Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
#4439030 - 09/14/18 10:40 PM Re: DCS 2.5 and AMRAAMs? [Re: Tom_Weiss]  
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 4,754
ricnunes Offline
Senior Member
ricnunes  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 4,754
Portugal
Originally Posted by Tom_Weiss

I kept the labels on smile


Yes, I'm also using labels right now. Or more precisely a modified variant of the labels which displays a dot at longer distances (while they disappear at close distances). The problem that I had was that these labels appear on the lower side of the object instead right on the center of objects. In the meanwhile I found a modified label posted by someone which shows the labels right on the center of the object and I'm currently testing this label when playing DCS.
Anyway and IMO, DCS is only "playable" in terms of air-to-air combat (and sometimes even air-to-ground combat) with some sort of labels enabled.

Originally Posted by Tom_Weiss

Vikhrs worked very well in ripple firing and I discovered how much fun all those other A-G Russian weapons could be to use, you could even do realistic SEAD missions with the Su-25T, I was just looking at the dates and the last time I flew was 2009, afterwards I did some A-10C while it was in Beta but sort of never really spend much more time flying it.


Indeed, one of best things about DCS is that you can learn quite a lot about the Soviet/Russian "philosophy" in terms of avionics and weapons which and although I find such "philosophy" a bit "retarded" sometimes, it's indeed a very good learning experience.

The A-10C module is very good indeed. IMO the best two DCS modules are (and by far) the Ka-50 and the A-10C (I can't decide which one is "better"). The Huey module IMO wins the second place for the "best module" of DCS.

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4439045 - 09/15/18 01:48 AM Re: DCS 2.5 and AMRAAMs? [Re: ricnunes]  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 13,818
Tom_Weiss Online content
>>> P3Dv4+Il-2 = !!!
Tom_Weiss  Online Content
>>> P3Dv4+Il-2 = !!!
Veteran

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 13,818
3rd Planet, Sun
I made a mod back then that made the labels a kind of HMD display ...

the Su-25T was to me an eye opener and I learned to appreciate how capable an aircraft it was, the A-10C was a bit frustrating at first and had I stayed a bit longer I probably would have liked it more, but that was the time when I started making skins for FSX and because of that I did not have the free time for the A-10C.


visit LockOnFiles.com

my facebook & Twitter pages
https://www.facebook.com/lockon.files
https://twitter.com/LockOnFiles


#4439106 - 09/15/18 01:41 PM Re: DCS 2.5 and AMRAAMs? [Re: ricnunes]  
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,146
MigBuster Offline
Member
MigBuster  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,146
UK
Version 2.5 I would stick my neck out and say is likely a lot better in terms of view distance for Air targets ................fighters appear at over 10 miles as a dot at least (if you know where to look)

This is 1080p (24" display) at low settings and Nevada running the F-5 AFM and BFM campaigns a while back (F-5 to F-14 size ) I could always see them on the horizon as long as you can keep tally close in.


'Crashing and Burning since 1987'
#4439122 - 09/15/18 05:32 PM Re: DCS 2.5 and AMRAAMs? [Re: Tom_Weiss]  
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 4,754
ricnunes Offline
Senior Member
ricnunes  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 4,754
Portugal
Originally Posted by Tom_Weiss

the Su-25T was to me an eye opener and I learned to appreciate how capable an aircraft it was, the A-10C was a bit frustrating at first and had I stayed a bit longer I probably would have liked it more, but that was the time when I started making skins for FSX and because of that I did not have the free time for the A-10C.


For what's worth I found the Su-25T campaign a bit "more fun" (but not necessarily more realistic) compared to the A-10C campaign. This IMO is because the enemy air defenses (both ground and air based) in A-10C campaign are quite more powerful which means that you'll have far less "tactical options" in this campaign compared to the Su-25T campaign, specially considering that we're flying an aircraft (A-10C) which has extremely limited capabilities against enemy air defenses (air and ground).

#4439130 - 09/15/18 05:44 PM Re: DCS 2.5 and AMRAAMs? [Re: MigBuster]  
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 4,754
ricnunes Offline
Senior Member
ricnunes  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 4,754
Portugal
Originally Posted by MigBuster
Version 2.5 I would stick my neck out and say is likely a lot better in terms of view distance for Air targets ................fighters appear at over 10 miles as a dot at least (if you know where to look)

This is 1080p (24" display) at low settings and Nevada running the F-5 AFM and BFM campaigns a while back (F-5 to F-14 size ) I could always see them on the horizon as long as you can keep tally close in.


Interesting indeed. And that's without any sort of labels right?

By way I have two questions for you:
- Can you have both DCS 1.5 and DCS 2.5 installed at the same time? (This probably has been asked a "zillion" of times but I take this opportunity to ask this if you don't mind)
- Do you notice a big performance (FPS) impact between DCS 1.5 and DCS 2.5, namely on "stock" missions?

#4439142 - 09/15/18 07:08 PM Re: DCS 2.5 and AMRAAMs? [Re: ricnunes]  
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,146
MigBuster Offline
Member
MigBuster  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,146
UK
I have never used the labels in DCS.

There is a big difference in resource required - DCS 1.5 (the old one) I could run on fairly high settings.

DCS 2.5 I can only run on pretty much the stock low settings which is fine performance wise but doesn't look as good obviously. Recent upgrades have given me a stutter although this might be a case of requiring different gfx drivers etc that I have not sorted out yet.

Pretty sure you can run both as separate installs because people seem to comment they do this on the ED forums but have never done it myself.


'Crashing and Burning since 1987'
#4439159 - 09/15/18 09:32 PM Re: DCS 2.5 and AMRAAMs? [Re: ricnunes]  
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 4,754
ricnunes Offline
Senior Member
ricnunes  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 4,754
Portugal
Thanks for the reply MigBuster.

#4439228 - 09/16/18 03:18 PM Re: DCS 2.5 and AMRAAMs? [Re: ricnunes]  
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 12,440
bisher Offline
I'll be your Huckleberry
bisher  Offline
I'll be your Huckleberry
Veteran

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 12,440
Manitoba, Canada
yes you are able to have both1.5 and 2.5 installed smile


1 adam 12, 1 adam 12. 2 - 11 in progress. 1 adam 12 handle code 3
#4439246 - 09/16/18 05:03 PM Re: DCS 2.5 and AMRAAMs? [Re: ricnunes]  
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 4,754
ricnunes Offline
Senior Member
ricnunes  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 4,754
Portugal
Thanks bisher.

#4439932 - 09/20/18 05:43 PM Re: DCS 2.5 and AMRAAMs? [Re: ricnunes]  
Joined: Jun 2000
Posts: 475
Fuzzy Offline
Member
Fuzzy  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2000
Posts: 475
B.C.,Canada
ricnunes
You need to use this wonderful program by Skatezilla.

https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=160053

#4439959 - 09/20/18 07:33 PM Re: DCS 2.5 and AMRAAMs? [Re: ricnunes]  
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 262
Haukka81 Offline
Member
Haukka81  Offline
Member

Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 262
Kemij�rvi,Finland
But , but where is ICE ??

Forums feels diffrent


I5 8400 , 16gb , GTX 1070 oc , Win10 64bit . Virpil T-50 27" monitor with 2560x1440 rez ... DCS + Oculus CV1 .
#4439963 - 09/20/18 07:47 PM Re: DCS 2.5 and AMRAAMs? [Re: ricnunes]  
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 270
xXNightEagleXx Offline
Member
xXNightEagleXx  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 270
I was wondering the same, i hope he is fine and just wanted to take some time off.

#4440017 - 09/20/18 11:21 PM Re: DCS 2.5 and AMRAAMs? [Re: ricnunes]  
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 12,440
bisher Offline
I'll be your Huckleberry
bisher  Offline
I'll be your Huckleberry
Veteran

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 12,440
Manitoba, Canada
I believe he has lost his SimHQ posting privilages


1 adam 12, 1 adam 12. 2 - 11 in progress. 1 adam 12 handle code 3
#4440025 - 09/21/18 12:11 AM Re: DCS 2.5 and AMRAAMs? [Re: bisher]  
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,791
cichlidfan Offline
Member
cichlidfan  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,791
Woodbridge, VA, USA
Originally Posted by bisher
I believe he has lost his simHQ posting privilages


Correct.


ASUS ROG Maximus VIII Hero, i7-6700K, Noctua NH-D14 Cooler, Crucial 32GB DDR4 2133, Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB, Samsung EVO 250GB & 500GB SSD, 2TB Caviar Black, Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme 8GB, Corsair HX1000i, Phillips BDM4065UC 40" 4k monitor, VX2258 TouchScreen, TIR 5 w/ProClip, TM Warthog, VKB Gladiator Pro, Saitek X56, et. al., MFG Crosswind Pedals #1199, VolairSim Pit, Rift CV1
#4440064 - 09/21/18 07:41 AM Re: DCS 2.5 and AMRAAMs? [Re: bisher]  
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 270
xXNightEagleXx Offline
Member
xXNightEagleXx  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 270
Originally Posted by bisher
I believe he has lost his simHQ posting privilages


for good?

#4440072 - 09/21/18 10:03 AM Re: DCS 2.5 and AMRAAMs? [Re: xXNightEagleXx]  
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,763
Paradaz Offline
Senior Member
Paradaz  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,763
UK
Originally Posted by xXNightEagleXx
Originally Posted by bisher
I believe he has lost his simHQ posting privilages


for good?


Yes, he had a disagreement with one of the mods in the PWEC section......you can bring up the posts and see how pathetic it was, together with the reaction in the Community forum. Ice is not bothered about creating an alternative account and returning. It's also worth saying there were quite a few people who post within the DCS forums who were asking that he was removed from the forums, along with suggesting some other users who post in the DCS area are banned too!....but that's not likely to come as a shock to anyone.


On the Eighth day God created Paratroopers and the Devil stood to attention.
#4440085 - 09/21/18 11:35 AM Re: DCS 2.5 and AMRAAMs? [Re: ricnunes]  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 13,818
Tom_Weiss Online content
>>> P3Dv4+Il-2 = !!!
Tom_Weiss  Online Content
>>> P3Dv4+Il-2 = !!!
Veteran

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 13,818
3rd Planet, Sun
it is a pity that he left - thanks to him we had a more lively forum and I could sort of keep up with DCS progress.


visit LockOnFiles.com

my facebook & Twitter pages
https://www.facebook.com/lockon.files
https://twitter.com/LockOnFiles


#4441298 - 09/28/18 04:45 PM Re: DCS 2.5 and AMRAAMs? [Re: ricnunes]  
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 4,754
ricnunes Offline
Senior Member
ricnunes  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 4,754
Portugal
It's sad to learn what happened to Ice.
He is a nice chap and not only gave live to this DCS sub-forum but also to the Falcon BMS sub-forum here in the SimHQ forums.
His views and discussions were for the most part "spot-on" which is the main reason why I was a bit "shocked" to learn that he was banned here from SimHQ...

Page 2 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Force10, RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Some Skyraider Music for Veterans Day
by KRT_Bong. 11/11/18 07:59 PM
Netflix: Medal of Honor
by reconmercs. 11/11/18 03:19 PM
In Flanders Fields.
by RedToo. 11/11/18 11:01 AM
Edmund Fitzgerald
by Timothy. 11/11/18 06:48 AM
Veterans Day
by rwatson. 11/11/18 01:42 AM
only 3 Stukas in the world
by KRT_Bong. 11/11/18 01:20 AM
For the VR people: something for Remembrance Day
by James McKenzie-Smith. 11/11/18 12:41 AM
So EA has droped the bait.
by Blade_RJ. 11/10/18 10:22 PM
242 Years old
by rwatson. 11/10/18 07:23 AM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0