Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3
#4408959 - 03/05/18 02:09 PM Re: A question for the devs and other computer gurus here [Re: RAF_Louvert]  
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 402
AnKor Offline
Member
AnKor  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 402
Russia
RAF_Louvert,
The idea is simple - you just place as many trees on facility xml as you need, then you run this xml through a special tool I'm making now. The tool reads tree positions and original tree models and creates several large m3d files which contain all those trees exactly where they should be in your facility. It also generates a new facility xml to use these new models.
So besides facility xml and textures, the mod will include a set of new m3d files specific for your facility.

The idea is that instead of having hundreds of units - one for each single tree in a facility, you will end up with say 10 units for each tree "type" containing hundreds of trees.
An additional feature is that each tree can be rendered with random size variation, so instead of having 100 copies of the same tree, each one can be slightly different.

I will provide more details once it is ready.

#4408960 - 03/05/18 02:13 PM Re: A question for the devs and other computer gurus here [Re: AnKor]  
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 177
gecko Online content
Member
gecko  Online Content
Member

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 177
This sounds great! More magic from Andrey! Thanks a lot!

#4408971 - 03/05/18 03:23 PM Re: A question for the devs and other computer gurus here [Re: AnKor]  
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,775
Robert_Wiggins Online smile
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Robert_Wiggins  Online Smile
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,775
Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted by AnKor
RAF_Louvert,
The idea is simple - you just place as many trees on facility xml as you need, then you run this xml through a special tool I'm making now. The tool reads tree positions and original tree models and creates several large m3d files which contain all those trees exactly where they should be in your facility. It also generates a new facility xml to use these new models.
So besides facility xml and textures, the mod will include a set of new m3d files specific for your facility.

The idea is that instead of having hundreds of units - one for each single tree in a facility, you will end up with say 10 units for each tree "type" containing hundreds of trees.
An additional feature is that each tree can be rendered with random size variation, so instead of having 100 copies of the same tree, each one can be slightly different.

I will provide more details once it is ready.


Ankor, if it works for trees, in principle, could it also work for buildings and other model types where there are a significant number of same type models in a facility?


(System_Specs)
Case: Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Pwr Sup: OCZ, GameXStream,1000-Watt
MB: Asus Maximus VI Extreme
Mem: Corsair Vengeance (2x 8GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz, Unbuffered
CPU: Intel i7-4770K, OC to 4.427Ghz
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Seidon 240M Liquid CPU Cooler
Vid Card: ASUS GTX 980Ti STRIX 6GB
OS and Games on separate: Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD
Monitor: Primary ASUS PG27AQ 4k; Secondary Samsung SyncMaster BX2450L
Periphs: MS Sidewinder FFB2 Pro, TrackIR 4

#4408974 - 03/05/18 03:30 PM Re: A question for the devs and other computer gurus here [Re: RAF_Louvert]  
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 402
AnKor Offline
Member
AnKor  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 402
Russia
Yes, but the building has to be indestructible.
The problem is that building's damage state is applied for the whole m3d file, so if you have two hangars combined in a single m3d they are both going to be destroyed at the same time.

#4408976 - 03/05/18 03:47 PM Re: A question for the devs and other computer gurus here [Re: AnKor]  
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,775
Robert_Wiggins Online smile
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Robert_Wiggins  Online Smile
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,775
Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted by AnKor
Yes, but the building has to be indestructible.
The problem is that building's damage state is applied for the whole m3d file, so if you have two hangars combined in a single m3d they are both going to be destroyed at the same time.


I see, kind of like an atom bomb attack effect in WW1. Not good.
That eliminates my thoughts. I was just thinking that in building intense facilities like the one Lou is working on, your approach might have been useful.


(System_Specs)
Case: Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Pwr Sup: OCZ, GameXStream,1000-Watt
MB: Asus Maximus VI Extreme
Mem: Corsair Vengeance (2x 8GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz, Unbuffered
CPU: Intel i7-4770K, OC to 4.427Ghz
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Seidon 240M Liquid CPU Cooler
Vid Card: ASUS GTX 980Ti STRIX 6GB
OS and Games on separate: Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD
Monitor: Primary ASUS PG27AQ 4k; Secondary Samsung SyncMaster BX2450L
Periphs: MS Sidewinder FFB2 Pro, TrackIR 4

#4408980 - 03/05/18 04:16 PM Re: A question for the devs and other computer gurus here [Re: RAF_Louvert]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 2,933
RAF_Louvert Offline
BOC President; Pilot Extraordinaire; Humble Man
RAF_Louvert  Offline
BOC President; Pilot Extraordinaire; Humble Man
Senior Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 2,933
L'Etoile du Nord
.

AnKor, your approach to the trees sounds like a very elegant work-around of the old CFS3 limitations. Too bad it can't also be applied to multiple buildings, but I'll take whatever I can get when it comes to your improvements. smile2

.

#4408985 - 03/05/18 04:53 PM Re: A question for the devs and other computer gurus here [Re: RAF_Louvert]  
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,111
MajorMagee Offline
Member
MajorMagee  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,111
Dayton, OH
Since an aircraft m3d can suffer progressive system/component damage perhaps a mos file and damage boxes could be used to subdivide the combined facility and produce damage to one building at a time?


Service To The Line,
On The Line,
On Time

US Army Ordnance Corps.
#4408994 - 03/05/18 05:22 PM Re: A question for the devs and other computer gurus here [Re: MajorMagee]  
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,775
Robert_Wiggins Online smile
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Robert_Wiggins  Online Smile
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,775
Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted by MajorMagee
Since an aircraft m3d can suffer progressive system/component damage perhaps a mos file and damage boxes could be used to subdivide the combined facility and produce damage to one building at a time?


Major, I understand the use of the most file for terrain but I can't get my head around how that could be applied to multiple buildings of multiple types in a facility. Can you explain?


(System_Specs)
Case: Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Pwr Sup: OCZ, GameXStream,1000-Watt
MB: Asus Maximus VI Extreme
Mem: Corsair Vengeance (2x 8GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz, Unbuffered
CPU: Intel i7-4770K, OC to 4.427Ghz
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Seidon 240M Liquid CPU Cooler
Vid Card: ASUS GTX 980Ti STRIX 6GB
OS and Games on separate: Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD
Monitor: Primary ASUS PG27AQ 4k; Secondary Samsung SyncMaster BX2450L
Periphs: MS Sidewinder FFB2 Pro, TrackIR 4

#4408995 - 03/05/18 05:24 PM Re: A question for the devs and other computer gurus here [Re: RAF_Louvert]  
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 402
AnKor Offline
Member
AnKor  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 402
Russia
MajorMagee,
Perhaps it can work, but it is beyond my understanding of cfs3 modelling, I'm not sure I want to make a tool that complex.
I think it will also be a problem if one has to count destroyed buildings after a bombing raid.

After all are there so many destructible buildings that they have noticeable performance impact? I can understand hundreds of trees, but a hundred of hangars? smile

If something has to have an effect on gameplay you have to pay its "cost" in terms of performance.

#4409004 - 03/05/18 06:19 PM Re: A question for the devs and other computer gurus here [Re: AnKor]  
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,775
Robert_Wiggins Online smile
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Robert_Wiggins  Online Smile
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,775
Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted by AnKor
MajorMagee,
Perhaps it can work, but it is beyond my understanding of cfs3 modelling, I'm not sure I want to make a tool that complex.
I think it will also be a problem if one has to count destroyed buildings after a bombing raid.

After all are there so many destructible buildings that they have noticeable performance impact? I can understand hundreds of trees, but a hundred of hangars? smile

If something has to have an effect on gameplay you have to pay its "cost" in terms of performance.


I can't dispute your logic on those points Ankor. Capability is one thing, practicality is something else. Still, it's always nice to know the limitations of capability. Thanks for all you do for us, it is appreciated.

Last edited by Robert_Wiggins; 03/05/18 06:20 PM.

(System_Specs)
Case: Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Pwr Sup: OCZ, GameXStream,1000-Watt
MB: Asus Maximus VI Extreme
Mem: Corsair Vengeance (2x 8GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz, Unbuffered
CPU: Intel i7-4770K, OC to 4.427Ghz
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Seidon 240M Liquid CPU Cooler
Vid Card: ASUS GTX 980Ti STRIX 6GB
OS and Games on separate: Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD
Monitor: Primary ASUS PG27AQ 4k; Secondary Samsung SyncMaster BX2450L
Periphs: MS Sidewinder FFB2 Pro, TrackIR 4

#4409171 - 03/06/18 12:52 PM Re: A question for the devs and other computer gurus here [Re: AnKor]  
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 152
4L0M Offline
Member
4L0M  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 152
Weymouth, UK
Originally Posted by AnKor
MajorMagee,

I think it will also be a problem if one has to count destroyed buildings after a bombing raid.

After all are there so many destructible buildings that they have noticeable performance impact? I can understand hundreds of trees, but a hundred of hangars? smile

If something has to have an effect on gameplay you have to pay its "cost" in terms of performance.


The "Destructible" buildings aren't new models, they are exactly the same model, but with various states of a "damage" texture applied, so performance shouldn't take a hit i think. The damage textures use Alpha channels to simulate the effect of missing masonry etc, The model is there fully intact, but the texture gives you the illusion of damage. Cheers!


I7 4770k@4.6ghz WC H80i
Asus Maximus Hero VII
Corsair 1000w rm1000 psu
16gb Crucial Ballistix Tactical@2100
Creative zx soundcard
2 x MSI 970 GTX SLI
55" Sony Bravia 4k HDR
Corsiar 760t
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3

Moderated by  Polovski, Sandbagger 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Talk Like a Pirate Day
by wheelsup_cavu. 09/20/18 03:58 AM
Top this!
by piper. 09/19/18 01:28 AM
fancy wheels
by KraziKanuK. 09/17/18 07:39 PM
gmail/google headaches
by Dunolde. 09/17/18 05:37 PM
63-Year-Old Just Joined the U.S. Navy
by F4UDash4. 09/17/18 04:33 PM
How not to refuel
by Marc. 09/17/18 05:56 AM
Dodged a bullet on Sunday
by Sluggish Controls. 09/17/18 04:38 AM
Gettysburg Address
by oldgrognard. 09/17/18 02:16 AM
British Army of Occupation
by KraziKanuK. 09/16/18 11:40 AM
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0