Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4329062 - 01/17/17 01:59 PM A lot has changed and I need some help  
JG19_Leaf Offline
JG19_Leaf  Offline

UK
Hello everyone,

Hope you are all well. I'm new to the forum, but I'm glad OFF is still very much alive!

A little about me: I first bought and flew OFF Phase 3 when I was 12, and it gave me some of the happiest memories I have when it comes to gaming. Frustrating though it was at times, I learned to love it.
Over time I then switched to Rise of Flight, took a hiatus and have been flying IL2 Battle of Stalingrad the last three years.
I'm now a student, and recently remembered that amazing theme that OFF had. In a spark of nostalgia and happy memories I tried installing OFF Phase 3 again and was met with the game crashing.

So here's where I need your help:

a.) I keep getting an error message when I try to start any mission saying I need to insert my CFS3 CD (which I have), that stops me from actually flying again. Tried running CFS3 in compatibility mode, but that didn't work either. Any ideas on how to rectify it? Running Windows 10 on a mid to high-end rig.

b.) Help me understand what's happened to OFF in the last 8 years or so. Has all support for the original Phases been dropped?

c.) What is the current state of Wings over Flanders Fields? Considering I loved Phase 3, is it worth the investement? And how is it different?

All the best,
Leaf

Last edited by JG19_Leaf; 01/17/17 02:00 PM.
#4329084 - 01/17/17 02:59 PM Re: A lot has changed and I need some help [Re: JG19_Leaf]  
Hellshade Offline
Hellshade
Hellshade  Offline
Hellshade

Florida
Welcome back JG!

A LOT has changed in the last 8 years. Far too much for anyone to put in a post without becoming a word wall that rivals the Great Wall of China. You can read some of the details here:

http://wingsoverflandersfields.com/products.html