Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#4434858 - 08/19/18 03:39 PM Discovered the worst POS aircraft  
Nowi Offline
Nowi  Offline

Florida
I started a career as an American, something I've never done before in WOFF. I'm flying with the 147th Aero Squadron. The unit is loaded with "Named Aces," and almost all of them suck with Zero kills.

But I'm flying what has to be the biggest piece of crap in the entire WOFFWORLD--the Nieuport 28! Good God!

I've flown sixteen sorties, and had system failures on five of them!

You can't dive past 140 mph without risking over dive damage. I just had my first run in with Fokker DVIIs. Wow! Excitement. We had numbers (7-5) and altitude, about two thousand feet of it. I chopped my throttle and we engaged, and I quickly saw the dreaded "over dive damage" warning. I started to turn with a Fokker, and the fabric on my lower wing started tearing off. I limped back to a forward airfield and landed, thankful to be alive.

Despite our advantages, my flight scored zero kills on the Fokkers. Several other 28s were damaged.

Fortunately, I'm assured that we will start receiving SPADs in another fortnight. If I live that long.

Nowi
#4434866 - 08/19/18 04:09 PM Re: Discovered the worst POS aircraft [Re: Nowi]  
DukeIronHand Offline
Hotshot
DukeIronHand  Offline
Hotshot

High over the Front
Guess I’ll be the oddball and say I like the N28.
Just gotta fly to its strengths and avoid the weaknesses.
Course I like Nieuports in general so perhaps I’m biased.
Do you fly/like the N17? The 28 is just it’s big brother and needs to be flown the same way.

#4434868 - 08/19/18 04:14 PM Re: Discovered the worst POS aircraft [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Stache Offline
Stache  Offline

Michigan, USA
Nowi, I also was surprised at how poorly I did in the N28 also.

Originally Posted by DukeIronHand

And just what are its strengths in WOFF UE?

Last edited by Stache; 08/19/18 04:16 PM.