Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
#4438478 - 09/12/18 07:26 AM Re: Modred's Idea [Re: MrJelly]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,220
MrJelly Offline
Veteran
MrJelly  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,220
Montagnac, L'Herault, France
With the uploading problems I had yesterday I must have put the wrong exe in the "V3" package.
I have just uploaded the 160V42 new map "eaw.exe" to the folder. The file is named "eaw.exe".
It is working well for me in single missions, with the Lancasters flying at the selected altitude.

smile Jel


Fly EAW online at GameRanger: GameRanger Site

Download the new 160 Specials

The new 160 Foundation webpage is RIGHT HERE


I am now of an age at which I no longer need to suffer fools gladly








Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4438498 - 09/12/18 11:18 AM Re: Modred's Idea [Re: MrJelly]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,220
MrJelly Offline
Veteran
MrJelly  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,220
Montagnac, L'Herault, France
For anyone starting this installation the "160CampV3.exe" has been replaced with a "160CampV4.exe" file with the good new-map exe in it wink


Fly EAW online at GameRanger: GameRanger Site

Download the new 160 Specials

The new 160 Foundation webpage is RIGHT HERE


I am now of an age at which I no longer need to suffer fools gladly








#4438595 - 09/12/18 09:16 PM Re: Modred's Idea [Re: MrJelly]  
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 231
RIBob Offline
Member
RIBob  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 231
I am still not finished with installing/updating V1.60 as per the pinned tutorial at top of this forum.

That's on me, as I have been occupied with other Real Life (RL) events, and have been installing/updating First Eagles 2 with the kind help of people at CombatAce forum.

That said, I will install things into V1.60 as they appear in the tutorial here. It's nicely done, and is simple enough even for a tyro like me.

#4438631 - 09/13/18 12:46 AM Re: Modred's Idea [Re: MrJelly]  
Joined: May 2015
Posts: 721
MarkEAW Offline
Member
MarkEAW  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2015
Posts: 721
What's this ALT issue in 160 Foundation?

Does this mean if I set an ALT in single mission, it won't take , or it will go to some other height?

#4438645 - 09/13/18 06:22 AM Re: Modred's Idea [Re: MrJelly]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,220
MrJelly Offline
Veteran
MrJelly  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,220
Montagnac, L'Herault, France
I will not be able Io find the cause of the problem until I can access the source code when I get back home.
However; I can give some background.
A bug has appeared in the AI altitude code relating to single missions in one of the more recent exes, and has remained there ever since.
Until Modred did nobody had raised this issue, so I was unaware of it.

There are many different situations regarding altitude.

1. In the "special" versions that use MSN files the were three values which were in the default MSN files, but not used.
They were for the altitudes of enemy primary, enemy secondary and friendly secondary AIs.
I made use of them, and these altitudes (in feet) are set by the front end that creates the MSN file, and used by the "special" exe.
This sytsem works well and is a decided advantage of the "special" exes.

2. In multiplayer the host can set the altitudes of enemy primary, enemy secondary and friendly secondary AIs.

3. There is conditional code for aircraft carrying torpedoes or bouncing bombs, and they tend to fly low.

4. Ralf had introduced code where the single mission altitudes for AIs was set with the "altitude.mpf" file.
This set altitudes in feet based on the nationality, year and type of aircraft (fighter, bomber etc).
The source code set the altitudes, but then modified them if the "altitude.mpf" file was present.
I strongly suspect that the problem is somewhere in this code. Sometimes I fiddle around with hard coded values to see if they are being used, and if I forget to restore them after a test then I may have introduced a bug.

wink Jel


Fly EAW online at GameRanger: GameRanger Site

Download the new 160 Specials

The new 160 Foundation webpage is RIGHT HERE


I am now of an age at which I no longer need to suffer fools gladly








#4438647 - 09/13/18 07:15 AM Re: Modred's Idea [Re: MrJelly]  
Joined: May 2015
Posts: 721
MarkEAW Offline
Member
MarkEAW  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2015
Posts: 721
perhaps its in the .MSN files created by the mission maker / frontend?
What would happen if you ran the suspected MSN file through the built in mission parameter screen? which I think is a MSN maker, by loading it and letting EAW handle the file, see if it changes anything.

I'm thinking out loud, your more knowledgeable about this than I can ever be. Maybe its just a # you changed.

#4438970 - 09/14/18 04:38 PM Re: Modred's Idea [Re: MrJelly]  
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 4,125
Rotton50 Offline
Senior Member
Rotton50  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 4,125
Cape Charles, Virginia, USA
Hey, guys, looks like those Lancs are using old, unimproved lo-res models.

For future reference you should always check the 1.6 aircraft inventory for the most up to date models.

This aircraft inventory has replaced Talley-ho as the repository for the most advanced models for many, if not most of the aircraft used in EAW.


Raymond S Otton
#4439002 - 09/14/18 07:42 PM Re: Modred's Idea [Re: MrJelly]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,220
MrJelly Offline
Veteran
MrJelly  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,220
Montagnac, L'Herault, France
Some progress with altitude smile
Both the V42 exe (which behaves well in single missions but uses a defunct multiplayer system) read and use a "CruiseAlt.mpf" file which I have put into the GameData folder as the default version.

Running the most recent exe for a Spit IX escort of B17s with the altitude set to high worked.
In mission parameters changing the altitude to low worked.
Changing the altitude back to high put the Spits at high altitude, but the bombers were low frown
Switching to a single mission in a German plane ran at the correct altitudes.
Switching back to allied and running the Spit escort again gave the bombers at the correct height smile

It looks as though something that should be read every time the altitude is changed in single mission parameters is not being read in the later exes.

I will not do any more today, but I will get the old Vista laptop up and running tomorrow and have a better look at the source code.
After updates of W10 my DXWnd is behaving badly and I have trouble with Visual Studio in W7, so it makes sense to use the old laptop and transfer files to W7on the LAN

wink Jel


Fly EAW online at GameRanger: GameRanger Site

Download the new 160 Specials

The new 160 Foundation webpage is RIGHT HERE


I am now of an age at which I no longer need to suffer fools gladly








#4439087 - 09/15/18 11:36 AM Re: Modred's Idea [Re: MrJelly]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,220
MrJelly Offline
Veteran
MrJelly  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,220
Montagnac, L'Herault, France
Fixed wink


Fly EAW online at GameRanger: GameRanger Site

Download the new 160 Specials

The new 160 Foundation webpage is RIGHT HERE


I am now of an age at which I no longer need to suffer fools gladly








#4439135 - 09/15/18 06:21 PM Re: Modred's Idea [Re: MrJelly]  
Joined: May 2015
Posts: 721
MarkEAW Offline
Member
MarkEAW  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2015
Posts: 721
Great about ALT fix.

What about DXWND , what are you experiencing since the last Win10 updates (there where like 3 updates)?
or did you figure it out?

#4439207 - 09/16/18 09:50 AM Re: Modred's Idea [Re: MrJelly]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,220
MrJelly Offline
Veteran
MrJelly  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,220
Montagnac, L'Herault, France
I will make a download shortly, but I made some more changes this morning.

In multiplayer the AI altitudes can be modified by the host on mission parameters. They are used in the game and this was why there was no altitude problems with multiplayer.
What I have done is to make the AI altitudes equal to the game altitude value when the MP parameters screen first appears.
If the host modifies the game altitude then the AI altitudes change to match what the host has set.
The host can still modify the AI altitudes without changing the game altitude.

It is a minor improvement, but previously the AI altitudes were set to values of approximately 8000 feet with the initial game altitude being set to 23000 feet. If a high altitude battle is preferred then the host would have to make several mouseclicks to increase each of the three the AI altitudes to something more realistic. A single mouseclick increases an AI altitude by 500 feet. The change makes it much easier for the host.

One of the advantages of the AI altitude system is that the host can set up a good "bounce" situation.

Mark I was having trouble again with EAW in Win 10 until I re-installed the original graphic card drivers from the supplied CD yet again.
I am endeavouring to stop automatic updates, but so far all my efforts, based on the appropriate net-links seem to be over-ridden. It is a PITA frown
However, I am getting reasonable frame-rates in W10, and I will try DXWnd again when I am convinced that the system is stable.


Fly EAW online at GameRanger: GameRanger Site

Download the new 160 Specials

The new 160 Foundation webpage is RIGHT HERE


I am now of an age at which I no longer need to suffer fools gladly








#4439247 - 09/16/18 05:04 PM Re: Modred's Idea [Re: MrJelly]  
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 115
Modred Offline
Member
Modred  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 115
Italy "Tridentum"
Windows 10 is a real disaster for the update.
I still use Win 7.

byez


Mariano "Modred"
Italy -------------------------
Eaw Gamer since 1998


Page 2 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
POW/MIA recoginiton day
by rwatson. 09/22/18 11:13 AM
Original Me-262 to Fly with Jumo Engines
by F4UDash4. 09/22/18 03:51 AM
Deadstick - Bush Flight Simulator
by Coot. 09/21/18 07:37 PM
That's phat! No, seriously, that is fat!
by Patrocles. 09/21/18 05:35 PM
Talk Like a Pirate Day
by wheelsup_cavu. 09/20/18 03:58 AM
Top this!
by piper. 09/19/18 01:28 AM
fancy wheels
by KraziKanuK. 09/17/18 07:39 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0