Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4392134 - 11/30/17 06:52 PM A bit OT: WOFF UE reinstall dumbness.  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 6,571
DukeIronHand Offline
Hotshot
DukeIronHand  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 6,571
High over the Front
Of course I have WOFF UE.
Bought it on Day 1, installed it, never had an issue.
Started having W10 issues recently though (thought at first it a HD failure) but got it figured out and decided to try a Windows "reset" instead of a complete wipe of things.
This reportedly resets just Windows leaving your "files intact." Sounds good! And it worked fine - all files intact - but essentially worthless as the reset wipes the registry, i.e., WOFF would not work. Okay, no sweat, just do a quick reinstall of UE just to get the registry settings back. Done except now WOFF UE wants my original registration code.

Again no sweat I figure. I have UE saved to two separate HD's, a DVD, and a flash drive for safekeeping and did the same for the code except...yes you guessed...I can't remember where, in the 3 or 4 places I probably saved it, it is.

Old age! Not all it's cracked up to be. Gonna dig around some more, before I crawl like a dog to OBD Support, and ask what it is. This time I'll save it to 6 or 7 places so I can find it.

#4392141 - 11/30/17 07:17 PM Re: A bit OT: WOFF UE reinstall dumbness. [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,103
Robert_Wiggins Online smile
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Robert_Wiggins  Online Smile
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,103
Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted by DukeIronHand
Of course I have WOFF UE.
Bought it on Day 1, installed it, never had an issue.
Started having W10 issues recently though (thought at first it a HD failure) but got it figured out and decided to try a Windows "reset" instead of a complete wipe of things.
This reportedly resets just Windows leaving your "files intact." Sounds good! And it worked fine - all files intact - but essentially worthless as the reset wipes the registry, i.e., WOFF would not work. Okay, no sweat, just do a quick reinstall of UE just to get the registry settings back. Done except now WOFF UE wants my original registration code.

Again no sweat I figure. I have UE saved to two separate HD's, a DVD, and a flash drive for safekeeping and did the same for the code except...yes you guessed...I can't remember where, in the 3 or 4 places I probably saved it, it is.

Old age! Not all it's cracked up to be. Gonna dig around some more, before I crawl like a dog to OBD Support, and ask what it is. This time I'll save it to 6 or 7 places so I can find it.



Duke, I can relate to the old age thing! I'm now 70!!

I say have the code tattooed on your arm...that is, if you have any room left over from all the other hard to remember items already tattooed there!!! biggrin


(System_Specs)
Case: Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Pwr Sup: OCZ, GameXStream,1000-Watt
MB: Asus Maximus VI Extreme
Mem: Corsair Vengeance (2x 8GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz, Unbuffered
CPU: Intel i7-4770K, OC to 4.427Ghz
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Seidon 240M Liquid CPU Cooler
Vid Card: ASUS GTX 980Ti STRIX 6GB
OS and Games on separate: Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD
Monitor: Primary ASUS PG27AQ 4k; Secondary Samsung SyncMaster BX2450L
Periphs: MS Sidewinder FFB2 Pro, TrackIR 4

#4392149 - 11/30/17 07:37 PM Re: A bit OT: WOFF UE reinstall dumbness. [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 6,571
DukeIronHand Offline
Hotshot
DukeIronHand  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 6,571
High over the Front
A tattoo! Brilliant!
And if someone should ask I can tell them it's my...err...IQ!
Oh that will fool them.

#4392197 - 11/30/17 09:43 PM Re: A bit OT: WOFF UE reinstall dumbness. [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 6,571
DukeIronHand Offline
Hotshot
DukeIronHand  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 6,571
High over the Front
Alzheimer's for the win!
Email sent to OBD Support.

EDIT: Well no one can accuse OBD of slacking. Got an answer in about 5 minutes. Outstanding as always.

Last edited by DukeIronHand; 11/30/17 10:00 PM.
#4392208 - 11/30/17 10:20 PM Re: A bit OT: WOFF UE reinstall dumbness. [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 1,455
Panama Red Offline
Member
Panama Red  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 1,455
Irmo, SC, USA
I just keep mine in a "text" file in the same folder as my original WOFF UE download files. That way they are all together every time, when ever I need to reload the game.

#4392209 - 11/30/17 10:28 PM Re: A bit OT: WOFF UE reinstall dumbness. [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 6,571
DukeIronHand Offline
Hotshot
DukeIronHand  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 6,571
High over the Front
And I thought I did that too but...
And good to see you PR!
Hope things are well.

#4392212 - 11/30/17 10:37 PM Re: A bit OT: WOFF UE reinstall dumbness. [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 332
BuckeyeBob Online content
Member
BuckeyeBob  Online Content
Member

Joined: May 2016
Posts: 332
Ohio, USA
OBD to the rescue!

Glad to hear that you are sorted, Duke. Now get back up into the sky and flame some Huns, Tommies, Frogs, or Yanks--please take your pick!

#4392215 - 11/30/17 10:47 PM Re: A bit OT: WOFF UE reinstall dumbness. [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 6,571
DukeIronHand Offline
Hotshot
DukeIronHand  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 6,571
High over the Front
Good plan!
I am chomping at the bit. 56 Squadron needs me. Or was it Jasta 11?

#4392226 - 11/30/17 11:44 PM Re: A bit OT: WOFF UE reinstall dumbness. [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,103
Robert_Wiggins Online smile
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Robert_Wiggins  Online Smile
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,103
Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted by DukeIronHand
Good plan!
I am chomping at the bit. 56 Squadron needs me. Or was it Jasta 11?



Hmmm.....any more room left on your arm??


(System_Specs)
Case: Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Pwr Sup: OCZ, GameXStream,1000-Watt
MB: Asus Maximus VI Extreme
Mem: Corsair Vengeance (2x 8GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz, Unbuffered
CPU: Intel i7-4770K, OC to 4.427Ghz
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Seidon 240M Liquid CPU Cooler
Vid Card: ASUS GTX 980Ti STRIX 6GB
OS and Games on separate: Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD
Monitor: Primary ASUS PG27AQ 4k; Secondary Samsung SyncMaster BX2450L
Periphs: MS Sidewinder FFB2 Pro, TrackIR 4

#4392236 - 12/01/17 12:25 AM Re: A bit OT: WOFF UE reinstall dumbness. [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 6,571
DukeIronHand Offline
Hotshot
DukeIronHand  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 6,571
High over the Front
skyisfalling

#4392378 - 12/01/17 02:25 PM Re: A bit OT: WOFF UE reinstall dumbness. [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 3,457
kaa Offline
Senior Member
kaa  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 3,457
France
A registration code, I even do not remember I needed one , Was this originally sent with the files dowloaded ?


"Anyone can shoot you down if you don't see him coming but it takes a wonderfully good Hun to bag a Camel if you're expecting him."
Tom Cundall.
#4392395 - 12/01/17 03:15 PM Re: A bit OT: WOFF UE reinstall dumbness. [Re: kaa]  
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 497
Stache Online content
Member
Stache  Online Content
Member

Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 497
Michigan, USA
Originally Posted by kaa
A registration code, I even do not remember I needed one , Was this originally sent with the files dowloaded ?


Hi kaa - what was being referred to for WOFF UE is the order number.

Originally Posted by Polovski
Your order number from Avangate is what you need to enter into the code box. Avangate can't help with that as they do not know what serial system we use.
I believe you contacted us about this on support? Anyway for anyone else reading, if you need your order number to enter when WOFF asks you during install, and you have lost it, please contact support


The order number would have been on the emails received during the purchasing process.


Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. A. Einstein

(System Specs:)

I7-6700k OC 4.4GHZ, 16GB DDR4 3200Mhz; Gigabyte Gaming 7 MB, G1 OC'ed GTX980ti; Three-Acer XB271HU WQHD Gsync 144Mhz; Samsung 950-512GB NVMe SSD; WD 2TB-7200rpm; Cooler Master HAF XB EVO, Nepton 240M cooler, V1000 PS; Windows 10 PRO; VKB GunfighterPro Stick; Saitek Pro Flight Pedals & Throttle; Dual TM MFD panels; TrackIR 5; home grown cockpit, � la RogerDodger.net
#4392398 - 12/01/17 03:24 PM Re: A bit OT: WOFF UE reinstall dumbness. [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 6,571
DukeIronHand Offline
Hotshot
DukeIronHand  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 6,571
High over the Front
Yes. The technically correct term is "order number" not "registration number" but obviously I forgot that too.

#4392584 - 12/02/17 11:46 AM Re: A bit OT: WOFF UE reinstall dumbness. [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 3,457
kaa Offline
Senior Member
kaa  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 3,457
France
Ah ok ! thanks ,well I must still have all the order confirmation mails and download numberd from OFF 3 to WOFF UE, smile !


"Anyone can shoot you down if you don't see him coming but it takes a wonderfully good Hun to bag a Camel if you're expecting him."
Tom Cundall.

Moderated by  Polovski, Sandbagger 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
WWII Pilot Sits in Cockpit After 70 Years
by F4UDash4. 12/12/17 06:36 PM
What a difference 10 days makes....
by F4UDash4. 12/09/17 11:00 PM
I awoke to the sound of kids screaming outside
by Raw Kryptonite. 12/08/17 02:23 PM
Anyone oil painting?
by VF9_Longbow. 12/08/17 10:13 AM
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0