Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4430012 - 07/12/18 02:30 PM Windows 10 & EAW  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,649
Pathfinder Offline
Member
Pathfinder  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,649
Romford, Essex, UK.
Hello chaps,

Apologies for sounding thick, but the last time I played this fair sim was in 2004... Does EAW work in Windows 10? If the answer is yes, could someone direct me to the relevant page and what I need.

Regards
Pathfinder
(Dallas)


It is far better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to open your mouth and remove all doubt

Never have a battle of wits with an unarmed person, they will only drag you down to their level & beat you with stupidity

Incoming Fire Has The Right Of Way!

Friendly Fire, Isn't!
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4430025 - 07/12/18 03:24 PM Re: Windows 10 & EAW [Re: Pathfinder]  
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 7,242
VonBeerhofen Offline
3DZ Master/Campaign Designer
VonBeerhofen  Offline
3DZ Master/Campaign Designer
Hotshot

Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 7,242
Zandvoort, N-H, Netherlands
Hi Pathfinder,

to run EAW on operating systems it wasn't designed for you'll need a NoOS patched version of the EAW.EXE. All current versions have this patch included and will work on a v1.1 or a v1.2. It's adviced to NOT install the game, due to annoying registry entries being created, but to copy the entire CD contents onto your harddrive and take it from there.
The standalone patch is available here:

http://www.thatoneplease.co/Tally-Ho/EAWKeyFiles/EAW1_26Epatch.zip

This version has very little changes to the game unlike the upgraded versions as EAWPRO and others, which are modified using the original Source Code, kindly permitted by Atari. EAWPRO is a set of files which works like the old addons and incorporates a changed theatre called ''The Battle over the Reich'' with frontlines extended into Germany.
To install you extract the following .ZIP into the v1.1, v1.2 or v1.26 of your CD copied folder, where the EAW.EXE resides, and allow overwrites. The addon is available here:

http://www.mediafire.com/file/bwn8nznznuaw40g/EAWPRO1.0_Basic.zip/file

Optional you can restore the v1.2 Campaign files to make sure you can fly a full campaign, which isn't possible with the original targetset. The downgrade is available here:

https://rabartel.home.xs4all.nl/FX1.2_Targets_FM.ZIP

Just extract the .ZIP into (a copy of) your EAWPRO gamefolder, where the EAW.EXE resides and allow overwrites.
BTW you can have multiple copies of EAW on your drive but the use of a registry cleaner may have an adverse effect as filepointers may be pointed to another install if the game finds any files missing. Other version's files are NOT compattible with EAWPRO in some cases. However you can reload/reinstall the original EAWPRO files to restore functionality.

If you run into the dreaded 7217 error you'll need to install a wrapper workaround like nGlide or the 3D Windower program, which will allow you use Glide mode in EAW. Mark EAW's helpsite has all the information on how to go about that.:

https://eaw.neocities.org/

There are other versions available too, like v1.28E, v1.29, v1.60 which all have their own challenges, it's creators may contact you with their information. Good luck, good hunting,

VonBeerhofen

#4430088 - 07/12/18 09:12 PM Re: Windows 10 & EAW [Re: VonBeerhofen]  
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 301
RIBob Online content
Member
RIBob  Online Content
Member

Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 301
In order to grow the base of EAW users, presumably the ultimate goal of every EAW devotee, it is essential that a simple, uncomplicated, way be made for even ham-handed, ignorant users, like myself, to easily download a basic version of the game, suitable for Win 10.

Most modern computers are configured for that Operating System, and so it is unrealistic to expect prospective EAW users to retain a legacy computer on which to run older games. It is also unrealistic to expect them to purchase an EAW CD, as they are getting a little scarce, and a bit pricy nowadays.

A simple method of downloading and installing a good, free, version of EAW onto a Win 10 platform must be easily available. By this, I mean a single, one-button download link to a good version of the game that will play on Win 10 without anything other than simple choices made within the game interface (as opposed to modifying the EAW.INI) itself. Most prospective game players will shrink from modifying the "guts" of the game. Most folks here are used to doing so, but such people are the [I[exception[/I] to the rule.

By all means, such a download should include text directing interested users to this Forum where they can discover further enhancements to their EAW game.

Being ignorant of many things, EAW certainly not excepted, if there is such a thing currently available, please post a link to it here. I'll try it out, on my Win 10 laptop, and spread the good news far and wide.

Last edited by RIBob; 07/12/18 09:24 PM.
#4430096 - 07/12/18 10:06 PM Re: Windows 10 & EAW [Re: Pathfinder]  
Joined: May 2015
Posts: 774
MarkEAW Offline
Member
MarkEAW  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2015
Posts: 774
Unfortunately no. All versions of the game will require a Wrapper to get the most out of the game, even though 10 runs it with a few slows downs now.

A Glide wrapper is desired, djVoodoo restores Horizon Fog, smooths out the far distant terrain and gives a boost in frames per second. nGlide does too, but not sure if it effects the terrain smoothness.

A DirectX/DD wrapper fixes speed of transitioning menu screens (actauly the loading of the textures and graphics, since Win10 version 1803, it slowed down) and the frames per second. (I have not seen a DirectX wrapper yet restore fog, its really a video driver function).

For overall I think Win10 is the easiest to run the game now, I prefer it now that I can run DXWND wrapper and now dgvoodoo (or other glide wrapper that VBH) introduced me to.
All wrappers I tested are on the instal help doc in my site.

EDIT:
The game needs an updated direct of atleast 9.0c and modern hardware usage code in. I'd like to see more gpu use by EAW.
I've updated my gtx560 1 gig mem to a gtx960 2 gig mem, and there was no difference in frames per second. (I didnt update for EAW, I just did it cause i got the card from a friend)

EDIT2:
Win10 Compatibility (8) (some info on 7 and Vista)
https://eaw.neocities.org/eaw-known-bugs-feature-ideas.html#win10

EDIT3:
Old Pathfinder forum post...no reply.
http://SimHQ.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/topics/4419275/windows-10#Post4419275




Last edited by MarkEAW; 07/13/18 11:30 PM.

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Argentina submarine: ARA San Juan found
by Patrocles. 11/17/18 01:15 PM
Deer Hunter takes down 2 headed deer
by JimK. 11/17/18 01:39 AM
Ugh, look at the things these dogs ate...
by Zamzow. 11/17/18 12:23 AM
Friday Joke....
by Bill_Grant. 11/16/18 09:42 PM
The Farthest - Documentary Chronicles of NASA
by Parker. 11/15/18 09:38 PM
RIP Roy Clark. Hee Haw Legend
by JimK. 11/15/18 05:46 PM
"Truck Killer" The A-26 in Vietnam
by F4UDash4. 11/15/18 05:40 PM
Some great melee combat scenes from films
by PanzerMeyer. 11/14/18 06:28 PM
Tank Chat - King Tiger
by Patrocles. 11/14/18 01:15 PM
"Seal Team" series on CBS
by F4UDash4. 11/13/18 05:41 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0