Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#4346275 - 03/23/17 01:20 PM Question for Non native English Speakers  
Ant Offline
Ant  Offline

North East, UK
Just wondering how you learnt English and what was the most effective thing you did to learn it? There are an awful lot of non Native English speakers on the internet and I'm always impressed at how well they speak/write English. I've been learning French for a couple of years and now I'm getting a little frustrated as I seem to be stuck at an intermediate level and I'm not really sure what to concentrate on to improve efficiently.

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4346282 - 03/23/17 01:30 PM Re: Question for Non native English Speakers [Re: Ant]  
PanzerMeyer Offline
Pro-Consul of Florida
PanzerMeyer  Offline
Pro-Consul of Florida
King Crimson - SimHQ's Top Poster

Miami, FL USA
Originally Posted by Ant
I've been learning French for a couple of years and now I'm getting a little frustrated as I seem to be stuck at an intermediate level and I'm not really sure what to concentrate on to improve efficiently.

In my opinion, you will really never learn another language unless you immerse yourself with native speakers for at least a few months. I took 4 years of German when I was in high school and college and I actually had a pretty decent conversational ability UNTIL I graduated from college and thus had no native speakers to continue learning the language. I can still read German a bit now but my conversational skills have really diminished.

“Whoever fights monsters should see to it that in the process he does not become a monster. And if you gaze long enough into an abyss, the abyss will gaze back into you.”
#4346285 - 03/23/17 01:36 PM Re: Question for Non native English Speakers [Re: PanzerMeyer]  
Ant Offline
Ant  Offline

North East, UK
Originally Posted by PanzerMeyer
Originally Posted by Ant