Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#4443013 - 10/09/18 04:31 PM Is DCS worth coming back to?  
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 337
JCathcart Offline
Member
JCathcart  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 337
Utah
Hello gents (and ladies, if any),

I currently have a moderately-powered rig with an Intel® Core i3-8100 Processor (6M Cache, 3.60 GHz), with a GeForce 1060 (6GB RAM) and 16GB of RAM.

I haven't messed with DCS for a year or so, but have been tempted by the new F-18 and Persian Gulf map (and the forthcoming F-14...due out sometime before 2045).

Should I even bother? I've heard that the sim is all but unplayable unless you have 32GB of RAM. Can that possibly be true?

If so, does DCS have any plans on optimizing their code to run better on a regular ol' computer?

Also, I only have 110GB of free HD space. How much does DCS World and just the F-18 and Persian Gulf map take up?

Thanks in advance for your thoughtful responses guys, I appreciate your input.


"For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.
Wherefore take unto you the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand." -- Ephesians 6: 12-13 KJV
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4443014 - 10/09/18 04:36 PM Re: Is DCS worth coming back to? [Re: JCathcart]  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 13,865
Tom_Weiss Online content
>>> P3Dv4+Il-2 = !!!
Tom_Weiss  Online Content
>>> P3Dv4+Il-2 = !!!
Veteran

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 13,865
3rd Planet, Sun
you can give it a try - DCS is free to download


visit LockOnFiles.com

my facebook & Twitter pages
https://www.facebook.com/lockon.files
https://twitter.com/LockOnFiles


#4443025 - 10/09/18 05:47 PM Re: Is DCS worth coming back to? [Re: JCathcart]  
Joined: Nov 2015
Posts: 49
Tirak Offline
Junior Member
Tirak  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Nov 2015
Posts: 49
The game isn't unplayable without 32GB of RAM, that's only for playing on high graphics in intensive multiplayer environments. The game is unplayable however if you don't have an SSD. Right now I wouldn't recommend diving in for the Hornet, as it's in very early access and missing large chunks of its systems while they are implemented step by step. Similarly, I don't recommend the Persian Gulf unless you are a singleplayer only kind of person and have an idea of how to make your own missions at this point. DCS is in a weird spot right now, with positive changes starting to come out, but having just come out of a very unstable period in game performance that hasn't been fully resolved. I'd recommend downloading it and only using the free modules for now just to see if it's your cup of tea right now.

#4443028 - 10/09/18 05:52 PM Re: Is DCS worth coming back to? [Re: JCathcart]  
Joined: Mar 2015
Posts: 78
Exorcet Offline
Junior Member
Exorcet  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2015
Posts: 78
Originally Posted by JCathcart
Hello gents (and ladies, if any),

I currently have a moderately-powered rig with an Intel® Core i3-8100 Processor (6M Cache, 3.60 GHz), with a GeForce 1060 (6GB RAM) and 16GB of RAM.

I haven't messed with DCS for a year or so, but have been tempted by the new F-18 and Persian Gulf map (and the forthcoming F-14...due out sometime before 2045).

Should I even bother? I've heard that the sim is all but unplayable unless you have 32GB of RAM. Can that possibly be true?


[Un]fortunately, I decided to build my PC with 32 GB of RAM because I got a pretty good deal on it. I haven't tried to install on my other computer, but it's a laptop anyway. All I can really say on this is that I don't recall seeing DCS using over half of my RAM, but obviously take the word of someone with a 16GB machine over mine.

Your graphics card is newer mine (970) so assuming you don't get bogged down on RAM you should be able to run on medium-high settings depending on your resolution and preferences.

I've had good performance with 2.5 since launch, my biggest gripe would be a bit more slow down than I'd like on larger missions with lots of planes in the air, although I did this primarily in earlier patches. I haven't done a stress test on the current release, but it feels a little better.

Quote
If so, does DCS have any plans on optimizing their code to run better on a regular ol' computer?

There has been some talk about optimization, most recently upgrading to Vulkan API, which should improve performance in general. I don't know if this will result in lowered recommended settings though. I don't really know much about the current status of this work.

Quote
Also, I only have 110GB of free HD space. How much does DCS World and just the F-18 and Persian Gulf map take up?

I can't check on my machine right now, but from some other users, it sounds like over 25 GB:

https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=208789


https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=206340

I say over because the map was recently updated and is probably larger than it was when those posts were made. 110 should be enough for a map and a module. I believe you can also download them both before buying, you just won't be able to use them.

Last edited by Exorcet; 10/09/18 06:10 PM.
#4443029 - 10/09/18 05:58 PM Re: Is DCS worth coming back to? [Re: JCathcart]  
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,431
Force10 Offline
I'm just a
Force10  Offline
I'm just a
Senior Member

Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,431
CA
I'd go with Tom's suggestion...download the free version and see how it runs. Of course...performance on your machine is just one small part of the question of if it's worthy of purchase. I would hold off on buying the FA/18 until it's more fleshed out. (couple years?)


Asus Z87 Sabertooth motherboard
Windows 7 64 bit Home edition
Intel I5 4670K @ 4.4 ghz
16 gig 1866mhz Corsair Vengence Pro memory
EVGA GTX 970 Superclocked 4gb Video Card
Intel 510 series 120gb SSD (boot drive)
Samsung 840 1TB SSD
Onboard Realtek sound
______________________________________________________

Oddball from Kelly's Heroes: "If we're late, it's cause we're dead"



#4443044 - 10/09/18 06:32 PM Re: Is DCS worth coming back to? [Re: JCathcart]  
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,024
Flogger23m Offline
Senior Member
Flogger23m  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,024
US
Install size for my game is 136GB. That includes Nevada and a bunch of other modules. 110GB might be enough for just the Hornet and PG map, but that is cutting it close.

Load times on PG are pretty high in the mission editor. Didn't use to be a problem with Nevada but I haven't tried that in months. Game runs good otherwise. Whoever can't run DCS on 16GB of RAM is likely running some bloatware in the background or is having issues with their PC. Once in game it runs okay for me with 16GB of RAM. I do have a better CPU and GPU than you though.

#4443074 - 10/09/18 11:25 PM Re: Is DCS worth coming back to? [Re: JCathcart]  
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 771
Bumfluff Offline
Member
Bumfluff  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 771
Modules like the spitfire are a joy - but you will quickly find yourself frustrated by what could have been.

In fact that’s the whole game really. Falling just short of greatness.

#4443112 - 10/10/18 03:54 AM Re: Is DCS worth coming back to? [Re: JCathcart]  
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,370
malibu43 Offline
Member
malibu43  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,370
SoCal
DCS runs great for me, including the Hornet. Specs in my sig (in other words, no you don't need 32GB of RAM).


Sager NP8671 17.3" Notebook, i74720HQ (3.6GHz), GTX 970M (3.0GB), 8GB DDR3 RAM, 1TB 7200RPM HD, TrackIR 4, CH HOTAS and rudder pedals

Currently Installed:
P3D
CloD
BMS

#4443121 - 10/10/18 06:08 AM Re: Is DCS worth coming back to? [Re: malibu43]  
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,400
mdwa Offline
Member
mdwa  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,400
Way over in Perth, Western Aus...
Originally Posted by malibu43
DCS runs great for me, including the Hornet. Specs in my sig (in other words, no you don't need 32GB of RAM).


On what settings though...


mdwa
#4443214 - 10/10/18 08:52 PM Re: Is DCS worth coming back to? [Re: mdwa]  
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,370
malibu43 Offline
Member
malibu43  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,370
SoCal
Originally Posted by mdwa
Originally Posted by malibu43
DCS runs great for me, including the Hornet. Specs in my sig (in other words, no you don't need 32GB of RAM).


On what settings though...


Medium or high mostly. I don't have it all in front of me.

Whatever the settings, they are good enough to make the sim look amazing and run smoothly (or smooth enough for me).

I should add that I do have DCS installed on a SSD. Helped a lot with some stutters.

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

Last edited by malibu43; 10/10/18 09:54 PM.

Sager NP8671 17.3" Notebook, i74720HQ (3.6GHz), GTX 970M (3.0GB), 8GB DDR3 RAM, 1TB 7200RPM HD, TrackIR 4, CH HOTAS and rudder pedals

Currently Installed:
P3D
CloD
BMS

#4443233 - 10/11/18 12:13 AM Re: Is DCS worth coming back to? [Re: JCathcart]  
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 71
AureliusAugustus Offline
Junior Member
AureliusAugustus  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 71
The base install of 2.5.3 plus only the Hornet module is 83 GB in space. I second the recommendation for a SSD, even better a M.2 Nvme drive. Having flown in IL2 1946, IL2 BOS , ROF and MS FS X, I would say that DCS 2.5.3 is coming along very nicely. The VR experience is now about the same as IL2 BOS (which means it is excellent) and the sim is compatible with the Oculus Rift, HTC Vive and Vive Pro, Samsung Odyssey and others headsets. (But you will need a good system to take advantage of VR)


Here to learn
#4443494 - 10/12/18 10:21 PM Re: Is DCS worth coming back to? [Re: JCathcart]  
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,024
Flogger23m Offline
Senior Member
Flogger23m  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,024
US
MIG-29 is getting the PFM soon. I'll be loading it up once the update is live.

#4443549 - 10/13/18 09:53 AM Re: Is DCS worth coming back to? [Re: JCathcart]  
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,446
theOden Offline
Member
theOden  Offline
Member

Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,446
Just remember to backup your keybindings biggrin

#4446376 - 10/31/18 06:52 PM Re: Is DCS worth coming back to? [Re: JCathcart]  
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 3,462
AggressorBLUE Offline
Check out my
AggressorBLUE  Offline
Check out my
Senior Member

Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 3,462
Jerz
Another vote for SSD. If nothing else, DCS often has some VERY long load times, especially after an update is run, so an SSD is a huge help here. As other have said, bench mark using the free version first.

Also, as a hornet owner, I'd say it's a must have (even in it's current state) if you're a huge fan of the aircraft and naval aviation in general. There's still a lot of stuff coming, but enough to keep one busy (even just learning the finer points of carrier based aviation), and basic A2A and A2G operations. I'll simply say that I'm having fun with it, and feel my money is well spent.


My Rig:i5-3570k @ 4.2 GHZ W/ Corsair Hydro H110 Cooler / Asus Sabertooth Z77 Mobo / GTX 1070/ 16 Gigs DDR3 RAM / A Few SSDs, and a Bunch of HDDs / All held together by: Corsair C70 Case

Other Assets Deployed:
HOTAS: Thrustmaster Warthog SN#22621/CH Throttle Quad/MFG Crosswind Pedals SN#0004 smile
TrackIR TIR 5 w/ TrackClip Pro biggrin
Simpit: Obutto R3VOLUTION


#4446560 - 11/02/18 01:32 AM Re: Is DCS worth coming back to? [Re: JCathcart]  
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,162
rollnloop. Offline
Member
rollnloop.  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,162
France
I just upgraded from 8Gb of ram to 16Gb. Rest of specs core I5 2.8Ghz, GtX970, ssd.

Game moved from very unpleasant to play (eternal load times, hiccups during play) to playable with good graphics. Optimization is still vastly inferior to any other game/sim I play (46,BoX,BMS,arma3, elite, ..... ), and after 2/3 games I need to restart to avoid freezes. However loadtimes are now bearable, no hiccups during 1/2 flights and correct fps. I still have delays when pressing f2 for externals on loading the scenery (therés water where there should be mountains, until they finally load). Some 3D models are ugly (su34, B52), most are ranging from nice to gorgeous.

They deleted the ability to magnify distant planes so you feel totally blind in visual combat unless your radar has locked or you've been lucky enough to spot the aircraft at the right time (that is well in killing range from aim9s).

Right now mig29 is my ride, PFM still needs some work imo (autostability reacts somewhat strangely at times) but it's going the su25T way which was very enjoyable.

Solo campaign works so far, hope that the dynamic 3rd party engine will too.

To wrap it up, yes it's worth a revisit, but 16Gb ram and a SSD are necessary due to abysmal optimization.

#4446748 - 11/03/18 05:24 AM Re: Is DCS worth coming back to? [Re: JCathcart]  
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 12,462
bisher Online content
I'll be your Huckleberry
bisher  Online Content
I'll be your Huckleberry
Veteran

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 12,462
Manitoba, Canada
I look forward to upgrading to 16 Gbs ram and an SSD

I can play basic missions with little or no performance issues

Load times are a pain, I recall after one of the updates load times had significantly improved. Not so much after the next update smile


1 adam 12, 1 adam 12. 2 - 11 in progress. 1 adam 12 handle code 3
#4446760 - 11/03/18 11:33 AM Re: Is DCS worth coming back to? [Re: JCathcart]  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 13,865
Tom_Weiss Online content
>>> P3Dv4+Il-2 = !!!
Tom_Weiss  Online Content
>>> P3Dv4+Il-2 = !!!
Veteran

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 13,865
3rd Planet, Sun
I haven't run it in a while, couple of months - but

on a i7 4Ghz + 32 GB 1333 RAM
OS on a RAID SSD
DCS on a RAID HD
and a GTX1080 8GB

load times were relatively fast while loading the default map with a single fighter.


visit LockOnFiles.com

my facebook & Twitter pages
https://www.facebook.com/lockon.files
https://twitter.com/LockOnFiles


#4447329 - 11/07/18 02:39 AM Re: Is DCS worth coming back to? [Re: bisher]  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 18,426
piper Offline
Veteran
piper  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 18,426
Raleigh,NC
Originally Posted by bisher
I look forward to upgrading to 16 Gbs ram and an SSD

I can play basic missions with little or no performance issues

Load times are a pain, I recall after one of the updates load times had significantly improved. Not so much after the next update smile



My sentiments exactly. And the same upgrading needs. When it takes longer to load then get shot down, well...

#4447331 - 11/07/18 02:53 AM Re: Is DCS worth coming back to? [Re: JCathcart]  
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 782
Blade_Meister Offline
Member
Blade_Meister  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 782
Atlanta, GA, USA
Yes Ed is PATHETIC. They let VEAO rip off customers and have never done a thing to shut down that bunch of (insert appropriate word here) ___ artists. There pre purchase policy is that they don't give refunds on pre purchases. Yet, they supposedly made an announcement in their VEAO thread(I never saw it, and still haven't) on the ED Forum that they would give a refund for a limited time( one week as I understand it). VEAO never e-mailed(they required e-mails for pre purchase) anyone advising them of the offer for a refund. Once I did see the whole debacle I asked for a refund and Pman said I had missed the offered period for the refund. I PMed him and explained my situation that I rarely visited the ED Forums anymore and that that is why I missed it. I also asked why had they not emailed me the offer. The only response I received was that their lawyers had advised them not to give anymore refunds. So here I am almost 4 years later still waiting on the pre purchased P40. No big deal being banned over there because nineline(or whatever name he is going by this week) is a total DICK HEAD anyway. So any chance I see to share this story online that I can, I will so that maybe no one else will be burned by VEAO. What goes around comes around. VEAO has charged me 40$, and they have not produced a product in almost 4 years. So the way I see it I was charged an advertising fee and I intend to give them their 40$ worth of Truthful Advertising.

S!Blade<><

Last edited by Blade_Meister; 11/08/18 02:18 AM.
#4447508 - 11/08/18 02:16 AM Re: Is DCS worth coming back to? [Re: JCathcart]  
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 12,462
bisher Online content
I'll be your Huckleberry
bisher  Online Content
I'll be your Huckleberry
Veteran

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 12,462
Manitoba, Canada
Ikes Blade_M sounds like you have had a bad experience


1 adam 12, 1 adam 12. 2 - 11 in progress. 1 adam 12 handle code 3
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Force10, RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
AMAZING!!!
by Marc. 12/09/18 12:49 AM
For Anyone with Shares of GE
by Haggart. 12/08/18 06:02 PM
Christmas Gift for a Flight Sim Enthusiast....
by F4UDash4. 12/07/18 09:18 PM
It's that Laphroaig time of year
by letterboy1. 12/07/18 07:40 PM
The Corsair Experience
by F4UDash4. 12/07/18 05:37 PM
December 7, 1941
by F4UDash4. 12/07/18 04:04 PM
RE2 claire gameplay
by Blade_RJ. 12/06/18 11:22 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0