Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 24 of 25 1 2 22 23 24 25
#4340634 - 02/27/17 07:46 AM Re: SAMSIM ANNOUNCEMENTS [Re: KJakker]  
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 2,662
Hpasp Offline
Hpasp  Offline

Senior Member

Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 2,662
Hungary, Europe
Thanks for the 1st bug report!
biggrin
I will compile another version tonight.

S-300 is just an idea, as I have no operations manual, nor access to Officers working on that system, nor good quality photos of the panel...
... I have enough idea for a coarse sim, certainly not at "Realistic to the Switch" level.
Question if it has any value for the community?


Hpasp
Free SAM Simulator, "Realistic to the Switch"

http://sites.google.com/site/samsimulator1972/home

While Fighter Pilots made movies, SAM Officers made History.
(U-2 over Sverdlovsk, B-52's over Hanoi, F-4 Phantoms over the Sinai, F-16's and the F-117A Stealth bomber over the Balkans.)
thumbsup
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4340695 - 02/27/17 01:32 PM Re: SAMSIM ANNOUNCEMENTS [Re: Hpasp]  
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,755
piston79 Offline
Member
piston79  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,755
Originally Posted by Hpasp
Thanks for the 1st bug report!
biggrin
I will compile another version tonight.


Just to say, that there is a topic for bug reports....

#4340769 - 02/27/17 04:28 PM Re: SAMSIM ANNOUNCEMENTS [Re: Cat]  
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 2,662
Hpasp Offline
Hpasp  Offline

Senior Member

Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 2,662
Hungary, Europe
Corrected.
v930.1 is available.


Hpasp
Free SAM Simulator, "Realistic to the Switch"

http://sites.google.com/site/samsimulator1972/home

While Fighter Pilots made movies, SAM Officers made History.
(U-2 over Sverdlovsk, B-52's over Hanoi, F-4 Phantoms over the Sinai, F-16's and the F-117A Stealth bomber over the Balkans.)
thumbsup
#4340782 - 02/27/17 05:02 PM Re: SAMSIM ANNOUNCEMENTS [Re: Hpasp]  
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 4,750
ricnunes Offline
Senior Member
ricnunes  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 4,750
Portugal
Originally Posted by Hpasp

S-300 is just an idea, as I have no operations manual, nor access to Officers working on that system, nor good quality photos of the panel...
... I have enough idea for a coarse sim, certainly not at "Realistic to the Switch" level.
Question if it has any value for the community?


IMO, I think it's always a great idea to have more systems modeled in SAM Simulator.

I believe that with your great talent coupled with some (many?) information that you managed to gather (ranging from images, videos, manufacturer specs, etc...) about the S-300 system that you'll be able to build and model a good and even "realistic enough" S-300 system within SAM Simulator.
It may not be as "Realistic to the Switch" as other systems (like the SA-2, SA-3, etc...) but I'm sure that it will give a "realistic enough" experience to any SAM Simulators players.

Besides if you decide to model the S-300 system in SAM Simulator this wouldn't be the only "half realistic" system modeled in SAM Simulator - Look for example at the ZSU-23-4 Shilka in SAM Simulator where it doesn't have major features modeled in it such as Visual engagement modes and/or the ability to drive/move the vehicle around.

Therefore I strongly believe that a S-300 built/designed by you wouldn't be that "much less realistic" compared to the current ZSU-23-4 Shilka in SAM Simulator, this if taking into account all the realistic features/factors for each system.

So, please go ahead and model the S-300 in SAM Simulator. thumbsup

Well, at least these are my 2 cents on the subject...

#4340817 - 02/27/17 06:18 PM Re: SAMSIM ANNOUNCEMENTS [Re: ricnunes]  
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,755
piston79 Offline
Member
piston79  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,755
Originally Posted by ricnunes


So, go please go ahead and model the S-300 in SAM Simulator. thumbsup

...



...or maybe name it in another way, just to not spoil the "Realistic to the switch" slogan.... neaner

#4341719 - 03/03/17 12:31 PM Re: Bug reports [Re: Cat]  
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 31
Jonas85 Offline
Junior Member
Jonas85  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 31
Ontario
On installation I got this error:

Run-time error '52': Bad file name or number

Any ideas?

My system is Win 10. Could this be related to the fact that I chose to keep old .dll files when uninstalling the previous SAM Simulator version?

Attached Files error.png
#4341726 - 03/03/17 12:48 PM Re: Bug reports [Re: Cat]  
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 2,662
Hpasp Offline
Hpasp  Offline

Senior Member

Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 2,662
Hungary, Europe
Mine is also WIN10, so it is unrelated.
Try to unpack it into a different directory, than run setup from there


Hpasp
Free SAM Simulator, "Realistic to the Switch"

http://sites.google.com/site/samsimulator1972/home

While Fighter Pilots made movies, SAM Officers made History.
(U-2 over Sverdlovsk, B-52's over Hanoi, F-4 Phantoms over the Sinai, F-16's and the F-117A Stealth bomber over the Balkans.)
thumbsup
#4341751 - 03/03/17 02:20 PM Re: Bug reports [Re: Cat]  
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 31
Jonas85 Offline
Junior Member
Jonas85  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 31
Ontario
No joy.

Re-downloaded the package two times from Mediafire, tried to unpack with different archiver, tried to unpack and install into different folders in different disks.

Does the installer uses data cache or something, or there could be any path corruption due to the different installer/system locales (I am using us-american language settings)?

#4341754 - 03/03/17 02:30 PM Re: Bug reports [Re: Cat]  
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 2,662
Hpasp Offline
Hpasp  Offline

Senior Member

Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 2,662
Hungary, Europe
Anybody else facing similar behaviour? (installed it successfully?)

Last chance tip:
As you already installed older SAMSIM versions, it is enough if you unpack files from the CAB files, and overwrite earlier installation.
All dat file (with numbered extensions 000...999) goes to data directory, and the sam.exe goes a directory above.

Last edited by Hpasp; 03/03/17 02:35 PM.

Hpasp
Free SAM Simulator, "Realistic to the Switch"

http://sites.google.com/site/samsimulator1972/home

While Fighter Pilots made movies, SAM Officers made History.
(U-2 over Sverdlovsk, B-52's over Hanoi, F-4 Phantoms over the Sinai, F-16's and the F-117A Stealth bomber over the Balkans.)
thumbsup
#4341787 - 03/03/17 03:48 PM Re: Bug reports [Re: Cat]  
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 31
Jonas85 Offline
Junior Member
Jonas85  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 31
Ontario
I uninstalled the previous version, before installing a new one.

Could you upload the screenshot of the folder structure? So I know what goes where.

If your application does not use any registry values, that might work.

#4341800 - 03/03/17 04:36 PM Re: Bug reports [Re: Cat]  
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 2,662
Hpasp Offline
Hpasp  Offline

Senior Member

Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 2,662
Hungary, Europe
In SAMSIM directory...
sam.exe
data <- directory (all files with *.dat extension)


Here you go with the RAW directory. Just extract it to a folder, and run sam.exe. (in case you already played samsim on your computer)
http://www.mediafire.com/file/89bib6hvso56kj1/SAM_Simulator_9301_RAW.rar

Last edited by Hpasp; 03/03/17 04:51 PM.

Hpasp
Free SAM Simulator, "Realistic to the Switch"

http://sites.google.com/site/samsimulator1972/home

While Fighter Pilots made movies, SAM Officers made History.
(U-2 over Sverdlovsk, B-52's over Hanoi, F-4 Phantoms over the Sinai, F-16's and the F-117A Stealth bomber over the Balkans.)
thumbsup
#4341824 - 03/03/17 05:36 PM Re: Bug reports [Re: Cat]  
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 31
Jonas85 Offline
Junior Member
Jonas85  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 31
Ontario
Thanks, it works now!

I'll report on my impressions of the new jamming effects later.

#4341894 - 03/03/17 08:49 PM Re: Bug reports [Re: Cat]  
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 2,662
Hpasp Offline
Hpasp  Offline

Senior Member

Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 2,662
Hungary, Europe
Thanks!
So far nobody seems to report any success on those...


Hpasp
Free SAM Simulator, "Realistic to the Switch"

http://sites.google.com/site/samsimulator1972/home

While Fighter Pilots made movies, SAM Officers made History.
(U-2 over Sverdlovsk, B-52's over Hanoi, F-4 Phantoms over the Sinai, F-16's and the F-117A Stealth bomber over the Balkans.)
thumbsup
#4398335 - 01/04/18 11:00 PM Re: Bug reports [Re: Hpasp]  
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,755
piston79 Offline
Member
piston79  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,755
Originally Posted by Hpasp
Thanks!
So far nobody seems to report any success on those...



Lot of bugs...

1. On RANRAP jamming - if lock the nearest target return, the missile is armed with K3 command and then after passing the first target mark it always detonate near real target (which is always the second mark), but when lock the last return, the missile just passes away, so it is good to use "Rabota ot V" fuse settings, but than when the missile detonates on real target (which is the second nearest mark in the slant range), than all false return dissapeared and miraculously the AS on range jumps to the real target (which is the second nearest mark in the slant range).

2. About angle deception jamming - LORO and it's gone...(not a bug)

3. Range gate Pull-Off - when locked on epsilon and beta only with "Rabota ot V" - no problem at all, except that when AS on range was on the jamming signal it again jumps on the real target after missile detonation...

Tested with SA-2E against baloons.

#4420596 - 05/13/18 09:58 PM Re: Bug reports [Re: Cat]  
Joined: Feb 2016
Posts: 11
Milten Offline
Junior Member
Milten  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Feb 2016
Posts: 11
Not sure if it's bug, but now I am providing much more comprehensive report about this strange anomaly. Don't have video, but I think these screens would prove that something is off. (Or maybe I did some humilitating mistake..)
Place: Asuluk. Target: LA-17 Imitating F-86 (basically, easiest target of all)

Picture 1 : https://imgur.com/a/FyBwgwK 100 km range, showing how damn close this target is.P-18 indicator is directly on target all the time. But it's simply not appearing. Using sector or circular search does nothing.
Picture 2: https://imgur.com/a/auCWZnx (commanders' cabin settings)
Picture 3 https://imgur.com/a/iFcheDQ (Range gate and radial velocity indicator for this subsonic target)

Same thing happening for B-52, basicall all subsonic Asuluk targets are completely invisible for VEGA. Supersonic targets can be aquired. IADS aquisition works perfectly for both.

Last edited by Milten; 05/13/18 10:00 PM.
#4420661 - 05/14/18 10:51 AM Re: Bug reports [Re: Milten]  
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,755
piston79 Offline
Member
piston79  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,755
Originally Posted by Milten

Picture 3 https://imgur.com/a/iFcheDQ (Range gate and radial velocity indicator for this subsonic target)



How about lock by IADS, then brake the lock and reaquire? How about in historical scenarios?

I have no SIM installed on my devices right now, will check it ASAP...

#4420664 - 05/14/18 10:56 AM Re: Bug reports [Re: Cat]  
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,755
piston79 Offline
Member
piston79  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,755
Leaning back on your previous description, it looks like targets are leaving the beam (0.7 to 1.4 degrees).

..and you haven't provided AAR.....

#4420696 - 05/14/18 01:58 PM Re: Bug reports [Re: Cat]  
Joined: Feb 2016
Posts: 11
Milten Offline
Junior Member
Milten  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Feb 2016
Posts: 11
Historical missions have supersonic targets (habu, F-14) so these can be aquired fine. "How about lock by IADS, then brake the lock and reaquire?" and weirdly, it made everything fine! I locked by IADS, unlocked and manual mode suddenly works. You can lose and then aquire it fine in manual after using IADS. But before using IADS, target is simply invisible. (IADS is not changing beam's direction even for a degree. It's just make target suddenly appear, without changing any parameter on SAM).

Asuluk training ground.

Practice target:
LA-17 simulating F-86 Sabre

S-200VE Vega-E


00:00, Practice target LA-17 simulating F-86 Sabre launched

+++++++++++++++++
00:00:12, SNR ON AIR


Total, SNR On Air Time: 17sec

#4420873 - 05/15/18 11:00 AM Re: Bug reports [Re: Milten]  
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,755
piston79 Offline
Member
piston79  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,755
On historical scenario there are subsonic targets (E-2, E-3 etc.)
Also it is important to note that the closer velocity (radial speed) is important, not the target's own speed.

As I am unable to switch on my SAMSIM computer, try this - do a mission with IADS (Ashuluk), then pick up the target's speed value from the AAR. Than restart the SIM and do same mission manually, so you could input the radial speed manually. Please do a photo of the velocity indicator, but only the upper part (S or D key if I remember correctly). Try circle scan...

#4421427 - 05/18/18 05:15 PM Re: Bug reports [Re: Cat]  
Joined: Feb 2016
Posts: 11
Milten Offline
Junior Member
Milten  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Feb 2016
Posts: 11
Target radial speed: 289 m/s.

Radial speed setting: https://imgur.com/a/OaYQUbV

As before, target invisible with circular and sector search.

Page 24 of 25 1 2 22 23 24 25

Moderated by  Cat, Hpasp, RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
17 Raptors damaged by hurricane Michael
by Zamzow. 10/16/18 01:01 AM
RIP Paul Allen
by JimK. 10/15/18 11:02 PM
"King Lear" by Amazon Studios
by PanzerMeyer. 10/15/18 02:51 PM
Rainy Monday: maybe this will help
by Bill_Grant. 10/15/18 02:15 PM
a movie not to be missed : Journey's end
by Tom_Weiss. 10/13/18 02:50 AM
Armstrong Vickers: Workshop of the World
by KraziKanuK. 10/12/18 08:48 PM
Coyotes
by KraziKanuK. 10/12/18 08:37 PM
Don't fly drunk
by KraziKanuK. 10/12/18 11:36 AM
storm damage in South Bay Florida?
by coasty. 10/12/18 12:34 AM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0