Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4394847 - 12/14/17 08:28 PM OT: Cliffs of Dover just got resurrected  
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 519
JimBobb Offline
Member
JimBobb  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 519

#4394859 - 12/14/17 10:00 PM Re: OT: Cliffs of Dover just got resurrected [Re: JimBobb]  
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,398
Adger Offline
Member
Adger  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,398
Stoke..UK
Good spot..im suspecting some of us may have the original Cliffs of Dover anyway (i have it on Steam) it was quite poor IMO without the Team Fusion mods.

One good thing is that if you own the original Cliffs of Dover ON STEAM only the blitz edition is a FREE upgrade so i commend them on that.

One last thing before people get excited..i believe you need a dx11 compatable card to run,if you meet the above requirements then go for it guys...its FREE!!

WOTR will have NO competition JimBobb biggrin


"Vis unita fortior"

"United Strength is Stronger"
#4395018 - 12/15/17 05:19 PM Re: OT: Cliffs of Dover just got resurrected [Re: Adger]  
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,621
dutch Offline
Member
dutch  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,621
EURO-zone
Originally Posted by Adger
Good spot..im suspecting some of us may have the original Cliffs of Dover anyway (i have it on Steam) it was quite poor IMO without the Team Fusion mods.

One good thing is that if you own the original Cliffs of Dover ON STEAM only the blitz edition is a FREE upgrade so i commend them on that.

One last thing before people get excited..i believe you need a dx11 compatable card to run,if you meet the above requirements then go for it guys...its FREE!!

WOTR will have NO competition JimBobb biggrin


DirectX11 card needed, since 2010 all the Vcards are DirectX11, cards like the AMD HD5xxx and the Nvidia GTX4xx, all directX11 capable. Guess nobody does use an DirectX10 card like the HD4890 or GTX285 for playing Woff.

I do have the DVD from Clod and it still needs Steam, so I guess it is all Steam.

#4395020 - 12/15/17 05:22 PM Re: OT: Cliffs of Dover just got resurrected [Re: JimBobb]  
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,739
Hellshade Offline
Hellshade
Hellshade  Offline
Hellshade
Senior Member

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,739
Florida
I have CloD on Steam and yes, the original was quite poorly done. Team Fusion Simulations has certainly put a lot of work into making it a much better product.

That said, since I re-downloaded the 4.5 "Blizt" edition, my joystick input isn't being accepted and I can't find anywhere to add it. Joystick works fine in WOFF UE and RoF, so it's not the hardware. Any ideas on how to get it working in CLoD: Blitz Edition?


Flying Wings Over Flanders Fields Ultimate Edition 4.x
videos at www.youtube.com/hellshade68

System Specs
Click to reveal.. (warning)
Intel i7 6700K OC 4.6 Ghz
Corsair Hydro H60 Liquid Cooler
16 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR4 RAM
2 x EVO 850 1TB SSD Drives (OS & Games)
1 Intel 240GB SSD drive (Scratch drive for videos)
MSI Z170 GAMER M7 Motherboard
EVGA GTX 1080 Founders Edition
Corsair CX850M Power Supply
Acer XB280HK 27" G-SYNC Monitor
Corsair RGB STRAFE MX Silent Keyboard
Windows 10 Home 64 bit

#4395037 - 12/15/17 07:23 PM Re: OT: Cliffs of Dover just got resurrected [Re: JimBobb]  
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,256
Rick_Rawlings Offline
B.O.C. Challenger
Rick_Rawlings  Offline
B.O.C. Challenger
Member

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,256
I got it years ago for $5 on steam. I wish Team Fusion would hurry up and throw a working campaign in there (for which I would happily pay...)

#4395039 - 12/15/17 07:37 PM Re: OT: Cliffs of Dover just got resurrected [Re: JimBobb]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 1,029
lederhosen Offline
Member
lederhosen  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 1,029
Germany
ahhhh.... can't be a slave to two+masters. And then the next ROF next year....und sub sims.


make mistakes and learn from them

I5 4440 3.1Ghz, Asrock B85m Pro3, Gtx 1060 3GB
#4395043 - 12/15/17 07:56 PM Re: OT: Cliffs of Dover just got resurrected [Re: Hellshade]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,326
JJJ65 Offline
Member
JJJ65  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,326
Czech Rep.
Originally Posted by Hellshade
I have CloD on Steam and yes, the original was quite poorly done. Team Fusion Simulations has certainly put a lot of work into making it a much better product.

That said, since I re-downloaded the 4.5 "Blizt" edition, my joystick input isn't being accepted and I can't find anywhere to add it. Joystick works fine in WOFF UE and RoF, so it's not the hardware. Any ideas on how to get it working in CLoD: Blitz Edition?

As an old owner and keen player of old CloD I am going to download and test the Blitz tomorrow. I will let you now my joystick experience then.

#4395092 - 12/16/17 04:58 AM Re: OT: Cliffs of Dover just got resurrected [Re: JimBobb]  
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 214
Burning_Beard Offline
Member
Burning_Beard  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 214
Red Bluff, CA
My joystick works properly and takes assignments of keys. When you first start the game the joystick isn't assigned so it doesn't work, just go into options and set up your keys and axis the way you want.

Berd


More Scotch and Stogies for my Wingman!
#4395097 - 12/16/17 09:40 AM Re: OT: Cliffs of Dover just got resurrected [Re: JimBobb]  
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 261
Lausbub78 Offline
Member
Lausbub78  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 261
Many people,including me,have troubles to start CloD. I get launcher crashes everytime I start it up. I'm pretty sure they will solve the issue soon. Some had success getting it to work by unplugging one or more of their Conrollers, I have to try that first too.

#4395100 - 12/16/17 11:19 AM Re: OT: Cliffs of Dover just got resurrected [Re: JimBobb]  
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,621
dutch Offline
Member
dutch  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,621
EURO-zone
About the problems do read the official Bos forum and I guess also on the ATAG/Steam/1C forums.

#4395115 - 12/16/17 02:08 PM Re: OT: Cliffs of Dover just got resurrected [Re: Hellshade]  
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 3,465
Sokol1 Offline
Senior Member
Sokol1  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 3,465
Internet
Originally Posted by Hellshade

That said, since I re-downloaded the 4.5 "Blizt" edition, my joystick input isn't being accepted and I can't find anywhere to add it. Joystick works fine in WOFF UE and RoF, so it's not the hardware. Any ideas on how to get it working in CLoD: Blitz Edition?


Look at this: In STEAM> Settings> Controller> General Controller Settings> Un-check "Generic Gamepad Configuration Support".

#4395444 - 12/18/17 04:33 PM Re: OT: Cliffs of Dover just got resurrected [Re: JimBobb]  
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 344
BirdDogICT Offline
Member
BirdDogICT  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 344
I guess I'm one of the lucky ones that had a flawless installation. Most changes to the game are subtle and aid in the immersion (with the possible exception of the Hollywood/War Thunder style explosions).

My only issue was installing Desastersoft campaigns...they are a no-go with the new 64-bit DLLs. I contacted Desastersoft,for support, and their reply was: Pls ask TF for this matter! We do not know, what they have changed.

EDIT: Team Fusion has now provided an unofficial, unsupported patch for Desastersoft missions. You can find it on the Air Tactical Assault Group website.

Last edited by BirdDogICT; 12/19/17 08:28 PM. Reason: Additional info

There are no accidents and no fatal flaws in the machines; there are only pilots with the wrong stuff.

— Tom Wolfe, The Right Stuff,1979.
#4395468 - 12/18/17 05:51 PM Re: OT: Cliffs of Dover just got resurrected [Re: JimBobb]  
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,739
Hellshade Offline
Hellshade
Hellshade  Offline
Hellshade
Senior Member

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,739
Florida
I followed directions from TFS to remove a directory under MyDocuments prior to installation, else the joysticks will not function properly. Unfortunately, no dice. Steam does recognize my Logitech Extreme 3D Pro joystick and I have (un)marked my check boxes in Steam as indicated above. Still no joy(stick) controlling in CLoD. I saw a post that TFS put out on Facebook saying that they want everyone to register on their "Bugtracker" forums and that there is a lot of activity. Seems like not a smooth launch. Looks pretty though... lol


Flying Wings Over Flanders Fields Ultimate Edition 4.x
videos at www.youtube.com/hellshade68

System Specs
Click to reveal.. (warning)
Intel i7 6700K OC 4.6 Ghz
Corsair Hydro H60 Liquid Cooler
16 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR4 RAM
2 x EVO 850 1TB SSD Drives (OS & Games)
1 Intel 240GB SSD drive (Scratch drive for videos)
MSI Z170 GAMER M7 Motherboard
EVGA GTX 1080 Founders Edition
Corsair CX850M Power Supply
Acer XB280HK 27" G-SYNC Monitor
Corsair RGB STRAFE MX Silent Keyboard
Windows 10 Home 64 bit

#4395484 - 12/18/17 07:14 PM Re: OT: Cliffs of Dover just got resurrected [Re: JimBobb]  
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 344
BirdDogICT Offline
Member
BirdDogICT  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 344
Hellshade,

The joystick axis naming conventions are different...this short video might help to explain it. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sbiOFMAjjZQ&t=2s

Some people have had to unplug joysticks, start the game, stop the game, plug in joysticks and let Windows set up new devices, and then restart the game and assign joysticks to the new devices.

I DID notice that after assigning joysticks, I ended up with a drifting mouse pointer...simply had to move the mouse to a different USB port to solve it.. So something is a little wonky with their USB programming.

The "C:\Documents\1C SoftClub\il2 sturmovik cliffs of dover - MOD" path is no longer used by the game, now "C:\Documents\1C SoftClub\il2 sturmovik cliffs of dover" is generated the first time you start up, just like it was with the original game before Team Fusion. Your user.ini files, campaigns, missions, etc., are stored here now.


Last edited by BirdDogICT; 12/18/17 07:28 PM. Reason: Video not starting at beginning

There are no accidents and no fatal flaws in the machines; there are only pilots with the wrong stuff.

— Tom Wolfe, The Right Stuff,1979.
#4395814 - 12/20/17 04:35 AM Re: OT: Cliffs of Dover just got resurrected [Re: JimBobb]  
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,373
JFM Offline
Member
JFM  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,373
Naples, FL
Wow, lucky for once. Installed it, assigned axes/keys, everything runs fine. Done and done.

#4395851 - 12/20/17 01:40 PM Re: OT: Cliffs of Dover just got resurrected [Re: JimBobb]  
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 189
rtoolooze262 Offline
Member
rtoolooze262  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2007
Posts: 189
Mo. USA
Guess I was lucky too. Installed, assigned axes/keys, runs fine. MS FF Sidewinder, Saitek X55 Throttle, CH Rudders


Moderated by  Polovski, Sandbagger 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Another mystery solved
by oldgrognard. 04/19/18 10:02 PM
IT Complaints
by Bill_Grant. 04/19/18 09:14 PM
Strange engine noise
by KraziKanuK. 04/19/18 02:35 PM
Retired to Alaska
by Bill_Grant. 04/19/18 01:52 PM
Blood Red Skies
by Ant. 04/19/18 09:11 AM
Iran apocalyptical sandstorm
by Blade_RJ. 04/18/18 10:30 PM
Barbara Bush has passed
by rwatson. 04/18/18 07:04 AM
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0