Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4383763 - 10/07/17 11:16 PM How do you change pilot's default view?  
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 6,795
TerribleTwo Online content
Hotshot
TerribleTwo  Online Content
Hotshot

Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 6,795
I tried the java pilot viewpoint mod and adjusted the view back several points, applied it, and nothing has changed as far as view goes. And I don't see anywhere in the workshop where I can set the viewpoint back.


"College graduates should not have to live out their 20s in their childhood bedrooms, staring up at fading Obama posters and wondering when they can move out and get going with life" - Paul Ryan
#4383771 - 10/08/17 12:10 AM Re: How do you change pilot's default view? [Re: TerribleTwo]  
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,112
MFair Offline
Member
MFair  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,112
Use the bracket keys on your keyboard to zoom pilot view in and out. Is that what you are looking for? Glad to have you aboard!


Never approach a bull from the front, a horse from the rear or a fool from either end.
BOC Member since....I can't remember!
#4383772 - 10/08/17 12:15 AM Re: How do you change pilot's default view? [Re: TerribleTwo]  
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 6,795
TerribleTwo Online content
Hotshot
TerribleTwo  Online Content
Hotshot

Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 6,795
No, I need to move the FOV back a ways. The brackets are temporary and reset when you come back from F6 view, or start a new scenario.


"College graduates should not have to live out their 20s in their childhood bedrooms, staring up at fading Obama posters and wondering when they can move out and get going with life" - Paul Ryan
#4383789 - 10/08/17 02:25 AM Re: How do you change pilot's default view? [Re: TerribleTwo]  
Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 2,385
Banjoman Offline
Member
Banjoman  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 2,385
Antigua, Guatemala
Aren't there FOV settings in the Workshop?


Member and provider of banjo music for the Illustrious BOC
#4383794 - 10/08/17 06:29 AM Re: How do you change pilot's default view? [Re: TerribleTwo]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,123
JJJ65 Offline
Member
JJJ65  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,123
Czech Rep.
Just use the WOFF Multimod: WOFF UE Multimod
It is easy and intuitive. It allows to change pilot viewpoint forward or backward by desired amount (in percent).
Beside this, you can adjust more WOFF variables.
NOTE: to preserve your changes, pls, ensure the WOFF is not running when you save your selections in Multimod.

Last edited by JJJ65; 10/08/17 06:30 AM.
#4383808 - 10/08/17 10:54 AM Re: How do you change pilot's default view? [Re: TerribleTwo]  
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 6,795
TerribleTwo Online content
Hotshot
TerribleTwo  Online Content
Hotshot

Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 6,795
JJJ65, I tried the multimod as well. Neither works for me. I applied the changes, but no go. Default viewpoint not changed.

Is there a config file I can edit?

Last edited by TerribleTwo; 10/08/17 10:55 AM.

"College graduates should not have to live out their 20s in their childhood bedrooms, staring up at fading Obama posters and wondering when they can move out and get going with life" - Paul Ryan
#4383821 - 10/08/17 12:55 PM Re: How do you change pilot's default view? [Re: TerribleTwo]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,123
JJJ65 Offline
Member
JJJ65  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,123
Czech Rep.
Can you send me,pls, picture of your settings in Multimod as follows?
[Linked Image]

#4383830 - 10/08/17 02:09 PM Re: How do you change pilot's default view? [Re: TerribleTwo]  
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 6,795
TerribleTwo Online content
Hotshot
TerribleTwo  Online Content
Hotshot

Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 6,795
[Linked Image]


"College graduates should not have to live out their 20s in their childhood bedrooms, staring up at fading Obama posters and wondering when they can move out and get going with life" - Paul Ryan
#4383853 - 10/08/17 04:29 PM Re: How do you change pilot's default view? [Re: TerribleTwo]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,123
JJJ65 Offline
Member
JJJ65  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,123
Czech Rep.
Thx for picture. -50 percent and it does not work?!?
Hmm, I think WOFF (CFS3) does not support viewports less than -20%. Try to set your viewport settings in Multimod to -20% and check it in flight, pls.
Can you also locate your ViewUI.xml file at X:\Users\<USERNAME>\AppData\Roaming\OBD_Games\OBDWW1 Over Flanders Fields, open it in text editor and check the value "<VirtualCockpitView FovScale= " on the first line?
Thx.

Last edited by JJJ65; 10/08/17 04:33 PM.
#4383872 - 10/08/17 06:37 PM Re: How do you change pilot's default view? [Re: TerribleTwo]  
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 6,795
TerribleTwo Online content
Hotshot
TerribleTwo  Online Content
Hotshot

Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 6,795
1.5


"College graduates should not have to live out their 20s in their childhood bedrooms, staring up at fading Obama posters and wondering when they can move out and get going with life" - Paul Ryan
#4383876 - 10/08/17 07:03 PM Re: How do you change pilot's default view? [Re: TerribleTwo]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,123
JJJ65 Offline
Member
JJJ65  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,123
Czech Rep.
Thx, that is correct - value 1.5 means -50% back (50% zoom out).
Have you tried -20%?

#4383879 - 10/08/17 07:15 PM Re: How do you change pilot's default view? [Re: TerribleTwo]  
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 6,795
TerribleTwo Online content
Hotshot
TerribleTwo  Online Content
Hotshot

Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 6,795
Yes.

If I can use the bracket keys to zoom in and out, why can't I save the zoomed out view as default? Also, I can use CTRL-ENTER to move backwards as well. Those are the viewpoints I'd like to save as default.


"College graduates should not have to live out their 20s in their childhood bedrooms, staring up at fading Obama posters and wondering when they can move out and get going with life" - Paul Ryan
#4383881 - 10/08/17 07:19 PM Re: How do you change pilot's default view? [Re: TerribleTwo]  
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,044
Robert_Wiggins Offline
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Robert_Wiggins  Offline
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 6,044
Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
I thought the MultiMod would save the zoomed out view default for you, once you set it?
It sounds like you are saying that it doesn't work for you. Is that correct?


(System_Specs)
Case: Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Pwr Sup: OCZ, GameXStream,1000-Watt
MB: Asus Maximus VI Extreme
Mem: Corsair Vengeance (2x 8GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz, Unbuffered
CPU: Intel i7-4770K, OC to 4.427Ghz
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Seidon 240M Liquid CPU Cooler
Vid Card: ASUS GTX 980Ti STRIX 6GB
OS and Games on separate: Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD
Monitor: Samsung SyncMaster BX2450L
Periphs: MS Sidewinder FFB2 Pro, TrackIR 4

#4383977 - 10/09/17 10:44 AM Re: How do you change pilot's default view? [Re: TerribleTwo]  
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 6,795
TerribleTwo Online content
Hotshot
TerribleTwo  Online Content
Hotshot

Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 6,795
Yeah, there seems to be two ways to move the pilot aft in game... The use of the bracket keys to adjust the zoom (limited zoom ability), and the CTL-Enter to move the pilot aft (works better and you can move the pilot farther back).

The bracket keys cause a fisheye effect if the value is too high. I changed the xml file to 2.5 and got severe fisheye.

The Ctl-Enter function seems like it is less of a zoom and more like just sitting farther back in the seat. This is what I would like to save as default. Is it possible?

Last edited by TerribleTwo; 10/09/17 10:46 AM.

"College graduates should not have to live out their 20s in their childhood bedrooms, staring up at fading Obama posters and wondering when they can move out and get going with life" - Paul Ryan
#4384017 - 10/09/17 04:19 PM Re: How do you change pilot's default view? [Re: TerribleTwo]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,123
JJJ65 Offline
Member
JJJ65  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,123
Czech Rep.
Originally Posted by TerribleTwo
I changed the xml file to 2.5 and got severe fisheye.


Value 2.5 is far too much - 250% aft (unzoom) from standard position - something like sitting on aircraft tail.
Try with starting value of 1.2 and increment by 0.1 after each test.

Last edited by JJJ65; 10/09/17 05:44 PM.

Moderated by  Polovski, Sandbagger 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
What a difference the correct language makes
by PanzerMeyer. 10/23/17 04:40 PM
Japanese Carpentry
by F4UDash4. 10/23/17 04:09 PM
Bernie Madoff seeks redemption
by Ssnake. 10/23/17 06:53 AM
Tom & Jerry live orchestra
by Blade_RJ. 10/22/17 06:16 PM
Mafia now on GOG
by WangoTango. 10/21/17 05:38 PM
Parental discretion is advised
by U-96. 10/20/17 11:07 PM
Endeavour, the whole story
by Mad Max. 10/20/17 10:23 PM
Chinese construction
by KraziKanuK. 10/19/17 11:08 PM
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0