Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4351313 - 04/15/17 04:33 PM Windows 10 creators update  
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,327
dutch Offline
Member
dutch  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,327
EURO-zone
Like to know any good or bad WOFF UI experience after updating to the Win10-64 creators update.

#4355669 - 05/06/17 07:33 AM Re: Windows 10 creators update [Re: dutch]  
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,327
dutch Offline
Member
dutch  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,327
EURO-zone
Explains all I think,

#4355686 - 05/06/17 11:31 AM Re: Windows 10 creators update [Re: dutch]  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 1,448
Panama Red Offline
Member
Panama Red  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 1,448
Irmo, SC, USA
Sounds like M$'s latest version of modern "snake oil". nope

This also falls in line with all the other articles I have read about "Game Mode" that say that this does little if not make things worse for your games. cuss

#4355735 - 05/06/17 04:49 PM Re: Windows 10 creators update [Re: dutch]  
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 5,529
Polovski Offline
Polovski  Offline

Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 5,529
From what we have seen it seems many issues that MS fixed in Windows 10 along the way with updates, they broke again with this update. Several annoying bugs are back in there, very odd for a large software company with their massive resources to have a major update team working on this, whilst not incorporating fixes already made by another team into their code along the way. That's how it seems anyway.

Nice bug when copying and pasting files into a window, and nothing happens. Only to find the file replace prompt is hidden behind your window.
Hardware bugs where it doesn't detect some hardware at boot (microphones, joysticks, etc) and many others I could bore you with.

I have seen nothing of the game mode so far so as Panama says it may be snake oil?

Last edited by Polovski; 05/06/17 04:50 PM.

Regards,

Polovski,
OBD Software, developers of the fabulously immersive
"WINGS: Over Flanders Fields" WW1 Sim.
http://www.overflandersfields.com
#4357520 - 05/15/17 07:50 PM Re: Windows 10 creators update [Re: dutch]  
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,327
dutch Offline
Member
dutch  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,327
EURO-zone
It will become worser for us as Woff'ers running this GM on a single core game: game mode tested
Intresting is that, while other sites only test for FPS, this site also included the CPU load.

Last edited by dutch; 05/15/17 08:07 PM.
#4357564 - 05/16/17 01:26 AM Re: Windows 10 creators update [Re: dutch]  
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,849
MajorMagee Offline
Member
MajorMagee  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,849
Dayton, OH
I don't know about WIn 10 Game Mode, but I do know that between Process Lasso Pro, and AnKor's 2017 shader updates, I'm able to run on three out of my four cores now. So much for it being limited to a "single core game".


Service To The Line,
On The Line,
On Time

US Army Ordnance Corps.
#4357572 - 05/16/17 02:06 AM Re: Windows 10 creators update [Re: dutch]  
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 40
stljeffbb Offline
Junior Member
stljeffbb  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 40
Wisconsin USA
OK I'll bite: MajorMagee, do you use the paid version or free version of Process Lasso Pro? Have you noticed a big difference in performance? Also, are things like "microstutter" fixed or made better?

Thanks,

Jeff

#4357592 - 05/16/17 05:28 AM Re: Windows 10 creators update [Re: dutch]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 988
JJJ65 Online cool
Member
JJJ65  Online Cool
Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 988
Czech Rep.
One of big reasons I am resisting Windows 10.
Do not even speaking about older software compatibility.

#4357625 - 05/16/17 11:42 AM Re: Windows 10 creators update [Re: dutch]  
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,849
MajorMagee Offline
Member
MajorMagee  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,849
Dayton, OH
I've been using the pay once for all time version for many years now. It became a requirement when a computer change moved me from an Intel 2 Core CPU to an AMD 4 Core CPU. The program would start, but as you started to fly in game it would lock up because of core thread conflicts. Using Process Lasso was the only way to reliable block at lest two of the cores from being used so CFS3/OFF would work. It also brought the ability to run in Process Lasso's game mode where the simulation runs with elevated priority over background processes (including TrackIR, and EVGA Precision that are restricted to their own Core).

It was only late last year with AnKor's revised code that he addressed some of the CPU utilization issues, and I started actively testing the performance again. It was during the 2017 changes that I discovered that I could get the game to run on three cores at the same time successfully now (1-3, but not 0). I've rebalanced my level of detail and GPU settings so the three cores run heavily loaded, but not quite maxed out to prevent them falling behind the display rate to prevent micro-stutter because of waiting for the CPU to finish a frame. I also moved to a 3440x1440 G Sync monitor about a year ago to let me go above 60 fps without tearing, and I can get a smooth 70-90 FPS out of my 3.8 GHz processor unless I'm low over an airfield where it drops to 45-60.

The practical effect is that the initial stuttering from loading new objects still exists (I don't have an SSD or a particularly fast buss on the Mother Board), but after that it's typically gone.


Service To The Line,
On The Line,
On Time

US Army Ordnance Corps.
#4357703 - 05/16/17 06:18 PM Re: Windows 10 creators update [Re: dutch]  
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,327
dutch Offline
Member
dutch  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,327
EURO-zone
Are you saying you could not set CFS3.exe to 3 core exclusief but only to 2 cores and after Ankor shader, think that was implementated in Woff UE, you could set the affinity to 3 cores.
Or did you noticed that by setting the affinity the CFS3.exe is spreading to 3 cores now.

In my case I noticed when setting the affinity from CFS3.exe to 3 cores (exclusief) the load was spreading to 2 cores mainly. That time I did run the 4.12 and a AMD HD7970-3gb. Right now, same affinity adjustments only difference is the new nVidia 1080 and the 4.15 update the core load stays to one core. It does not spread the load any more, 2 core below 10% and one core 90-100% and these cores are setbexclusief to CFS3.exe only.
So in this case something is keeping CFS3.exe to one core, the nvidia drivers or the Woff 4.15 update.

Btw I'm not installed that new Windows creators crap.

#4357742 - 05/16/17 10:39 PM Re: Windows 10 creators update [Re: dutch]  
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,849
MajorMagee Offline
Member
MajorMagee  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,849
Dayton, OH
Until this year, if I tried to set affinities to use more than 2 cores it would lock up.

I just did some testing and found that the load was spread evenly some of the time, and was biased primarily onto one core at other times. This applied to both WOFF and CFS3. At one point in the testing I thought it had to do with being in the cockpit view or not, but even that tendency wasn't always the case, as I found the reverse to be true at lest once.


Service To The Line,
On The Line,
On Time

US Army Ordnance Corps.

Moderated by  Polovski, Sandbagger 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
AirBus E-Fan
by LB4LB. 05/25/17 05:59 PM
FROST for Fallout 4
by OldHat. 05/24/17 05:37 PM
Having a bad morning - Joke
by Bill_Grant. 05/24/17 05:02 PM
Another "burn in hell, Steam" thread from me ;)
by RSColonel_131st. 05/24/17 03:05 PM
Prey - New scifi shooter from Arkane
by PanzerMeyer. 05/24/17 10:37 AM
Guts vs Skill
by KRT_Bong. 05/24/17 05:49 AM
RIP Roger Moore
by PanzerMeyer. 05/23/17 01:38 PM
Far Cry 5
by Bib4Tuna. 05/22/17 07:50 PM
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0