Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4403835 - 02/06/18 05:17 PM Increase dot size?  
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,422
Adger Offline
Member
Adger  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,422
Stoke..UK
Hi guys,1st of all sorry if I'm posting in the wrong section,my apologies if so.

I'm trying to play with as much realism as possible.
I want to turn Tac,and all labels off and play with dots only. I'm using Trackir so that increases my immersion level.
Trouble is,is that playing on a monitor sometimes hinders the distance in which I can see enemy craft.
I'm sure that most times ( unless of cloud and/or fog) most pilots realistically would be able to see a bit further.

I'm just asking if there's any way to increase the dot size to make enemy craft a bit clearer? Or if anybody has any recommended distance settings for dots that,d be massively appreciated. You guys who play by DID rules what if anything settings do you use?
Thanks guys


"Vis unita fortior"

"United Strength is Stronger"
#4403851 - 02/06/18 06:13 PM Re: Increase dot size? [Re: Adger]  
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,702
Robert_Wiggins Offline
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Robert_Wiggins  Offline
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,702
Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
I could recommend a good magnifying glass! biggrin

Seriously, I will check my resource files when I get home. I may be able to help.

Last edited by Robert_Wiggins; 02/06/18 06:14 PM.

(System_Specs)
Case: Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Pwr Sup: OCZ, GameXStream,1000-Watt
MB: Asus Maximus VI Extreme
Mem: Corsair Vengeance (2x 8GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz, Unbuffered
CPU: Intel i7-4770K, OC to 4.427Ghz
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Seidon 240M Liquid CPU Cooler
Vid Card: ASUS GTX 980Ti STRIX 6GB
OS and Games on separate: Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD
Monitor: Primary ASUS PG27AQ 4k; Secondary Samsung SyncMaster BX2450L
Periphs: MS Sidewinder FFB2 Pro, TrackIR 4

#4403853 - 02/06/18 06:22 PM Re: Increase dot size? [Re: Robert_Wiggins]  
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,422
Adger Offline
Member
Adger  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,422
Stoke..UK
Originally Posted by Robert_Wiggins
I could recommend a good magnifying glass! biggrin

Seriously, I will check my resource files when I get home. I may be able to help.


Haha I hope I don't need one just yet Robert biggrin

Thanks pal,much appreciated


"Vis unita fortior"

"United Strength is Stronger"
#4403857 - 02/06/18 06:40 PM Re: Increase dot size? [Re: Adger]  
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 495
Ace_Pilto Offline
Livestreamer/YouTuber
Ace_Pilto  Offline
Livestreamer/YouTuber
Member

Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 495
Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha
Give SweetFX a try, you can increase the contrast which makes the dots stand out more. Works for me anyway, I use Reshade or SweetFX in all sims for just this reason, as well as the texture sharpening and other effects but you can adjust/turn them off if performance is an issue.


Let's pretend I got the BWOC badge to embed here.
#4403906 - 02/06/18 09:54 PM Re: Increase dot size? [Re: Adger]  
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,702
Robert_Wiggins Offline
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Robert_Wiggins  Offline
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,702
Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted by Adger
Originally Posted by Robert_Wiggins
I could recommend a good magnifying glass! biggrin

Seriously, I will check my resource files when I get home. I may be able to help.


Haha I hope I don't need one just yet Robert biggrin

Thanks pal,much appreciated


Adger, try the mod I set up for you. It has a black dot slightly increased in size. let me know if it's adequate for you. If not I can rework it. It's accessible from my dropbox below:

click to download

Last edited by Robert_Wiggins; 02/09/18 02:23 AM.

(System_Specs)
Case: Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Pwr Sup: OCZ, GameXStream,1000-Watt
MB: Asus Maximus VI Extreme
Mem: Corsair Vengeance (2x 8GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz, Unbuffered
CPU: Intel i7-4770K, OC to 4.427Ghz
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Seidon 240M Liquid CPU Cooler
Vid Card: ASUS GTX 980Ti STRIX 6GB
OS and Games on separate: Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD
Monitor: Primary ASUS PG27AQ 4k; Secondary Samsung SyncMaster BX2450L
Periphs: MS Sidewinder FFB2 Pro, TrackIR 4

#4403922 - 02/06/18 10:59 PM Re: Increase dot size? [Re: Adger]  
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,422
Adger Offline
Member
Adger  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,422
Stoke..UK
@Ace..I already use SweetFx but thanks for your input.

@ Robert many many thanks il download now and test. Thank you very much


"Vis unita fortior"

"United Strength is Stronger"
#4403933 - 02/07/18 12:25 AM Re: Increase dot size? [Re: Adger]  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 6,931
DukeIronHand Online grunt
Hotshot
DukeIronHand  Online Grunt
Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 6,931
High over the Front
Let us know how it works.
I don't have a problem currently (that I am aware of anyway) but am not afraid to give something a try.

And a +1 on SweetFX. I don't, anymore, use any of the color adjustments but use it for contrast (IIRC called "Sharpening" in SweetFX) as it brings out the details to me. Grain in wood, texture in leather, etc.

#4403948 - 02/07/18 02:33 AM Re: Increase dot size? [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,422
Adger Offline
Member
Adger  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,422
Stoke..UK
Originally Posted by DukeIronHand
Let us know how it works.
I don't have a problem currently (that I am aware of anyway) but am not afraid to give something a try.

And a +1 on SweetFX. I don't, anymore, use any of the color adjustments but use it for contrast (IIRC called "Sharpening" in SweetFX) as it brings out the details to me. Grain in wood, texture in leather, etc.



Duke..I really like it, it does certainly seem to increase the size of the dot mate,on a clear day it definitely increased the chances of me seeing the enemy quicker (and i have pretty good eyesight) without me squinting at my monitor.
Only 2 missions flown but yeah il certainly be sticking with this one pal. Yep love Sweetfx infact i use it or Reshade in the majority of my games. cheers


"Vis unita fortior"

"United Strength is Stronger"
#4403949 - 02/07/18 02:34 AM Re: Increase dot size? [Re: Robert_Wiggins]  
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,422
Adger Offline
Member
Adger  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,422
Stoke..UK
Originally Posted by Robert_Wiggins
Originally Posted by Adger
Originally Posted by Robert_Wiggins
I could recommend a good magnifying glass! biggrin

Seriously, I will check my resource files when I get home. I may be able to help.


Haha I hope I don't need one just yet Robert biggrin

Thanks pal,much appreciated


Adger, try the mod I set up for you. It has a black dot slightly increased in size. let me know if it's adequate for you. If not I can rework it. It's accessible from my dropbox below:

click to download


Robert..again you are the man,i will certainly be sticking with this one. I almost didn,t post regarding the "dot size" im glad i did. Thank you once again. I backed up my original file and used JSGME to install your UI XML file..works like a charm,its brilliant for what i need thumbsup


"Vis unita fortior"

"United Strength is Stronger"
#4403952 - 02/07/18 03:27 AM Re: Increase dot size? [Re: Adger]  
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,702
Robert_Wiggins Offline
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Robert_Wiggins  Offline
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,702
Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Adger

I'm happy that you are happy.
Enjoy the mod.

Cheers mate


(System_Specs)
Case: Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Pwr Sup: OCZ, GameXStream,1000-Watt
MB: Asus Maximus VI Extreme
Mem: Corsair Vengeance (2x 8GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz, Unbuffered
CPU: Intel i7-4770K, OC to 4.427Ghz
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Seidon 240M Liquid CPU Cooler
Vid Card: ASUS GTX 980Ti STRIX 6GB
OS and Games on separate: Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD
Monitor: Primary ASUS PG27AQ 4k; Secondary Samsung SyncMaster BX2450L
Periphs: MS Sidewinder FFB2 Pro, TrackIR 4

#4404286 - 02/08/18 11:50 PM Re: Increase dot size? [Re: Robert_Wiggins]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 717
77_Scout Offline
Member
77_Scout  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 717
Vancouver Island, Canada
Originally Posted by Robert_Wiggins


Adger, try the mod I set up for you. It has a black dot slightly increased in size. let me know if it's adequate for you. If not I can rework it. It's accessible from my dropbox below:

click to download


The file seems to have disappeared from the link but I would sure like to try it if it can be re-posted, Robert. I too have always wanted the dots to be a bit bigger to extend spotting distance a bit.

Cheers!

#4404295 - 02/09/18 12:58 AM Re: Increase dot size? [Re: 77_Scout]  
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,702
Robert_Wiggins Offline
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Robert_Wiggins  Offline
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,702
Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted by 77_Scout
Originally Posted by Robert_Wiggins


Adger, try the mod I set up for you. It has a black dot slightly increased in size. let me know if it's adequate for you. If not I can rework it. It's accessible from my dropbox below:

click to download


The file seems to have disappeared from the link but I would sure like to try it if it can be re-posted, Robert. I too have always wanted the dots to be a bit bigger to extend spotting distance a bit.

Cheers!



I will repost it. It should be there tomorrow at the same link


(System_Specs)
Case: Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Pwr Sup: OCZ, GameXStream,1000-Watt
MB: Asus Maximus VI Extreme
Mem: Corsair Vengeance (2x 8GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz, Unbuffered
CPU: Intel i7-4770K, OC to 4.427Ghz
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Seidon 240M Liquid CPU Cooler
Vid Card: ASUS GTX 980Ti STRIX 6GB
OS and Games on separate: Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD
Monitor: Primary ASUS PG27AQ 4k; Secondary Samsung SyncMaster BX2450L
Periphs: MS Sidewinder FFB2 Pro, TrackIR 4

#4404387 - 02/09/18 04:53 PM Re: Increase dot size? [Re: Adger]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 717
77_Scout Offline
Member
77_Scout  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 717
Vancouver Island, Canada
Thanks Robert, got it!! Much appreciated.

#4404404 - 02/09/18 06:44 PM Re: Increase dot size? [Re: Adger]  
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,702
Robert_Wiggins Offline
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Robert_Wiggins  Offline
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,702
Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
thumbsup


(System_Specs)
Case: Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Pwr Sup: OCZ, GameXStream,1000-Watt
MB: Asus Maximus VI Extreme
Mem: Corsair Vengeance (2x 8GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz, Unbuffered
CPU: Intel i7-4770K, OC to 4.427Ghz
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Seidon 240M Liquid CPU Cooler
Vid Card: ASUS GTX 980Ti STRIX 6GB
OS and Games on separate: Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD
Monitor: Primary ASUS PG27AQ 4k; Secondary Samsung SyncMaster BX2450L
Periphs: MS Sidewinder FFB2 Pro, TrackIR 4


Moderated by  Polovski, Sandbagger 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
A Question for Sim Pilots (and/or real pilots)
by F4UDash4. 08/19/18 07:02 PM
National Aviation Day
by oldgrognard. 08/19/18 04:23 PM
To all christians in here
by rollnloop.. 08/19/18 02:52 PM
Favorite military aircraft movie scene
by LB4LB. 08/19/18 03:11 AM
Aretha Franklin, 1942 - 2018
by DM. 08/17/18 07:53 AM
Parkland Hospital, Dallas
by Bill_Grant. 08/15/18 03:35 PM
Brilliant movie title intros
by PanzerMeyer. 08/15/18 11:05 AM
Insurgency FREE on steam (48hr)
by devere. 08/14/18 08:23 PM
Who here has a YouTube channel?
by Dart. 08/14/18 06:57 PM
TS just went down??
by WingNuts01. 08/14/18 02:30 AM
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0