Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4415202 - 04/07/18 10:17 PM How to Assign Distant Targets in TE?  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 7
Satsujin Offline
Junior Member
Satsujin  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 7
I'm playing around with TEs in Allied Force (ducks) and I'm wanting to make a TE where I've got a package where one of the flights consists of a 4 ship of Super Hornets deploying the AGM-84E against the Kusnetsov.

Normally, you can assign a target by right-clicking near the target when you create a flight, or you can assign it later by choosing "recon" in the Flight Plan and selecting targets.

The problem is, ordanance like the AGM-84E is WAY standoff - these guys have incredible range and I want to take advantage of that - I don't want to deploy at 20 km from the target (like they'd ever get that close!)

So is there some trick to being able to choose from a greater pool of targets that aren't extremely localized?

I think this could be done if I made the edit to be able to fly all other aircraft besides the F-16, then actually get in the plane and assign it in the ICP / DED but I'm not wanting to do that.

Hope I've been clear.

Thanks!

Last edited by Satsujin; 04/07/18 10:18 PM.
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4415247 - 04/08/18 10:04 AM Re: How to Assign Distant Targets in TE? [Re: Satsujin]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 7
Satsujin Offline
Junior Member
Satsujin  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 7
Hi foks,

I was just reading DBond's great tutorial on Falcon 4 campaigns and I noticed he said that the campaign engine usually sets the ingress points in a flight plan too close to the target for high-standoff ordenance.

So, I'm going to try adjusting the IP to something like 60 km from the target when deploying cruise missiles.

Wish I could try this now but it's way past bed time....although....tomorrow (actually now) is Sunday...... wink

Wish me luck!

#4415320 - 04/08/18 09:29 PM Re: How to Assign Distant Targets in TE? [Re: Satsujin]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,082
- Ice Offline
Veteran
- Ice  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,082
Philippines / North East UK
Good luck on this one! DBond's post will most likely be on BMS and not Allied Force, but would be interesting to know if it works on both sims.


- Ice
#4415875 - 04/11/18 05:00 PM Re: How to Assign Distant Targets in TE? [Re: Satsujin]  
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,770
DBond Offline
Strategerizer
DBond  Offline
Strategerizer
Hotshot

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,770
NooJoyzee
Good luck!

Yes, dragging out the IP should do the trick. Let us know how it goes.

#4416086 - 04/13/18 02:16 AM Re: How to Assign Distant Targets in TE? [Re: Satsujin]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 7
Satsujin Offline
Junior Member
Satsujin  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 7
Lots of experimenting, made a bunch of TEs and no joy.

I'd fly in an F-16 in the same package to observe the "mission" and I'd always hear the pilots respond to commands to attack - "Unable!"

I did the old trick of renaming the validAC.bin file, enabling me to fly other aircraft, set up some more TEs and *I* could use the ordinance.

I'm thinking the reason the AI pilots couldn't is because if you fly straight and level, there is a problem seeing your target in the MFD because part of the airframe abscures the camera. I remember that now from "back in the day".

You would think that that wouldn't affect the AI pilots, as I doubt anyone actually has to "see" anything...

#4416114 - 04/13/18 11:27 AM Re: How to Assign Distant Targets in TE? [Re: Satsujin]  
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,770
DBond Offline
Strategerizer
DBond  Offline
Strategerizer
Hotshot

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,770
NooJoyzee
This should work. I did the same when I played AF, and actually that's where I learned about dragging the IPs to get the AI to take advantage of their weapon's stand off capability.

The only thing I can think of is you mentioned AGM 84E, which is a Slammer for ground attack. The AI will not fire these at ships. You need the AGM 84A Harpoon.

#4417489 - 04/23/18 03:54 PM Re: How to Assign Distant Targets in TE? [Re: Satsujin]  
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,770
DBond Offline
Strategerizer
DBond  Offline
Strategerizer
Hotshot

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,770
NooJoyzee
Sometimes you are just left to wonder how it all turned out smile


Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Deadstick - Bush Flight Simulator
by Coot. 09/21/18 07:37 PM
That's phat! No, seriously, that is fat!
by Patrocles. 09/21/18 05:35 PM
Talk Like a Pirate Day
by wheelsup_cavu. 09/20/18 03:58 AM
Top this!
by piper. 09/19/18 01:28 AM
fancy wheels
by KraziKanuK. 09/17/18 07:39 PM
gmail/google headaches
by Dunolde. 09/17/18 05:37 PM
63-Year-Old Just Joined the U.S. Navy
by F4UDash4. 09/17/18 04:33 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0