Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3
#4372867 - 08/05/17 10:13 AM Re: Second Hornet Familiarization Video Released [Re: *Striker*]  
WinterH Offline
WinterH  Offline

There are many reasons to criticize ED, or even to give up on DCS for a while, perhaps even for good. But to be fair, "why is release of X module taking so long" doesn't really count among them in my opinion. Yes, it is frustrating, I got frustrated a few times for it myself, but if I look at it with a cool head, it is what it is, and it takes as long as it takes.

I am a coder too, but it is slowly progressing from "I am" to "I was", as I am not doing it full time anymore. But I do know how development goes, and even with years of experience, it is very hard to come up with a halfway accurate estimation, more so as the project gets more complex. In a sense, longer it takes the better, when it comes to DCS modules, because the earlier it is released, the further away it tends to be from the real thing, or at least a stable product. Hearsay has it, that the Hornet may release into early access first with air to air and unguided air to ground weapons, with advanced weapons being added with patches. That's just hearsay but, I hope it is not true. Mirage 2000 was not even worthy of Alpha title when it was first released in my opinion. The modules that took their time before the release, were all in a much more enjoyable state when they came.

Screenshots that look "complete" does not show us anything about progress, aside from the visual aspect of thing, but even then, for sake of a promotional screenshot a non-complete thing maybe hacked together to "looking good" state, and then re-done.