Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4106823 - 04/15/15 09:07 PM Il-2 1946 and the X55 Rhino  
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 307
Grunt0331 Offline
Member
Grunt0331  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 307
Anybody running IL-2 Sturmovik 1946 with an x-55 Rhino? My game refuses to detect either the flight stick or the throttle. I've googled it and although the Il-2 1946 isn't on the list of natively supported games, some people do seem to have had success in flying with it. Any tips or advice would be appreciated.

Thanks.


de.ci.sive.ness\ n. 1. Ability to make decisions promptly and to announce them in clear, forceful manner. 2. See United States Marine.
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4106856 - 04/15/15 10:20 PM Re: Il-2 1946 and the X55 Rhino [Re: Grunt0331]  
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,001
rollnloop. Offline
Member
rollnloop.  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,001
France
Does any other game recognize your Rhino ?

Some have problems with it, changing USB port from an USB2 to an USB3, or using a USB hub with own elec supply can help.

Or, if you have other controllers, be aware IL2 can't see more than 4 controllers, your rhino is maybe last in list ?

Good luck smile

#4106874 - 04/15/15 11:15 PM Re: Il-2 1946 and the X55 Rhino [Re: Grunt0331]  
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 307
Grunt0331 Offline
Member
Grunt0331  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 307
Thanks for the response.

So I unplugged my gamepad controller and this resulted in the game detecting my throttle, but it still would not detect the flight stick. I don't have any other controllers plugged in, other than the mouse and keyboard. I'm reluctant to unplug the throttle just to get the flight stick to work. Seems like something I shouldn't have to do to play a serious sim. The game isn't THAT old...


de.ci.sive.ness\ n. 1. Ability to make decisions promptly and to announce them in clear, forceful manner. 2. See United States Marine.
#4106991 - 04/16/15 04:46 AM Re: Il-2 1946 and the X55 Rhino [Re: Grunt0331]  
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 858
mugwump Offline
Member
mugwump  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 858
Vancouver, Canuckistan
I have an X-55. It is working without any issues with Windows 7. What version of Windows are you running? Are you going through the HOTAS setup screen?


S = k ln W
#4107002 - 04/16/15 05:20 AM Re: Il-2 1946 and the X55 Rhino [Re: Grunt0331]  
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 56
VFA41_Masheen Offline
Junior Member
VFA41_Masheen  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 56
Unplug all USB devices and power down the PC. unplug the power cord and the hit the power button. This will discharge any latent static fields. I don't know why this works, but It's the only thing that fixes my issues with X52's and other USB controllers. Once the PC is powered up plug in the X55 only.

I hope this works for you. good luck.


The knack of flying is learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss. - Douglas Adams
#4107014 - 04/16/15 06:00 AM Re: Il-2 1946 and the X55 Rhino [Re: Grunt0331]  
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 307
Grunt0331 Offline
Member
Grunt0331  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 307
Mugwump...im running windows 8.1. I am not running through any Saitek software program. Didn't even know I could do this...

Masheen...thanks for the tip. I'll give it a try.


de.ci.sive.ness\ n. 1. Ability to make decisions promptly and to announce them in clear, forceful manner. 2. See United States Marine.
#4108594 - 04/19/15 02:35 PM Re: Il-2 1946 and the X55 Rhino [Re: Grunt0331]  
Joined: Jan 2015
Posts: 95
RhinoX55 Offline
Junior Member
RhinoX55  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2015
Posts: 95
Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
I will confirm the observation that IL2 recognizes only a maximum of 4 USB controllers. It's a hard limit that you can't change.

Here's the even more fun thing about that: say you have 6 controllers attached (which is not that hard to do, depending on your flight sim gear). IL2 chooses which of them it decides to see. IL2 places them in some order based upon its own algorithm, and only acknowledges the existence of the first 4. And you can't change the order.

(Il2 does not necessarily place them in the same order you see them in the Windows 'Game Controllers' window.)

It would be GREAT if the guys who make the mod packages would fix this. I can't imagine that it's hugely difficult compared to modding flight models, etc.

In any case, I had been using a CH Products Throttle Quadrant unit for levers and switches in IL2. I had to disconnect and retire it when I got the X55 in order for IL2 to see both the stick and the throttle.

In a perfect world, IL2 would be like DCS World, which sees and reports every control device you have connected, no matter how many.


"Airplanes are interesting toys, but of no military value."
- Ferdinand Foch, Supreme Commander of Allied Forces, WWI
#4393032 - 12/03/17 09:40 PM Re: Il-2 1946 and the X55 Rhino [Re: RhinoX55]  
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 17
mongoose44 Offline
Junior Member
mongoose44  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2009
Posts: 17
Any good profiles for this or CLOD? Running Win 10 BTW


Moderated by  Murphy, RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
WWII Pilot Sits in Cockpit After 70 Years
by F4UDash4. 12/12/17 06:36 PM
What a difference 10 days makes....
by F4UDash4. 12/09/17 11:00 PM
I awoke to the sound of kids screaming outside
by Raw Kryptonite. 12/08/17 02:23 PM
Anyone oil painting?
by VF9_Longbow. 12/08/17 10:13 AM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0