Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#4322936 - 12/24/16 10:21 AM Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry  
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 55
Tcklbrry Offline
Junior Member
Tcklbrry  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 55
Czech Republic
Hi all,
you can try "Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry" version 2.0 beta.

DOWNLOAD LINK:
obsolete - I am preparing a new version

I wish merry christmas and happy new year 2017 to all!

Last edited by Tcklbrry; 01/15/17 08:17 AM.
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4323373 - 12/26/16 07:26 AM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 440
tirta Offline
Member
tirta  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 440
thanks Tcklbrry for the new version.

however. last time I try to install your mod,
I get "file not found" error msg instead.
http://SimHQ.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/topics/4301587/Re:_Jane's_USAF_on_Windows_7_6#Post4301587

have you fixed the error?

#4323375 - 12/26/16 08:04 AM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 55
Tcklbrry Offline
Junior Member
Tcklbrry  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 55
Czech Republic
@tirta:
It is the patch for "Jane's USAF" version 1.02F. First, you must install Jane's USAF from CD, then patch 1.02F and then "Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry" version 2.0 beta. Do you have a screenshot from error msg?

Last edited by Tcklbrry; 12/26/16 07:29 PM.
#4323435 - 12/26/16 03:01 PM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 6
R72G Offline
Junior Member
R72G  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 6
Found a bug in this version, the sounds are barely audible. Master volume slider set to minimum in the options menu but audio settings in the options menu can't be saved.

Last edited by R72G; 12/26/16 03:01 PM.
#4323468 - 12/26/16 04:50 PM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 55
Tcklbrry Offline
Junior Member
Tcklbrry  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 55
Czech Republic
@R72G:
Thx, I am working on some improvements yet. smile

#4326343 - 01/06/17 01:52 AM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 460
Viper1970 Online smile
Member
Viper1970  Online Smile
Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 460
Bavaria, near Munich
Hello Tcklbrry,

great to hear that you are still working at the USAF Win7 Fix!!! Did you also have made something new for the good old IAF? I love this old sim too. Have downloaded your fixes for it at GulfKnights forum long time ago, but couldn't find them anymore on my HD. Many thanks for your outstanding work to keep those flightsim icons alive!!

The old Janes series is still one of my favorite. Sadly there are no good solutions for the Longbow Anthology to get it running with W7 64.

I have extra made a second PC with Win98 SE for my homepit to play those old sims, too. This machine has a dualcore AMD 3Ghz and an Geforce GT 6800 AGP in conjunction with an old Voodoo SLI. It's the biggest system I could get W98 SE running on. It's also possible to use nGlide on W98 SE (it's not meant to run on it, but it does perfectly), this way you could benefit from the higher resolutions nGlide makes possible for eg. in Janes F-15 or Longbow. Looks really nice this way. For dogged simulations like the old Digital Integration Front Line Fighters or the Novalogic F-22 Lightning 3, F-16 and Mig-29, which did'nt like nGlide as much (graphical glitches) I use the old voodoo system. For the good old Comanche Gold, thankfully a lot of Graphic Mods exist.

Hope someone, someday could make something like a Win98Box for running those old sims. But I think Microsoft didn't like this idea, otherwise such a solution would certainly exist.

#4338010 - 02/16/17 06:09 PM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Mar 2016
Posts: 6
md70 Offline
Junior Member
md70  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2016
Posts: 6
hi @Tcklbrry

waiting for your new patch

thx

#4338759 - 02/19/17 11:55 AM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 55
Tcklbrry Offline
Junior Member
Tcklbrry  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 55
Czech Republic
Hi @md70,
I have a lot work now, but I will be upload some patch how it will be possible. smile

#4341608 - 03/02/17 11:54 PM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 256
baltika Offline
Member
baltika  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 256
Scotland
Hi Tcklbrry,

Thanks for keeping these great old sims/games running!

I'm looking forward to your latest patch.

Slainthe! (Cheers in Scots!)

Baltika

#4378933 - 09/11/17 10:10 AM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 9
Artur255 Offline
Junior Member
Artur255  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 9
Gentlemen, can anyone reload the patch?

While the new version did not come out.

#4380155 - 09/18/17 08:05 PM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 460
Viper1970 Online smile
Member
Viper1970  Online Smile
Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 460
Bavaria, near Munich
There is a link at moddb.com I've found. It's for USAF, IAF and FA but I don't believe that those are the latest versions. Maybe Tackleberry himself can answer this?

#4381334 - 09/25/17 08:12 PM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 55
Tcklbrry Offline
Junior Member
Tcklbrry  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 55
Czech Republic
Hi,
download link: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B2q4qAeNdhnrcjFwTVJNY18wNHM/view?usp=sharing

It is just patch included newest version of dgVoodoo. It is not mod. There is two version of exe files in base folder. "USAF.exe" for windowed mode and "USAF.fs.exe" for fullscreen(but menu is in window).

#4381339 - 09/25/17 08:19 PM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 55
Tcklbrry Offline
Junior Member
Tcklbrry  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 55
Czech Republic
Tip: You can try ReShade 3.0.8 to enhance graphics.

#4381506 - 09/26/17 05:17 PM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 9
Artur255 Offline
Junior Member
Artur255  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 9
whoohoo

#4382078 - 09/29/17 02:32 PM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 460
Viper1970 Online smile
Member
Viper1970  Online Smile
Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 460
Bavaria, near Munich
Hello Tackleberry,

many thanks for the new downloads. Still love the good old Janes USAF. Have you also made something new for IAF?

I made a retro machine in particular for my homepit to be able to fly those old sims, too (if the whole pit even ever gets finished biggrin )

P.S:

Totally forgotten the reason I asked. At the moment I'm dealing with the idea to run only one system, because it's easier to connect to the pit, but I will still be able to fly my beloved Janes simualtions. For USAF and IAF your patches are superb, for F-18 you could use TSH, I only need another solution for F-15 and Longbow Anthology.

I had nGlide in mind for this but I have tested it two years ago with Win7 64Bit and the results weren't very good at all. Curiously it runs perfect at Win ME with the use of nGlide for higher 3DFX resolutions (nGlide is able to work with this OS also).

Last edited by Viper1970; 09/29/17 03:34 PM.
#4382159 - 09/29/17 10:50 PM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 256
baltika Offline
Member
baltika  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 256
Scotland
Hi Tcklbrry,

Thanks for all your work on the Jane's flight sims, it is much appreciated.

Slainthe!

Baltika

#4382210 - 09/30/17 07:48 AM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 55
Tcklbrry Offline
Junior Member
Tcklbrry  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 55
Czech Republic
Hi baltika,
I would like to do more for Jane's USAF, but it is DirectX 6 game and without source code I am not able to do more. frown I am not good hacker. biggrin Best thing would be reworked Jane's USAF engine based on DirectX 9 or DirectX 11.

#4382213 - 09/30/17 09:00 AM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 9
Artur255 Offline
Junior Member
Artur255  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 9
Gentlemen, can someone quit this? Super Pro Utilities Suite Setup v1.1.exe

Tcklbrry, thank you, for your hard work !!!

#4382380 - 10/01/17 04:53 PM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 55
Tcklbrry Offline
Junior Member
Tcklbrry  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 55
Czech Republic
Do you prefer better terrain visibility with one layer terrain streaming or less terrain visibility with more layer terrain streaming? I know best thing is better terrain visibility with one layer terrain streaming and high resolution textures in this layer but I do not know if it is possible.

#4382508 - 10/02/17 01:30 PM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Oct 2015
Posts: 4
SignorMagnifico Offline
Junior Member
SignorMagnifico  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Oct 2015
Posts: 4
Hello, Tcklbrry. Thank you for your hard work in making Jane's USAF run on modern systems.

Unfortunately, I am having some issues running the game. (Not the enhanced version.) Basically, I am unable to taxi because the aircraft wobbles up and down and tips on either wing even when traveling at 5 mph. I have tried an older version of your patch, which is currently on ModDB, and I have the same problem when taxiing. (The old version has the single core .bat file.) However, in that version the terrain has transparent patches. With your current version, (which has dgvoodoo2 included), the terrain renders correctly, and I have the same problem when taxiing. I tried limiting the application to run on a single core with process lasso, but it had no effect. I also tried limiting my FPS to 45, and that did not solve the problem, either. I was wondering if you had any suggestions on how to fix the taxi bug? I read somewhere that faster processors caused this only a couple of years after the game was released.

Also, I have been unable to run the enhanced version at all. The application crashes when trying to start a flight. The only two versions that work for me are your unenhanced version with dgvoodoo and the older version currently on ModDB. I am running this on a modern system (Windows 10).

Edit: Nevermind, I fixed the taxiing problem by limiting the FPS to 30. It appears that USAF does not like to run faster than that. I also managed to get enhancedv4 working by deleting the Reshade folder.

Last edited by SignorMagnifico; 10/02/17 09:56 PM. Reason: Update on issue.
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Local idioms and vernacular
by PanzerMeyer. 11/22/17 07:12 PM
How to avoid the Flu
by Bill_Grant. 11/22/17 02:47 PM
@MarkG, request for your TAW utilities
by HomeFries. 11/22/17 12:44 PM
Flight sim - wouldn't it be nice ?
by Sluggish Controls. 11/22/17 05:01 AM
Timothy, you in this video?
by KraziKanuK. 11/21/17 11:47 PM
Joke: The Confession
by Pooch. 11/21/17 07:41 PM
How Marines Recover a Lost Cell Phone
by Arthonon. 11/21/17 04:34 PM
Finally dead... Charles Manson
by Raw Kryptonite. 11/20/17 11:47 PM
Geostorm
by DM. 11/20/17 10:52 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0