Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
#4357375 - 05/14/17 11:19 PM Re: Anti Virus [Re: bones]  
Tazz Offline
Tazz  Offline

Wellington, NZ
I've been using ESET NOD32 for many years now... very light weight, effective and also has gaming mode to further reduce any load on the system during gaming. However I never use it as I haven't experienced any FPS drops or performance issues due to NOD32.

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4357403 - 05/15/17 08:48 AM Re: Anti Virus [Re: bones]  
Catfish Offline
Catfish  Offline

Where the ocean meets the sky
On Win 10 MS successor of 'Defender' (built-in free 'Ms security essentials') here, and Kaspersky small bus. on Win 2008 r2/Win7 server system. Then only Malwarebytes and anti-ransomware trial version.

#4357486 - 05/15/17 04:45 PM Re: Anti Virus [Re: bones]  
bones Offline
Hotshot
bones  Offline
Hotshot

Earth
Thanks guys. Adorante, that is so me very interesting stuff.

So I should just be checking if Win7 has Security Essentials updated Is Security Essentials the actual AV? Does Avast or even Malwarebytes get in the way of Security Essentials?

v6,
boNes

"Also, I would prefer a back seater over the extra gas any day. I would have 80 pounds of flesh to eat and a pair of glasses to start a fire." --F/A-18 Hornet pilot
#4357503 - 05/15/17 05:38 PM Re: Anti Virus [Re: bones]  
rwatson Offline
Hotshot
rwatson  Offline
Hotshot

New Concord, Ohio
bones security essentials will just install the AV and block the other part I forgot the name and it can be set to update the definitions at start ,,Give it a trial ..Heck it's free and you can always uninstall it..It is a good post from Andorante,,I use that and Malwarebytes free never had any troubles

Russ
Semper Fi
#4357565 - 05/16/17 01:31 AM Re: Anti Virus [Re: bones]  
ADorante Offline
ADorante  Offline

I'm heavily advocating here for MS AV solutions instead of 3rd party AV products, but I have to put it into perspective: