Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4435593 - 08/24/18 02:06 PM Anyone catch "If I Leave Here Tomorrow" on Showtime?  
DBond Offline
Strategerizer
DBond  Offline
Strategerizer
Veteran

NooJoyzee
Showtime is running a documentary about Lynyrd Skynyrd. I'm a big fan, Skynyrd is my favorite band. Growing up I started playing guitar around the age of 8, and Skynyrd was one of my earliest inspirations. The way they wove three guitars together was sublime, and even today stands unmatched in my view.

I would spend hours and hours with a Skynyrd record on the turntable trying to learn the songs by ear. These days, the kids have it easy, digital format means you can easily go back to any point in a recording, or select certain loops to replay over and over. But in my day you had to pick the needle up and try to drop it back down in just the right groove lol. Needless to say, this was a more challenging way of learning licks than it is today. Uphill, both ways, of course.

Songs like Sweet Home Alabama and Freebird of course, those were mainstream. But the catalog is deep and tunes like On the Hunt, Preacher's Daughter, Ballad of Curtis Loew, Needle and the Spoon, and Poison Whiskey were songs that I spent hours playing along to.

After Ed King left (more on him in a moment, and sadly), Steve Gaines came on board. The Skynyrd guitarists, King, Rossington and Collins, were fantastic, and you don't need me to tell you that. But Gaines was probably the best of them all. How do I know? because the songs he wrote were the hardest for me to learn. The song 'I Know a Little' off Street Survivors blew me away. I still don't think I play it well haha.