Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
#4428440 - 07/01/18 05:09 PM Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 [Re: BadBud]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,247
Pooch Offline
Hotshot
Pooch  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,247
Keller, TX
Guys, take a look at my screenshot post. That's on a 4 year old AZUS laptop. Only 8 GB's of RAMM. I did, however add a portable SSD drive. Major improvement. You do NOT need a NASA computer to run DCS. Admittedly, I don't really enjoy running missions with huge amounts of airplanes. I'll do a 4x4 dogfight or have a few planes going after ground targets...that sort of thing. But, I don't see how this is unplayable. And I'm running the Normandy map, now. With the Spitfire. Boy! am I enjoying it. For the last few days it's the only thing I've been playing on my rig.


"From our orbital vantage point, we observe an earth without borders, full of peace, beauty and magnificence, and we pray that humanity as a whole can imagine a borderless world as we see it, and strive to live as one in peace."
Astronaut William C. McCool RIP, January 29, 2003 - Space Shuttle Columbia

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4428448 - 07/01/18 06:24 PM Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 [Re: BadBud]  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 14,096
Tom_Weiss Online content
>>> P3Dv4+Il-2 = !!!
Tom_Weiss  Online Content
>>> P3Dv4+Il-2 = !!!
Veteran

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 14,096
3rd Planet, Sun
I have a 1TB RAID SATA SSD with a 1080 GPU, 32 GB RAM

I had time to do it and give a try and updated today and it is still a slideshow.

#4428449 - 07/01/18 06:33 PM Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 [Re: BadBud]  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 1,943
Nate Offline
Member
Nate  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 1,943
Dublin, Ireland
Was thinking of 1070 to replace my 670, think I better hold fire for now it that's the case. New cards are due in the next few months aren't they?

Nate

#4428451 - 07/01/18 06:55 PM Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 [Re: BadBud]  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 14,096
Tom_Weiss Online content
>>> P3Dv4+Il-2 = !!!
Tom_Weiss  Online Content
>>> P3Dv4+Il-2 = !!!
Veteran

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 14,096
3rd Planet, Sun
I paid US$600 for my GTX 1080 GAMING, 8GB GDDRX, they have become too expensive.

#4428455 - 07/01/18 07:35 PM Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 [Re: BadBud]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,247
Pooch Offline
Hotshot
Pooch  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,247
Keller, TX
I have terrain set to low, but textures set to high. Pre set is medium. Visable distance is medium. I've turned off anything I think I don't need. Heat blur and civilian traffic. Just for the hell of of it, I put chimney smoke on zero, too. I'm playing at 1920 x 1080. Runs flawlessly. I don't know HOW you guys are geting slideshows if my weak ass rig is running this the way it is.
One thing I've also done is to set the games priority to high, in the task manager. I think that helps a lot.
Can't play with everything set to high, but I don't care. If you saw my screenshots, it still looks great . To me, anyway.


"From our orbital vantage point, we observe an earth without borders, full of peace, beauty and magnificence, and we pray that humanity as a whole can imagine a borderless world as we see it, and strive to live as one in peace."
Astronaut William C. McCool RIP, January 29, 2003 - Space Shuttle Columbia

#4428456 - 07/01/18 07:38 PM Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 [Re: BadBud]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,247
Pooch Offline
Hotshot
Pooch  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,247
Keller, TX
And i just picked up the Epsum campaign a few minutes ago. Looking forward to seeing how that will run with a whole lot going on.


"From our orbital vantage point, we observe an earth without borders, full of peace, beauty and magnificence, and we pray that humanity as a whole can imagine a borderless world as we see it, and strive to live as one in peace."
Astronaut William C. McCool RIP, January 29, 2003 - Space Shuttle Columbia

#4428458 - 07/01/18 07:46 PM Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 [Re: Pooch]  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 14,096
Tom_Weiss Online content
>>> P3Dv4+Il-2 = !!!
Tom_Weiss  Online Content
>>> P3Dv4+Il-2 = !!!
Veteran

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 14,096
3rd Planet, Sun
Originally Posted by Pooch
I have terrain set to low, but textures set to high. Pre set is medium. Visable distance is medium. I've turned off anything I think I don't need. Heat blur and civilian traffic. Just for the hell of of it, I put chimney smoke on zero, too. I'm playing at 1920 x 1080. Runs flawlessly. I don't know HOW you guys are geting slideshows if my weak ass rig is running this the way it is.
One thing I've also done is to set the games priority to high, in the task manager. I think that helps a lot.
Can't play with everything set to high, but I don't care. If you saw my screenshots, it still looks great . To me, anyway.


doing that you take away all the eye candy


Originally Posted by Pooch
I don't know HOW you guys are geting slideshows if my weak ass rig is running this the way it is.


good question.

all things considered, I would not like to have to pay $100-150 for a module and terrain and have to "turn off all I don't need", I rather have 40-50 FPS and max out settings like I do in Il-2 and P3Dv4.

Last edited by Tom_Weiss; 07/01/18 07:52 PM.
#4428478 - 07/01/18 09:51 PM Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 [Re: BadBud]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,247
Pooch Offline
Hotshot
Pooch  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,247
Keller, TX
Oh yeah, I know, but really, I think it still looks great. Things like chimney smoke don't bother me.


"From our orbital vantage point, we observe an earth without borders, full of peace, beauty and magnificence, and we pray that humanity as a whole can imagine a borderless world as we see it, and strive to live as one in peace."
Astronaut William C. McCool RIP, January 29, 2003 - Space Shuttle Columbia

#4428480 - 07/01/18 09:56 PM Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 [Re: BadBud]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,247
Pooch Offline
Hotshot
Pooch  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,247
Keller, TX
"I would not like to have to pay $100-150 for a module and terrain and have to "turn off all I don't need""

Oh, and I got the Spitfire, Normandy map, and WW2 assets pack...all with a 50 dollar Steam gift card during the big sale going on, now. I wouldn't pay 150 bucks if I had to turn it all down, either. These sales are how I've gotten all of my DCS stuff.


"From our orbital vantage point, we observe an earth without borders, full of peace, beauty and magnificence, and we pray that humanity as a whole can imagine a borderless world as we see it, and strive to live as one in peace."
Astronaut William C. McCool RIP, January 29, 2003 - Space Shuttle Columbia

#4428488 - 07/01/18 10:27 PM Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 [Re: BadBud]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,247
Pooch Offline
Hotshot
Pooch  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,247
Keller, TX
[Linked Image]

No eye candy? Looks pretty sweet to me!


"From our orbital vantage point, we observe an earth without borders, full of peace, beauty and magnificence, and we pray that humanity as a whole can imagine a borderless world as we see it, and strive to live as one in peace."
Astronaut William C. McCool RIP, January 29, 2003 - Space Shuttle Columbia

#4428513 - 07/02/18 01:11 AM Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 [Re: BadBud]  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 14,096
Tom_Weiss Online content
>>> P3Dv4+Il-2 = !!!
Tom_Weiss  Online Content
>>> P3Dv4+Il-2 = !!!
Veteran

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 14,096
3rd Planet, Sun
I haven't bought anything these past two years, but I used to buy the modules as soon as they came out, the $100-150 would be for the Homuz map and F/A-18.


#4428542 - 07/02/18 05:16 AM Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 [Re: Nate]  
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 284
Haukka81 Offline
Member
Haukka81  Offline
Member

Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 284
Kemij�rvi,Finland
Originally Posted by Nate
Was thinking of 1070 to replace my 670, think I better hold fire for now it that's the case. New cards are due in the next few months aren't they?

Nate



I have I5 8400 (6core) 4.0ghz and 16gb DDR4 and 1070 ,

2.5 latest patch runs really smooth. High settings, in monitor i get 90-120fps easily even big missions.

And VR with Oculus runs great too.

Performance is now much better after patches.



And our Finnish flight group has about 100+ pilots and no performance problems. Even 1060 is enough if using only fullhd monitor. And lots of pilots with 8gb ram only (ssd drive helps) and no problems.


I5 8400 , 16gb , GTX 1070 oc , Win10 64bit . Virpil T-50 27" monitor with 2560x1440 rez ... DCS + Oculus CV1 + Samsung Odyssey . (odyssey is better for flight sims)
#4428545 - 07/02/18 05:49 AM Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 [Re: - Ice]  
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 27
Jetronic Offline
Junior Member
Jetronic  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 27
Originally Posted by - Ice
You may want to review the minimum/recommended specs for 2.5, Jetronic.


They've not increase ram again have they? 64gb min now copter



Pooch, you're kinda proving my point, having to turn ALL they eyecandy off to get worse frames than 1.5 & have it look worse is NOT progress.

I don't have normandy, it's a pointless map, but PG has all the visual fidelity of Battlefield 2 circa 2006. ED appear to be trying to develop a screenshot simulator only.

#4428549 - 07/02/18 08:17 AM Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 [Re: Jetronic]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,082
- Ice Offline
Veteran
- Ice  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,082
Philippines / North East UK
I think what Tom's trying to say is that it doesn't make sense to turn down eye candy when his hardware SHOULD be able to handle it fine, as it can handle IL-2 and P3D very well. Just imagine having to turn down the sliders and decrease resolution just to play ONE game while all others run on ultimate graphics settings and 4K; it'll be like taking a step backward! smile


Originally Posted by Jetronic
I don't have normandy, it's a pointless map, but PG has all the visual fidelity of Battlefield 2 circa 2006. ED appear to be trying to develop a screenshot simulator only.

I thought that statement was going to be a positive for ED but then your last sentence seems to have turned it around.... what do you mean?


- Ice
#4428557 - 07/02/18 09:49 AM Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 [Re: - Ice]  
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 27
Jetronic Offline
Junior Member
Jetronic  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 27
Originally Posted by - Ice


I thought that statement was going to be a positive for ED but then your last sentence seems to have turned it around.... what do you mean?


Haha, i'm not sure if looking like BF2 is a complement or not!

The priorities and decisions on the graphics engine are just nutty. The overexposed color palette making everything looking Instagram ish. Having gauges go opaque white in sunlight. Massively overdone baked in reflections. I think they are trying to emulate a CAMERA in the cockpit rather than a human eyeball which adapts to these conditions. Defered shading seems to be worse but they've enforced it because they can't manage to get one shading strategy right, never mind two.

Then we have things like ultra high poly and texture trains, cows, grass that seems to consume resources all the time, but is seldom seen. I swear people take more time posting screenshots on H*ggit than they do playing the game!


And yes P3D runs a million times better on my machine whilst also looking much better.

#4428558 - 07/02/18 10:00 AM Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 [Re: BadBud]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,082
- Ice Offline
Veteran
- Ice  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,082
Philippines / North East UK
Didn't play BF2 so had no idea smile Thanks for clarifying.

Oh, and I snub your P3D comment as XP11 is clearly superior! Hahaha!! Just kidding!


- Ice
#4428566 - 07/02/18 12:17 PM Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 [Re: - Ice]  
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 224
IceecI Offline
Member
IceecI  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2011
Posts: 224
Originally Posted by - Jetronic
I don't have normandy, it's a pointless map, but PG has all the visual fidelity of Battlefield 2 circa 2006. ED appear to be trying to develop a screenshot simulator only.


Maybe we someday get proper camera screenshot tools in game, where you can choose from variety of angles and different effects then one could share the shots by clicking the facebook or reddit button on top of the screen. Honestly can't wait to get in game and shoot.. some selfies in cockpit.

#4428567 - 07/02/18 12:20 PM Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 [Re: - Ice]  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 14,096
Tom_Weiss Online content
>>> P3Dv4+Il-2 = !!!
Tom_Weiss  Online Content
>>> P3Dv4+Il-2 = !!!
Veteran

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 14,096
3rd Planet, Sun
Originally Posted by - Ice
I think what Tom's trying to say is that it doesn't make sense to turn down eye candy when his hardware SHOULD be able to handle it fine, as it can handle IL-2 and P3D very well. Just imagine having to turn down the sliders and decrease resolution just to play ONE game while all others run on ultimate graphics settings and 4K; it'll be like taking a step backward! smile


back in November I was running 2.0 beta quite well, not that I playing that much, but it was running fine.

The fact that with 2.5 I am not , means (to me) that this version was not tested across that many platforms so that similar rigs have different outcomes.

when the next version comes out, I'll give it a try, eventually or never, it will work.



#4428589 - 07/02/18 02:30 PM Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 [Re: BadBud]  
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 12,654
bisher Offline
I'll be your Huckleberry
bisher  Offline
I'll be your Huckleberry
Veteran

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 12,654
Manitoba, Canada
Glad to hear it's running well for you Pooch, I've never had a problem running this game so I've been lucky. Yes fairly sterile environment but runs well(have not even tried flying an actual mission yet), frustrating performance seems so inconsistent.

And it's nice to hear from the Water Cooler Jockeys wink



#4428595 - 07/02/18 02:55 PM Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 [Re: BadBud]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,247
Pooch Offline
Hotshot
Pooch  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,247
Keller, TX
"Pooch, you're kinda proving my point, having to turn ALL they eyecandy off to get worse frames than 1.5 & have it look worse is NOT progress."

Well, I showed screenies at the screenshot section and I posted one here that I thought showed that I WASN'T turning ALL the eye candy off. I understand that people running super rigs are frustrated that they can't run this. That's why my point is, that, I'm surprised that I can run it it on my laptop, at all, and still have it look good and run well.
And I'm running this at 1920 x 1080. Oddly enough, when I first picked the Spit and the map up, I automatically turned down the res to 1600 x 900 because I fully expected not to be able to run at my screens resolution. It actually runs like crap at the lower setting, which doesn't make sense to me. Stuttering and micro-freezes. It seems to prefer the high res...which is good.


"From our orbital vantage point, we observe an earth without borders, full of peace, beauty and magnificence, and we pray that humanity as a whole can imagine a borderless world as we see it, and strive to live as one in peace."
Astronaut William C. McCool RIP, January 29, 2003 - Space Shuttle Columbia

Page 2 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Force10, RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
«The Cold Blue,» 8th AF documentary
by semmern. 06/26/19 12:46 PM
funny flowers of the new Gold Rush
by FsFOOT. 06/25/19 07:10 AM
Its getting Real Now
by JimK. 06/23/19 04:32 PM
Danger Close
by reconmercs. 06/23/19 04:19 PM
"The Wolf's Call"
by THX-1138. 06/23/19 05:05 AM
VR unexpected results
by DM. 06/22/19 03:56 PM
MLB season so far
by PanzerMeyer. 06/22/19 02:32 PM
More UFO's Being Reported by Military Pilots
by Haggart. 06/22/19 10:32 AM
I thought Ozzies were tough
by KraziKanuK. 06/22/19 07:27 AM
Classical Latin
by PanzerMeyer. 06/21/19 09:54 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0