Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
#4326514 - 01/06/17 10:39 PM Re: NY Times > trucks in Texas [Re: KraziKanuK]  
Coot Offline
Pilgrim
Coot  Offline
Pilgrim
Veteran

These United States of America
As for why people who own trucks but then don't use them for their "assumed" purpose I don't know. One would have to ask them. As RK said though often times they make for a really comfortable ride plain and simple.

I've always appreciated their extra visibility with the small cab and rear window to be able to see through myself.
When I was a tire tech I worked with a guy named Tony for five years. Tony was a 20 year Army vet in his 50s and 60s still mounting tires for a living for fifteen years. He's a simple man with simple needs. He owns a black, 2003 F-150. That's his only vehicle and his "baby" so to speak. He drives it because he likes trucks. He has simpler needs for he and his wife. A simple man with simple needs, his truck is his pride and joy and his hobby. He loves spending his very little personal time working on his truck, keeping it running right, fixing problems, ordering and installing replacement parts and washing it, changing the oil himself and so on. That's what he likes to do. It brings him enjoyment and satisfaction in maintaining it and taking pride in it. That's his therapy.

John 10:1-30
Romans 10:1-13

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4326530 - 01/06/17 11:58 PM Re: NY Times > trucks in Texas [Re: KraziKanuK]  
Ssnake Offline
Virtual Shiva Beast
Ssnake  Offline
Virtual Shiva Beast
Hotshot

Germoney
The choice of car is as much a matter of functional requirements as it is an expression of identity. Car makers know very well that the decision "this is my car" is rarely a rational one. The irony is that people who are otherwise extremely aware of identity politics in other places cannot recognize it when it stares them in the eye, just from an unexpected angle.

#4326924 - 01/08/17 05:52 PM Re: NY Times > trucks in Texas [Re: KraziKanuK]  
Dart Offline