Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4404211 - 02/08/18 03:57 PM Replay playback feature?  
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 289
Borsch Offline
Member
Borsch  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 289
Please forgive this Falcon newbie, but is there a way to record and watch replays in BMS? I'm not looking for tactical picture, but rather the cinematic feel smile

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4404235 - 02/08/18 06:01 PM Re: Replay playback feature? [Re: Borsch]  
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,545
DBond Online content
Strategerizer
DBond  Online Content
Strategerizer
Hotshot

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,545
NooJoyzee
Yes, and no.

You can record your missions with the ACMI. But it's tactical, not cinematic. It's a tool for evaluating a missions, but looks nothing like a movie or even close to what you saw in the 3D while flying the mission. I was going to link to a thread on a strike mission we all flew together. Ice had posted shots from the ACMI, but Photobucket, yeah.

There are more ACMI's in here, just not sure where to point you. Check your key file to see what is set to turn the ACMI recording on and do so. It's very useful tool, but I'm thinking different perhaps than what you're looking for.

Perhaps you could use FRAPS or similar, but it will only show exactly what you saw during the mission.

#4404249 - 02/08/18 07:30 PM Re: Replay playback feature? [Re: Borsch]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 15,694
- Ice Offline
Veteran
- Ice  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 15,694
Philippines / North East UK
What about playing the ACMI inside Falcon? There are a few view options you could play with in there, I think. Not really sure as I usually do ACMI for the tactical view and learning and not cinematic purposes.


- Ice
#4404268 - 02/08/18 09:57 PM Re: Replay playback feature? [Re: Borsch]  
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 289
Borsch Offline
Member
Borsch  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 289
I've tried ACMI (whatever it means) inside Falcon and it works (record track by pressing F ingame, then play the recording "tape" in ACMI), but it is not cinematic in the slightest. For one graphics are much worse with simple flat textures everywhere, no antialiasing whatsoever and seemingly lower res too - everything is dead pixely. Also physics are not recorded properly so the movement looks off as well, almost like the physics engine updates every half a second or something.
Quote

Perhaps you could use FRAPS or similar,
I wanted to have a look at the external cameras how Harrier behaves on vertical take off and landing - to see the moving suspension, swaying wings etc. With fraps/shadowplay I can only get in cockpit view.

Bummer frown

Last edited by Borsch; 02/08/18 09:58 PM.
#4404322 - 02/09/18 08:00 AM Re: Replay playback feature? [Re: Borsch]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 15,694
- Ice Offline
Veteran
- Ice  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 15,694
Philippines / North East UK
Yeah, unfortunately, ACMI is for tactical review, not cinematic frown

Get an AI aircraft to do what you want and you watch via external view?


- Ice
#4404329 - 02/09/18 10:24 AM Re: Replay playback feature? [Re: Borsch]  
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 289
Borsch Offline
Member
Borsch  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 289
I think I will have to leave the cinematics to DCS, at least until some proper replay mod comes out for BMS. Strange how this was not done as of yet...

#4404414 - 02/09/18 07:32 PM Re: Replay playback feature? [Re: Borsch]  
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,545
DBond Online content
Strategerizer
DBond  Online Content
Strategerizer
Hotshot

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,545
NooJoyzee
Yeah, what does it stand for? I always thought it was Advanced Combat Maneuvering Instrumentation, but now that I think about it, I don't know if I've seen it officially.

#4404429 - 02/09/18 09:13 PM Re: Replay playback feature? [Re: Borsch]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 15,694
- Ice Offline
Veteran
- Ice  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 15,694
Philippines / North East UK
Also stands for Aircraft, Crew, Maintenance and Insurance or "wet lease" of aircraft smile

p.217 of the BMS manual:
Quote
The User Interface features a module for ACMI viewing. ACMI stands for Air Combat Maneuvring Instrumentation. It is a great learning tool that allows users to review their flight during debriefing. ACMI recording is not automatic and must be enabled in the cockpit.


I'm not sure if it's official, but might also want to look here.
http://www.f-16.net/glossary.html

Cinematics would probably be very low on the list of priorities of the BMS devs....


- Ice
#4404823 - 02/13/18 12:49 AM Re: Replay playback feature? [Re: Borsch]  
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 243
blit_ZEN Offline
Member
blit_ZEN  Offline
Member

Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 243
chester county, PA, america
The ACMI is tuff cause is shows every item that exists in its "bubble". I have made a few ACMI but there were so many view pointsa & other variables that I never really see stuff I was looking foor. Like How TF are Mig 29s getting in below radar & taking out my a/c?


Anyway I have recorded missions with AMD Radeon "ReLive" and it works fine in F4BMS, Trains, Il-2 CLOD, CSGO Grim Fandango & L A Noire all seem to copy ok with ReLive. I have OS on C: games on D: and E is a 3 terabyte mech.HD 4 recording & stuff.

#4404836 - 02/13/18 01:25 AM Re: Replay playback feature? [Re: Borsch]  
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 299
schnidrman Offline
Jason Schneider
schnidrman  Offline
Jason Schneider
Member

Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 299
Kansas City, Missouri
ACMI is awesome if you have Tacview. Otherwise it's Meh. Also, there is no longer the waiting times at the end of the mission to compile all the video, since U4.

But alas, the OP said ACMI is not what he is looking for.

You can enable the Eye Fly camera by adding this line (see below). Just right click the shortcut to BMS on your desktop to get this window.

[Linked Image]

Edit: Make sure you leave a space between .exe" and -ef or it won't work.

Turn on/off Eye Fly cam with CTRL+0

HTH

P.S. - Eye Fly cam is a bit tricky to use, so you will need to practice with it.

Last edited by schnidrman; 02/13/18 01:26 AM.
#4405017 - 02/13/18 11:09 PM Re: Replay playback feature? [Re: Borsch]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 15,694
- Ice Offline
Veteran
- Ice  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 15,694
Philippines / North East UK
schnidrman, can you give me a few ideas what to use that eye fly cam for? Do you have a video of it in action?


- Ice
#4405199 - 02/14/18 09:02 PM Re: Replay playback feature? [Re: Borsch]  
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 299
schnidrman Offline
Jason Schneider
schnidrman  Offline
Jason Schneider
Member

Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 299
Kansas City, Missouri
Just found out about it, so I'm still learning. Haven't gotten far w/ it yet.

#4405392 - 02/16/18 12:46 AM Re: Replay playback feature? [Re: Borsch]  
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 289
Borsch Offline
Member
Borsch  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 289
Yep, Eye Fly seems to be the answer for cinematic replays, but you need a second PC to run as a server in spectator mode (?) - at least that's how I understood it...


Last edited by Borsch; 02/16/18 12:47 AM.
#4405465 - 02/16/18 03:29 PM Re: Replay playback feature? [Re: Borsch]  
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 397
Comet Offline
Member
Comet  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 397
Originally Posted by Borsch
Yep, Eye Fly seems to be the answer for cinematic replays, but you need a second PC to run as a server in spectator mode (?) - at least that's how I understood it...

Hello everyone.
I've never used Eye Fly and actually BMS is not installed (because new hard disk).

This is what I understand:
- Activate Eye Fly with -ef commandline.
- Launch BMS and fly a mission normally.

And the mission's flight data is stored in a format that allows for replay (nothing to share with ACMI, though).

Questions:
1) Is the replay interactive? (as far as the camera is concerned)
2) Why the need for a 2nd PC, server and spectator mode?

Please elaborate.
Thank you in advance : )


I never finish anyth
#4405860 - 02/18/18 03:03 PM Re: Replay playback feature? [Re: Comet]  
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 289
Borsch Offline
Member
Borsch  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 289
From what I understand, the 2nd PC is needed because there is no replay system in the traditional sense, you are simply able to change camera angles in real time in spectator mode on the second PC. So fly with cockpit view on PC1 and use spectator mode on PC2 simultaneously. Use Fraps or shadowplay to capture PC2 footage. This way you can do precision flying and still have a recording with external cameras. My understanding again, I do not have a second PC spare to try.

Last edited by Borsch; 02/18/18 03:07 PM.

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
TotalBiscuit died
by Raw Kryptonite. 05/25/18 02:48 PM
Solo
by bones. 05/25/18 01:43 PM
US Capitol Flown Flags
by F4UDash4. 05/25/18 12:53 PM
Dinosaurs were shape shifting lizards !
by Blade_RJ. 05/25/18 07:35 AM
Early air travel.
by KraziKanuK. 05/25/18 07:22 AM
nightcrawlers of Fresno
by Blade_RJ. 05/24/18 11:53 PM
Early Aviation
by KraziKanuK. 05/24/18 09:40 PM
Benny Hill Moments
by KraziKanuK. 05/24/18 09:21 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0