Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4271879 - 06/20/16 08:01 PM Airco DH.2 Tips for a beginner?  
Mortuus Offline
Mortuus  Offline

Ottawa, ON
Hey folks,

This is both an introduction and a plea for help, I think. I recently started playing WoFF, and the only other flight sim I have a respectable amount of time in is RoF, although I could hardly be called great at either.

Anyway, I've started a mid-1916 career in which I am flying the DH.2, and I've been having some trouble with the kite. Once I get up around 10,000 feet, I can't keep up enough airspeed to maintain altitude, and end up falling further and further below my flight unless I turn on the AI pilot. I assume there's some engine mismanagement on my part causing this, but can't for the life of me figure out.

I've also been having trouble in combat, probably because the DH2 is so different from the Pup I favoured previously. I figure this is just a matter of getting used to the plane, but any tips would be appreciated- the plane seems pretty stall-happy, especially in a turn. I think it's being cause by excessive AoA on the wings when I roll, but I'm not certain. If I'm right, is there a better way to make a relatively tight turn? Thus far, fights seem to involve me manoeuvring, stalling, recovering, and then finding the Boche even more solidly on my tail then before.

Thanks very much for any help you can provide,

-CM

#4271889 - 06/20/16 08:35 PM Re: Airco DH.2 Tips for a beginner? [Re: Mortuus]  
Stache Offline
Stache  Offline

Michigan, USA
Hi Mortuus,

Welcome, glad to have you join us.
What version of WOFF are you on.

Though I have never flown the DH2, I would suspect mixture Control which is set to manual control by default in the settings.

I would set that to Auto and see if it helps.
(I am assuming the DH2 uses mixture control.)

Too much rudder in turns can cause a loss of speed while turning, leading to stalling.