Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#4391150 - 11/24/17 01:35 PM GeForce GTX 1060 Owners  
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 556
CaptSopwith Offline
Barmy WingNut
CaptSopwith  Offline
Barmy WingNut
Member

Joined: May 2003
Posts: 556
United States
Hi Gents!

Hope all is well with you and yours. For my fellow Americans, I hope you had a splendid Thanksgiving and you are recovering from the over-eating yesterday!

I am writing with a question for anyone who uses an nVidia 1060 graphics card. I'm considering upgrading the 745gtx that my Dell shipped with. The system has a 460w power supply and checking the card specs here: https://www.nvidia.com/en-us/geforce/products/10series/geforce-gtx-1060/ I notice that the 1060 only needs a 400w power supply. The price is almost doable for me - student loan payments begin next month...

My question is what your experience with this card is. How do your modern games run on it, and more importantly, how does WOFF run on it? Do you get any stutters? Does the graphics engine in WOFF seem to play well with this card? Many thanks for your feedback!

Cheers!

#4391161 - 11/24/17 02:28 PM Re: GeForce GTX 1060 Owners [Re: CaptSopwith]  
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,490
Robert_Wiggins Online smile
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Robert_Wiggins  Online Smile
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,490
Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Cap'n;

I don't know if you are running a G-sync monitor but if so, you may benefit from current and future responses to the following thread:

thread on G-sync monitors


(System_Specs)
Case: Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Pwr Sup: OCZ, GameXStream,1000-Watt
MB: Asus Maximus VI Extreme
Mem: Corsair Vengeance (2x 8GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz, Unbuffered
CPU: Intel i7-4770K, OC to 4.427Ghz
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Seidon 240M Liquid CPU Cooler
Vid Card: ASUS GTX 980Ti STRIX 6GB
OS and Games on separate: Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD
Monitor: Primary ASUS PG27AQ 4k; Secondary Samsung SyncMaster BX2450L
Periphs: MS Sidewinder FFB2 Pro, TrackIR 4

#4391163 - 11/24/17 02:47 PM Re: GeForce GTX 1060 Owners [Re: CaptSopwith]  
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,986
MajorMagee Online content
Member
MajorMagee  Online Content
Member

Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,986
Dayton, OH
This is where I always start when I'm trying to determine the value of a GPU upgrade.

Tom's Hardware


Service To The Line,
On The Line,
On Time

US Army Ordnance Corps.
#4391170 - 11/24/17 03:36 PM Re: GeForce GTX 1060 Owners [Re: Robert_Wiggins]  
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 556
CaptSopwith Offline
Barmy WingNut
CaptSopwith  Offline
Barmy WingNut
Member

Joined: May 2003
Posts: 556
United States
Originally Posted by Robert_Wiggins
Cap'n;

I don't know if you are running a G-sync monitor but if so, you may benefit from current and future responses to the following thread:

thread on G-sync monitors



Thanks MajorMagee, I'll take a look at their video card tables.

Robert, I don't even know what that is... I'm running on a 9 year old Gateway monitor with a 1680x1050 resolution and some wonky colors... it was a leftover from my previous system. I didn't have the budget for both a new tower and monitor. Does G-Sync offer vsync through the hardware?

Last edited by CaptSopwith; 11/24/17 03:37 PM.
#4391171 - 11/24/17 03:58 PM Re: GeForce GTX 1060 Owners [Re: CaptSopwith]  
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,490
Robert_Wiggins Online smile
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Robert_Wiggins  Online Smile
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,490
Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted by CaptSopwith
Originally Posted by Robert_Wiggins
Cap'n;

I don't know if you are running a G-sync monitor but if so, you may benefit from current and future responses to the following thread:

thread on G-sync monitors



Thanks MajorMagee, I'll take a look at their video card tables.

Robert, I don't even know what that is... I'm running on a 9 year old Gateway monitor with a 1680x1050 resolution and some wonky colors... it was a leftover from my previous system. I didn't have the budget for both a new tower and monitor. Does G-Sync offer vsync through the hardware?


G-Sync will cost a few pennies but since you don't currently have one, the Nvidia card you purchase is one that you should buy with intention down the road. Just make sure it is G-Sync compliant for the future.
To keep it simple, the following explains G-Sync approach:

Q: How does G-SYNC work?

A: Several years in the making, G-SYNC technology synchronizes the display’s refresh to the GPU’s render rate, so images display the moment they’re rendered. The result: Scenes appear instantly. Objects are sharper. Game play is smoother.

Since their earliest days, displays have had fixed refresh rates – typically 60 times a second (Hertz). But due to the dynamic nature of PC games, GPUs render frames at varying rates. As the GPU seeks to synchronize with the display, persistent tearing occurs. Turning on V-SYNC (or Vertical-SYNC) can eliminate tearing but causes increased latency and stutter.

G-SYNC eliminates this tradeoff, perfectly syncing the display to the GPU, regardless of frame rate, leading to uncompromised PC gaming experiences.

Cheers mate.


(System_Specs)
Case: Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Pwr Sup: OCZ, GameXStream,1000-Watt
MB: Asus Maximus VI Extreme
Mem: Corsair Vengeance (2x 8GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz, Unbuffered
CPU: Intel i7-4770K, OC to 4.427Ghz
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Seidon 240M Liquid CPU Cooler
Vid Card: ASUS GTX 980Ti STRIX 6GB
OS and Games on separate: Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD
Monitor: Primary ASUS PG27AQ 4k; Secondary Samsung SyncMaster BX2450L
Periphs: MS Sidewinder FFB2 Pro, TrackIR 4

#4391186 - 11/24/17 05:03 PM Re: GeForce GTX 1060 Owners [Re: CaptSopwith]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 1,029
lederhosen Offline
Member
lederhosen  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 1,029
Germany
I had/have a GTX 750gtx (4GB) and moved up into the 1060 but only with 3GB.
To the eye there's not much diff, but the AA and such is faster. It also increased my FPS quite a bit, but atill strugle in 1918 Flanders. (Could be the CPU though)
This could also be a CFS3 thing too.

But for IL2 and other games it runs great and quite cool as well. Although its only 3GB I 've yet to see any stutters outside of WOFF.

Last edited by lederhosen; 11/24/17 05:05 PM.

make mistakes and learn from them

I5 4440 3.1Ghz, Asrock B85m Pro3, Gtx 1060 3GB
#4391197 - 11/24/17 05:51 PM Re: GeForce GTX 1060 Owners [Re: CaptSopwith]  
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 142
Dornil Offline
Member
Dornil  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 142
I am quite happy with 6gb 1060 in WoFF; running 8x ingame antialiasing + 8x SGSSAA through Nvidia Inspector. Performance and image quality with AMD's 8gb RX 480 in WoFF and CFS3 was much worse.

#4391208 - 11/24/17 07:02 PM Re: GeForce GTX 1060 Owners [Re: Dornil]  
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,490
Robert_Wiggins Online smile
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Robert_Wiggins  Online Smile
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,490
Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted by Dornil
I am quite happy with 6gb 1060 in WoFF; running 8x ingame antialiasing + 8x SGSSAA through Nvidia Inspector. Performance and image quality with AMD's 8gb RX 480 in WoFF and CFS3 was much worse.


Would you be willing to share your inspector profile with us?

I for one would like to compare it.


(System_Specs)
Case: Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Pwr Sup: OCZ, GameXStream,1000-Watt
MB: Asus Maximus VI Extreme
Mem: Corsair Vengeance (2x 8GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz, Unbuffered
CPU: Intel i7-4770K, OC to 4.427Ghz
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Seidon 240M Liquid CPU Cooler
Vid Card: ASUS GTX 980Ti STRIX 6GB
OS and Games on separate: Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD
Monitor: Primary ASUS PG27AQ 4k; Secondary Samsung SyncMaster BX2450L
Periphs: MS Sidewinder FFB2 Pro, TrackIR 4

#4391277 - 11/25/17 02:05 AM Re: GeForce GTX 1060 Owners [Re: CaptSopwith]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 140
Andy73 Offline
Member
Andy73  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 140
Germany
I am playing with ASUS STRIX Gaming GTX 1060 with 6 GB, it is a expensive Card (400 Euro), but all is running well. I am using a different kind of AA, called DOWNSAMPLING, I have a normal FULL HD Monitor with Resolution 1920 x 1080, but the Game is running with 3840 x 2160 via NVIDIA Control Panel, you don't need to use any AA in Game or with NVIDIA Inspector. I have VSync ON, Pre-rendered Frames on 1, and after a long time of testing and trying, I've found out that these Settings are the best for my System, with great Performance, although I have some stutters in Flanders 1918 too, but I am working on it to get it more smooth and liquid. All other Games (RoF and IL2) are running very good, with both I've had the most Increase in Performance, the Games are running perfect even with highest Settings.
Absolutely worth to buy it.

#4391284 - 11/25/17 03:11 AM Re: GeForce GTX 1060 Owners [Re: CaptSopwith]  
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 542
Shredward Online content
Member
Shredward  Online Content
Member

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 542
Lake Louise, AB Canada
I'm running an Nvidia 980 Ti, and it works great.
Cheers,
shredward


We will remember them.
#4391353 - 11/25/17 08:25 PM Re: GeForce GTX 1060 Owners [Re: Robert_Wiggins]  
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 142
Dornil Offline
Member
Dornil  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 142
Sure, my profile is attached. To use change extension from .txt to .nip and open in NVInspector. Important note: ingame antialiasing should be set to 8x as well. They say that SGSSAA works properly only in combination with the same number of MSAA.

P.S.: Downsampling is not an option for me, because I still use 1280x1024 monitor, and downsampling doesn't work with this aspect ratio. But I am fully satisfied with SGSSAA.

Attached Files
WoFF.txt (29 downloads)
Last edited by Dornil; 11/25/17 08:29 PM.
#4391414 - 11/26/17 03:53 AM Re: GeForce GTX 1060 Owners [Re: CaptSopwith]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 140
Andy73 Offline
Member
Andy73  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 140
Germany
How can I use this Profile? I do not understand. What is a .nip Extension?
Please explain it correctly so People can use it.

#4391432 - 11/26/17 08:01 AM Re: GeForce GTX 1060 Owners [Re: Andy73]  
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,490
Robert_Wiggins Online smile
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Robert_Wiggins  Online Smile
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,490
Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted by Andy73
How can I use this Profile? I do not understand. What is a .nip Extension?
Please explain it correctly so People can use it.


It is only useful if you run Nvidia Inspector. . Do you?


(System_Specs)
Case: Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Pwr Sup: OCZ, GameXStream,1000-Watt
MB: Asus Maximus VI Extreme
Mem: Corsair Vengeance (2x 8GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz, Unbuffered
CPU: Intel i7-4770K, OC to 4.427Ghz
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Seidon 240M Liquid CPU Cooler
Vid Card: ASUS GTX 980Ti STRIX 6GB
OS and Games on separate: Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD
Monitor: Primary ASUS PG27AQ 4k; Secondary Samsung SyncMaster BX2450L
Periphs: MS Sidewinder FFB2 Pro, TrackIR 4

#4391466 - 11/26/17 02:12 PM Re: GeForce GTX 1060 Owners [Re: CaptSopwith]  
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 142
Dornil Offline
Member
Dornil  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 142
If you have an NVidia card, you can install a third-party software called "Nvidia Inspector". It allows accessing some of the videodriver setting otherwise unavailable in the default Nividia's configuration app. The one especially usefull is the Sparse Grid Super Sampling AntiAliasing, or SGSSAA, which virtually looks as good as an ordinary Super Sampling, but is much less performance-hungry. There are alot of other parameters to play with as well, and my best settings for WoFF are in the file (WoFF.txt) I uploaded. The original NV Inspector profile file looked like WoFF.nip but I had to rename it into WoFF.txt because forum allows this filetype to be attached. So you just have to rename WoFF.txt back into WoFF.nip and then open it in NVidia Inspector (after you installed NVI itself, of course).

#4391483 - 11/26/17 03:14 PM Re: GeForce GTX 1060 Owners [Re: CaptSopwith]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 140
Andy73 Offline
Member
Andy73  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 140
Germany
Okay thank you! I always use NVIDIA Inspector, because it is a very good Program!

Last edited by Andy73; 11/26/17 03:15 PM.
#4391512 - 11/26/17 05:47 PM Re: GeForce GTX 1060 Owners [Re: Dornil]  
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,490
Robert_Wiggins Online smile
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Robert_Wiggins  Online Smile
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,490
Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted by Dornil
Sure, my profile is attached. To use change extension from .txt to .nip and open in NVInspector. Important note: ingame antialiasing should be set to 8x as well. They say that SGSSAA works properly only in combination with the same number of MSAA.

P.S.: Downsampling is not an option for me, because I still use 1280x1024 monitor, and downsampling doesn't work with this aspect ratio. But I am fully satisfied with SGSSAA.


Dornil I have a question for you.
When importing or building a new .nip file, you must assign that profile to the WOFF.exe program. What I would like to know is if you have found a way to implement multiple profiles for the same program without having to unassigned and reassign the program each time you try another profile.

Best Regards

Last edited by Robert_Wiggins; 11/26/17 05:47 PM.

(System_Specs)
Case: Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Pwr Sup: OCZ, GameXStream,1000-Watt
MB: Asus Maximus VI Extreme
Mem: Corsair Vengeance (2x 8GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz, Unbuffered
CPU: Intel i7-4770K, OC to 4.427Ghz
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Seidon 240M Liquid CPU Cooler
Vid Card: ASUS GTX 980Ti STRIX 6GB
OS and Games on separate: Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD
Monitor: Primary ASUS PG27AQ 4k; Secondary Samsung SyncMaster BX2450L
Periphs: MS Sidewinder FFB2 Pro, TrackIR 4

#4391515 - 11/26/17 06:10 PM Re: GeForce GTX 1060 Owners [Re: CaptSopwith]  
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 142
Dornil Offline
Member
Dornil  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 142
Frankly, I do not assign profiles to games at all. I just manually activate the necessary profile before I start the program itself, simply by drag-dropping a profile file onto NVI's desktop icon. It is easier for me that way:)

#4391746 - 11/28/17 02:30 PM Re: GeForce GTX 1060 Owners [Re: CaptSopwith]  
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 556
CaptSopwith Offline
Barmy WingNut
CaptSopwith  Offline
Barmy WingNut
Member

Joined: May 2003
Posts: 556
United States
Thank you very much for the feedback gents! I greatly appreciate it. Now I just need to start saving pennies for the card. Looks like my system has a 460w power supply and the card calls for a 400w setup, so I should be good to go, I think!

Cheers!

#4396624 - 12/24/17 04:04 PM Re: GeForce GTX 1060 Owners [Re: CaptSopwith]  
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 556
CaptSopwith Offline
Barmy WingNut
CaptSopwith  Offline
Barmy WingNut
Member

Joined: May 2003
Posts: 556
United States
Hello again, Gents!

As I nurse a cold on Christmas Eve, I'm spending my morning with some coffee and browsing video cards to get my mind off my stuffed sinuses. It looks like the 1060 might be cutting the power supply requirements a bit close in my Dell and while I might have money for the card, I don't have the spare cash or expertise to pry in another power supply.

So I wanted to ask if a 1050 would be a viable option for playing modern games and WOFF. Does anyone have experiences with these? Or, more generally, are there any nvidia cards that WOFF just doesn't seem to like?

I was thinking this might be a good option: https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?item=N82E16814487290

Let me know what you think if you have a spare moment.

#4396632 - 12/24/17 05:41 PM Re: GeForce GTX 1060 Owners [Re: CaptSopwith]  
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,621
dutch Offline
Member
dutch  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,621
EURO-zone
What vcard is now installed? What Dell do you have?
About the 1050 ask Lederhose I know it was not working.
Good calculator can be found here at
http://www.powersupplycalculator.net/ or just Google

edit here it is:
http://SimHQ.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/topics/4334038/gtx-1050-ti-problems#Post4334038
it is an ti version, only I would not take the risc.

Last edited by dutch; 12/31/17 12:54 PM. Reason: included the link
#4396651 - 12/24/17 07:45 PM Re: GeForce GTX 1060 Owners [Re: CaptSopwith]  
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 222
kksnowbear Online content
Member
kksnowbear  Online Content
Member

Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 222
The "Thermal Design Power" or TDP for the GTX1060 is 120W. (The 400W figure is an approximation for an entire system including a 1060, but the TDP is specific for the card itself.) My own rule of thumb is to allow 300W for the motherboard, RAM etc and then add the TDP of the desired GPU. I've never seen an instance of a standard PC with 4 memory modules that would exceed 300W, assuming you have a quality-built power supply. Once thing I've noticed about Dells over the years is they have well-built, quality PSUs - if it says 300W, then it means 300W.

(I can tell you for sure that the wattage required for power supplies are typically grossly exaggerated; this, in large part, because of the flood of cheap units that are over-rated to begin with...it is exceptionally uncommon for a PC with only one graphics card to actually use more than about 400-500W these days, and even in the days of the Nvidia 500- and 700- series monsters, the total power actually needed would be about 550W. Unless you had multiple cards or a GTX590/690, anything beyond maybe 600W is truly overkill - again, assuming a quality PSU that actually puts out what it's rated for, continuously and at a reasonable temperature of say 40c. Cheap power supplies won't do that.)

Anyhow, back on the first page of this thread, I believe you indicated the Dell has a 460W PSU, so that you would easily have 160W (or more) to spare for the GPU.

Based on the above, I firmly believe you'd be fine with the 1060. You should check to make sure your Dell has a 6-pin PCIe power connector available; even if not, the 1060 will almost assuredly come with an adapter to be used with an LP4 type connector (often incorrectly called a "Molex" connector). The PCIe slot itself provides 75W of the 120 needed, so that cable will only have to provide another 45 watts (3.75 amps at 12vdc) - well within safe limits of the cables and adapter concerned.

The 1060's are great cards. I bought one for each of my two sons last Christmas....they actually do slightly better in synthetic benchmarks than my old GTX780 did, if the comparison is of any value. And if you get the 6G version of the 1060, that's twice the VRAM of my old 780, too. You should be very happy with it.

Hope this helps, and happy holidays smile

Last edited by kksnowbear; 12/24/17 08:20 PM.
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Polovski, Sandbagger 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Another mystery solved
by oldgrognard. 04/19/18 10:02 PM
IT Complaints
by Bill_Grant. 04/19/18 09:14 PM
Strange engine noise
by KraziKanuK. 04/19/18 02:35 PM
Retired to Alaska
by Bill_Grant. 04/19/18 01:52 PM
Blood Red Skies
by Ant. 04/19/18 09:11 AM
Iran apocalyptical sandstorm
by Blade_RJ. 04/18/18 10:30 PM
Barbara Bush has passed
by rwatson. 04/18/18 07:04 AM
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0