Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4337826 - 02/16/17 09:01 AM Escadrille Américaine Verbose Mod  
The_3rd_Guru Offline
The_3rd_Guru  Offline

Tokyo
I'm really excited to offer my first (and probably only) modification to Wings Over Flanders Fields!

I am no visual artist, nor am I a programmer. I cannot offer to significantly change anything meaningful in this sim. However, I am a writer, and this is what I do best.

When I first heard about the incredible immersion of Wings Over Flanders Fields, I rushed to experience this. However, I soon realized that all of this immersion is of a technical nature. When you are flying, the immersion is fantastic. And a lot of other technical things are wonderful like being able to make claims and so on in the campaign. The writing in the sim, on the other hand, is definitely serviceable, but it's not exactly inspiring. I began to imagine much more dynamic and immersive writing that could really pull you into the world of the sim much like a game like the fantastic Fallen London does with its imaginatively written prose.

Now I love the Escadrille Américaine, and I really wanted to believe that when I looked over at the fellow pilots in my squadron, that I was seeing real people with real personalities and real hopes and fears. But this aspect isn't really communicated anywhere in the sim. This, sadly, was missing, and I began to imagine ways of adding this.

I then noticed that in the campaign you can read the biographies of some of the pilots. There was only one biography for the Escadrille Américaine while all the others were just blank. I thought maybe I could add biographies for everyone. When I started, though, I was really bored writing just straight biographies, and then it hit me that this was my chance to flesh out my squadron mates! I started to envision my fellow pilots talking to me about their lives in their own unique voices, and in the process I could really get to know them better.