Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4443013 - 10/09/18 04:31 PM Is DCS worth coming back to?  
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 337
JCathcart Offline
Member
JCathcart  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 337
Utah
Hello gents (and ladies, if any),

I currently have a moderately-powered rig with an Intel® Core i3-8100 Processor (6M Cache, 3.60 GHz), with a GeForce 1060 (6GB RAM) and 16GB of RAM.

I haven't messed with DCS for a year or so, but have been tempted by the new F-18 and Persian Gulf map (and the forthcoming F-14...due out sometime before 2045).

Should I even bother? I've heard that the sim is all but unplayable unless you have 32GB of RAM. Can that possibly be true?

If so, does DCS have any plans on optimizing their code to run better on a regular ol' computer?

Also, I only have 110GB of free HD space. How much does DCS World and just the F-18 and Persian Gulf map take up?

Thanks in advance for your thoughtful responses guys, I appreciate your input.


"For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.
Wherefore take unto you the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand." -- Ephesians 6: 12-13 KJV
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4443014 - 10/09/18 04:36 PM Re: Is DCS worth coming back to? [Re: JCathcart]  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 13,792
Tom_Weiss Offline
>>> P3Dv4+Il-2 = !!!
Tom_Weiss  Offline
>>> P3Dv4+Il-2 = !!!
Veteran

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 13,792
3rd Planet, Sun
you can give it a try - DCS is free to download


visit LockOnFiles.com

my facebook & Twitter pages
https://www.facebook.com/lockon.files
https://twitter.com/LockOnFiles


#4443025 - 10/09/18 05:47 PM Re: Is DCS worth coming back to? [Re: JCathcart]  
Joined: Nov 2015
Posts: 49
Tirak Offline
Junior Member
Tirak  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Nov 2015
Posts: 49
The game isn't unplayable without 32GB of RAM, that's only for playing on high graphics in intensive multiplayer environments. The game is unplayable however if you don't have an SSD. Right now I wouldn't recommend diving in for the Hornet, as it's in very early access and missing large chunks of its systems while they are implemented step by step. Similarly, I don't recommend the Persian Gulf unless you are a singleplayer only kind of person and have an idea of how to make your own missions at this point. DCS is in a weird spot right now, with positive changes starting to come out, but having just come out of a very unstable period in game performance that hasn't been fully resolved. I'd recommend downloading it and only using the free modules for now just to see if it's your cup of tea right now.

#4443028 - 10/09/18 05:52 PM Re: Is DCS worth coming back to? [Re: JCathcart]  
Joined: Mar 2015
Posts: 76
Exorcet Offline
Junior Member
Exorcet  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2015
Posts: 76
Originally Posted by JCathcart
Hello gents (and ladies, if any),

I currently have a moderately-powered rig with an Intel® Core i3-8100 Processor (6M Cache, 3.60 GHz), with a GeForce 1060 (6GB RAM) and 16GB of RAM.

I haven't messed with DCS for a year or so, but have been tempted by the new F-18 and Persian Gulf map (and the forthcoming F-14...due out sometime before 2045).

Should I even bother? I've heard that the sim is all but unplayable unless you have 32GB of RAM. Can that possibly be true?


[Un]fortunately, I decided to build my PC with 32 GB of RAM because I got a pretty good deal on it. I haven't tried to install on my other computer, but it's a laptop anyway. All I can really say on this is that I don't recall seeing DCS using over half of my RAM, but obviously take the word of someone with a 16GB machine over mine.

Your graphics card is newer mine (970) so assuming you don't get bogged down on RAM you should be able to run on medium-high settings depending on your resolution and preferences.

I've had good performance with 2.5 since launch, my biggest gripe would be a bit more slow down than I'd like on larger missions with lots of planes in the air, although I did this primarily in earlier patches. I haven't done a stress test on the current release, but it feels a little better.

Quote
If so, does DCS have any plans on optimizing their code to run better on a regular ol' computer?

There has been some talk about optimization, most recently upgrading to Vulkan API, which should improve performance in general. I don't know if this will result in lowered recommended settings though. I don't really know much about the current status of this work.

Quote
Also, I only have 110GB of free HD space. How much does DCS World and just the F-18 and Persian Gulf map take up?

I can't check on my machine right now, but from some other users, it sounds like over 25 GB:

https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=208789


https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=206340

I say over because the map was recently updated and is probably larger than it was when those posts were made. 110 should be enough for a map and a module. I believe you can also download them both before buying, you just won't be able to use them.

Last edited by Exorcet; 10/09/18 06:10 PM.
#4443029 - 10/09/18 05:58 PM Re: Is DCS worth coming back to? [Re: JCathcart]  
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,419
Force10 Offline
I'm just a
Force10  Offline
I'm just a
Senior Member

Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,419
CA
I'd go with Tom's suggestion...download the free version and see how it runs. Of course...performance on your machine is just one small part of the question of if it's worthy of purchase. I would hold off on buying the FA/18 until it's more fleshed out. (couple years?)


Asus Z87 Sabertooth motherboard
Windows 7 64 bit Home edition
Intel I5 4670K @ 4.4 ghz
16 gig 1866mhz Corsair Vengence Pro memory
EVGA GTX 970 Superclocked 4gb Video Card
Intel 510 series 120gb SSD (boot drive)
Samsung 840 1TB SSD
Onboard Realtek sound
______________________________________________________

Oddball from Kelly's Heroes: "If we're late, it's cause we're dead"



#4443044 - 10/09/18 06:32 PM Re: Is DCS worth coming back to? [Re: JCathcart]  
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,015
Flogger23m Offline
Senior Member
Flogger23m  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,015
US
Install size for my game is 136GB. That includes Nevada and a bunch of other modules. 110GB might be enough for just the Hornet and PG map, but that is cutting it close.

Load times on PG are pretty high in the mission editor. Didn't use to be a problem with Nevada but I haven't tried that in months. Game runs good otherwise. Whoever can't run DCS on 16GB of RAM is likely running some bloatware in the background or is having issues with their PC. Once in game it runs okay for me with 16GB of RAM. I do have a better CPU and GPU than you though.

#4443074 - 10/09/18 11:25 PM Re: Is DCS worth coming back to? [Re: JCathcart]  
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 771
Bumfluff Offline
Member
Bumfluff  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 771
Modules like the spitfire are a joy - but you will quickly find yourself frustrated by what could have been.

In fact that’s the whole game really. Falling just short of greatness.

#4443112 - 10/10/18 03:54 AM Re: Is DCS worth coming back to? [Re: JCathcart]  
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,370
malibu43 Offline
Member
malibu43  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,370
SoCal
DCS runs great for me, including the Hornet. Specs in my sig (in other words, no you don't need 32GB of RAM).


Sager NP8671 17.3" Notebook, i74720HQ (3.6GHz), GTX 970M (3.0GB), 8GB DDR3 RAM, 1TB 7200RPM HD, TrackIR 4, CH HOTAS and rudder pedals

Currently Installed:
P3D
CloD
BMS

#4443121 - 10/10/18 06:08 AM Re: Is DCS worth coming back to? [Re: malibu43]  
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,350
mdwa Offline
Member
mdwa  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,350
Way over in Perth, Western Aus...
Originally Posted by malibu43
DCS runs great for me, including the Hornet. Specs in my sig (in other words, no you don't need 32GB of RAM).


On what settings though...


mdwa
#4443214 - 10/10/18 08:52 PM Re: Is DCS worth coming back to? [Re: mdwa]  
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,370
malibu43 Offline
Member
malibu43  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,370
SoCal
Originally Posted by mdwa
Originally Posted by malibu43
DCS runs great for me, including the Hornet. Specs in my sig (in other words, no you don't need 32GB of RAM).


On what settings though...


Medium or high mostly. I don't have it all in front of me.

Whatever the settings, they are good enough to make the sim look amazing and run smoothly (or smooth enough for me).

I should add that I do have DCS installed on a SSD. Helped a lot with some stutters.

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

Last edited by malibu43; 10/10/18 09:54 PM.

Sager NP8671 17.3" Notebook, i74720HQ (3.6GHz), GTX 970M (3.0GB), 8GB DDR3 RAM, 1TB 7200RPM HD, TrackIR 4, CH HOTAS and rudder pedals

Currently Installed:
P3D
CloD
BMS

#4443233 - 10/11/18 12:13 AM Re: Is DCS worth coming back to? [Re: JCathcart]  
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 71
AureliusAugustus Offline
Junior Member
AureliusAugustus  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 71
The base install of 2.5.3 plus only the Hornet module is 83 GB in space. I second the recommendation for a SSD, even better a M.2 Nvme drive. Having flown in IL2 1946, IL2 BOS , ROF and MS FS X, I would say that DCS 2.5.3 is coming along very nicely. The VR experience is now about the same as IL2 BOS (which means it is excellent) and the sim is compatible with the Oculus Rift, HTC Vive and Vive Pro, Samsung Odyssey and others headsets. (But you will need a good system to take advantage of VR)


Here to learn
#4443494 - 10/12/18 10:21 PM Re: Is DCS worth coming back to? [Re: JCathcart]  
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,015
Flogger23m Offline
Senior Member
Flogger23m  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,015
US
MIG-29 is getting the PFM soon. I'll be loading it up once the update is live.

#4443549 - 10/13/18 09:53 AM Re: Is DCS worth coming back to? [Re: JCathcart]  
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,415
theOden Offline
Member
theOden  Offline
Member

Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,415
Just remember to backup your keybindings biggrin


Moderated by  Force10, RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Agusta Treverorum - Trier
by Alicatt. 10/23/18 12:36 PM
Joachim Rønneberg has died
by KraziKanuK. 10/23/18 11:33 AM
Unsecure site?
by Chucky. 10/22/18 02:19 PM
Surviving a Sinking Helicopter
by F4UDash4. 10/22/18 12:39 AM
Research for my class: Sim players in Alaska
by OneSock. 10/21/18 10:48 PM
Trafalgar Day
by No105_Archie. 10/21/18 04:58 PM
World Series
by PanzerMeyer. 10/21/18 11:47 AM
1955 Belgium GP
by KraziKanuK. 10/21/18 12:58 AM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0