Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#4438969 - 09/14/18 04:32 PM BritAldo, the "Empty F" debate continues.  
Rotton50 Offline
3DZ / campaign designer
Rotton50  Offline
3DZ / campaign designer

Cape Charles, Virginia, USA
Ok, after a brief hiatus due to "technical difficulties" I'm back and I'd like to take up the discussion once again.

First of all, Brit, you showed great character by posting your thoughts on the "Empty F" subject after I was a little tough on you during an earlier dust up.

I apologize.

Again, I'm sorry to have hammered you while you dealt with your demons and I do value your input.

Now then -

I'm no software engineer. I wouldn't know a Z-buffer from a Zebra, but I still don't think you have the "Empty F" concept correct. However, all I can give is anecdotal evidence in rebuttal to your comments so here goes:

=============================================================
To quote -
"........DX will continue to load the graphics card buffer with polygons until the Z sorting or texture of the polygon is changed. You have added more pieces to the 3D model."

Actually, we've been making hi-res models since about 2005. Hi-res means that various parts of the model are separate but they're held together by hardpoints on the "F" model. 99% of the time the "F" is the fuselage on a hi-res model and the entire model on a lo-res model.

The lo-res model has only one hardpoint coded for the propeller while a hi-res plane will have numerous hardpoints, usually in some kind of progression such as: A=left side tail, B= right side tail, C=cockpit, E=left wing, G=right wing, P=propeller. This is far from standardized though. In the earlier wild west days of EAW each modder tookl his own path. That is unimportant though, the process works the same no matter how the plane is put together.

The point is, the "Empty F" doesn't add a NEW piece. All it does is use an existing piece in a new way.