM Re: Campaign Qestions [Re: Genbrien]  
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,835
DBond Offline
Strategerizer
DBond  Offline
Strategerizer
Hotshot

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,835
NooJoyzee
Yep, untick set by HQ and left click the unit. A white circle should appear and can be dragged to a target destination. But it's flaky. Some won't listen, some head somewhere else. But if you can get a few battalions rolling in the right direction it works. The last KTO IF I played was won at 1800 hours of day two. Without this I don't know that the program is ever going to get them there on it's own within those five days.

#4441926 - 10/02/18 07:29 PM Re: Campaign Qestions [Re: Genbrien]  
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,456
Genbrien Offline
Stick to the plan man!
Genbrien  Offline
Stick to the plan man!
Member

Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,456
Quebec, Canada
If I give an order to ground troops, than re-tick "set by hq", will they go where I sent them, and after move by the AI, or it'll cancel my order straight away and do something else?

Also, why sometimes with 4 aircraft are we taking off 2by2, sometimes alone?


XBL/PSN/others: genbrien
Mobo: Asus P8P67 deluxe Monitor: Samsung 23'' 1920*1080
CPU: i7 2600k@ 4.8Ghz Keyboard: Logitech G15
GPU:GTX 980 Strix Mouse: G700s
PSU: Corsair TX750w Gaming Devices: Saitek X55, TrackIr5
RAM: Mushkin 2x4gb ddr2 9-9-9-24 @1600mhz
Case: Cooler Master 690 SSD: Intel X25m 80gb
#4441928 - 10/02/18 08:09 PM Re: Campaign Qestions [Re: Genbrien]  
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,835
DBond Offline
Strategerizer
DBond  Offline
Strategerizer
Hotshot

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,835
NooJoyzee
If you give control back to the unit it will go somewhere else, which it may do even if you don't. I am careful to clear the way with ground attack missions, because some losses could see strength insufficient to get there. If they get exhausted they need to rest a while. So you can't just drive em straight on to the objectives. I tend to favor Marine battalions but will use whatever's about.

Not sure about takeoffs. But it may be that you've taken posistion on the side of the runway the AI wanted to use.

#4442219 - 10/04/18 09:29 PM Re: Campaign Qestions [Re: Genbrien]  
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,456
Genbrien Offline
Stick to the plan man!
Genbrien  Offline
Stick to the plan man!
Member

Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,456
Quebec, Canada
Thx a lot for your help.
I won the campaign on the 5th day @ around 15:30 with some marines rushing to Seoul loll

Gonna start a new one with changing weather this time!

- If you move SAM/AAA units, will they attack enemy planes while they are moving, or only once they reached their destination?

- what is the size of the 'bubble'?


XBL/PSN/others: genbrien
Mobo: Asus P8P67 deluxe Monitor: Samsung 23'' 1920*1080
CPU: i7 2600k@ 4.8Ghz Keyboard: Logitech G15
GPU:GTX 980 Strix Mouse: G700s
PSU: Corsair TX750w Gaming Devices: Saitek X55, TrackIr5
RAM: Mushkin 2x4gb ddr2 9-9-9-24 @1600mhz
Case: Cooler Master 690 SSD: Intel X25m 80gb
#4442495 - 10/06/18 02:59 PM Re: Campaign Qestions [Re: Genbrien]  
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,835
DBond Offline
Strategerizer
DBond  Offline
Strategerizer
Hotshot

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,835
NooJoyzee
Hey, congrats on your victory! Is it the first one in the logbook? Good job using those Marines. They get it done.

How are you handling your weather?

Some time back I was looking to get a handle on this and get some foul weather in my campaigns. Here's the thread

Campaign Weather Thread

As far as I know air defense units function normally either way, and especially so in 2D I think. In 3D I can't be certain.

I don't know the size of the bubble in BMS. If I had to guess I'd say around 60 miles but just a guess.

#4443032 - 10/09/18 06:02 PM Re: Campaign Qestions [Re: Genbrien]  
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,456
Genbrien Offline
Stick to the plan man!
Genbrien  Offline
Stick to the plan man!
Member

Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,456
Quebec, Canada
I'll start tomorrow my new campaign and I'll use(try…) F4Wx https://www.benchmarksims.org/forum/showthread.php?29203-Beta-F4Wx-Real-Weather-Converter


XBL/PSN/others: genbrien
Mobo: Asus P8P67 deluxe Monitor: Samsung 23'' 1920*1080
CPU: i7 2600k@ 4.8Ghz Keyboard: Logitech G15
GPU:GTX 980 Strix Mouse: G700s
PSU: Corsair TX750w Gaming Devices: Saitek X55, TrackIr5
RAM: Mushkin 2x4gb ddr2 9-9-9-24 @1600mhz
Case: Cooler Master 690 SSD: Intel X25m 80gb
#4443188 - 10/10/18 04:40 PM Re: Campaign Qestions [Re: Genbrien]  
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,835
DBond Offline
Strategerizer
DBond  Offline
Strategerizer
Hotshot

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,835
NooJoyzee
Good luck, I'd be interested to know how you get on with the weather program.

#4443285 - 10/11/18 03:12 PM Re: Campaign Qestions [Re: Genbrien]  
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,456
Genbrien Offline
Stick to the plan man!
Genbrien  Offline
Stick to the plan man!
Member

Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,456
Quebec, Canada
kinda easy to get and download weather. Made it works ingame. Not too far in the campaign so I dont know if its updating the weather
But its nice to have cloud covers and lots of turbulances!

There's 9 F16 in that pic, and quite some more on the taxiway behind me

Attached Files 2018-10-11_103331.jpg
Last edited by Genbrien; 10/11/18 03:14 PM.

XBL/PSN/others: genbrien
Mobo: Asus P8P67 deluxe Monitor: Samsung 23'' 1920*1080
CPU: i7 2600k@ 4.8Ghz Keyboard: Logitech G15
GPU:GTX 980 Strix Mouse: G700s
PSU: Corsair TX750w Gaming Devices: Saitek X55, TrackIr5
RAM: Mushkin 2x4gb ddr2 9-9-9-24 @1600mhz
Case: Cooler Master 690 SSD: Intel X25m 80gb
#4443301 - 10/11/18 04:44 PM Re: Campaign Qestions [Re: Genbrien]  
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,835
DBond Offline
Strategerizer
DBond  Offline
Strategerizer
Hotshot

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,835
NooJoyzee
In conjunction with WeatherGen I made sure to enable Auto Map Update under the weather settings to ensure that the weather map would change in time. It may be on by default, but worth checking.


Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Agusta Treverorum - Trier
by Alicatt. 10/23/18 12:36 PM
Joachim Rønneberg has died
by KraziKanuK. 10/23/18 11:33 AM
Unsecure site?
by Chucky. 10/22/18 02:19 PM
Surviving a Sinking Helicopter
by F4UDash4. 10/22/18 12:39 AM
Research for my class: Sim players in Alaska
by OneSock. 10/21/18 10:48 PM
Trafalgar Day
by No105_Archie. 10/21/18 04:58 PM
World Series
by PanzerMeyer. 10/21/18 11:47 AM
1955 Belgium GP
by KraziKanuK. 10/21/18 12:58 AM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0