Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4435811 - 08/25/18 10:03 PM Complete Newbie to Helo Sims Asking for Advice  
RIBob Offline
RIBob  Offline

I've modded a number of old straight-wing flight sims, and am considering branching out to helo sims.

I know flying a helo is considerably different from a fixed-wing aircraft. If it matters, I have the ability to use two joysticks; I've done so in "Kerbal Space Program"

So, with a considerable learning curve anticipated, what are the best Helo flight sims currently available?

As I said, I'm not averse to resurrecting an older Helo sim, if it's really great, nor am I stranger to hunting down Mods for older games.

Really, though, I'd just as soon skip that, if possible.

IIRC. I have EE:: Apache/ vs Havoc on OEM disk, and via Gog, EE: Comanche vs. Hokum. Haven't played them yet, though. I've heard that some Jane's versions of Helo sims are pretty good. If so, which one? I'm quite confused as to which version of the "Longbow" series to select.

I guess, I'm asking you all to point me in the direction of the best, currently available helo sim. Or, if none, then the best old one, maybe with links to mods and so forth.

Maybe the ones I already have are close to being tops; I dunno.

I look forward to your advice, and thanks in advance!

Last edited by RIBob; 08/26/18 01:53 PM.
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4435942 - 08/27/18 12:43 AM Re: Complete Newbie to Helo Sims Asking for Advice [Re: RIBob]  
rwatson Offline
Hotshot
rwatson  Offline
Hotshot

New Concord, Ohio
I like Gunship ! Longbow 2 is OK but rough to set up Up top of this forum there's a link for vista but do a search an there's more around in this forum Look at the forms down below here EECH/EEAH is a pretty good fairly modern sim..I tried it but too much for an old fart to learn and just mess with Gunship!

Russ
Semper Fi
#4437704 - 09/07/18 09:46 PM Re: Complete Newbie to Helo Sims Asking for Advice [Re: RIBob]  
Javelin Offline