Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
#4257782 - 05/08/16 10:53 AM Re: Show off your Rig [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 6,739
Olham Offline
Barmy Baron from Berlin
Olham  Offline
Barmy Baron from Berlin
Hotshot

Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 6,739
Originally Posted By: DukeIronHand
...I have to ask: Whats up with the toilet brush?

Haha! Isn't that a dust brush rather?


Vice-President of the BOC (Barmy OFFers Club)
Member of the 'Albatros Aviators Club' - "We know how to die with Style!"
#4257787 - 05/08/16 11:10 AM Re: Show off your Rig [Re: Alpenman]  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 6,465
DukeIronHand Online grunt
Hotshot
DukeIronHand  Online Grunt
Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 6,465
High over the Front
Okay we will call it a...uhh..."dust brush" then but I hope it is, at least, new!

#4293871 - 09/06/16 03:27 AM Re: Show off your Rig [Re: Alpenman]  
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 419
Stache Online content
Member
Stache  Online Content
Member

Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 419
Michigan, USA
I now have a center mount joystick (instead of the side mounted.)



Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. A. Einstein

Click to reveal.. (System Specs:)

I7-6700k OC 4.4GHZ, 16GB DDR4 3200Mhz; Gigabyte Gaming 7 MB, G1 OC'ed GTX980ti; Acer XB271HU WQHD Gsync 144Mhz; Samsung 950-512GB NVMe SSD; WD 2TB-7200rpm; Cooler Master HAF XB EVO, Nepton 240M cooler, V1000 PS; Windows 10 PRO; T-16000M Stick; Saitek Pro Flight Pedals, Throttle Quadrant; Dual TM MFD panels; TrackIR 5; home grown cockpit, la RogerDodger.net
#4293950 - 09/06/16 03:07 PM Re: Show off your Rig [Re: Alpenman]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 128
Mr_Dirt Offline
Member
Mr_Dirt  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 128
Missouri USA
Lou where is the throttle handle made with a half of a pair of pliers. I do not see it there! It must be in a special place inside your museum that you have there. I remeber when you made that throttle a while back.

#4308402 - 11/02/16 06:54 PM Re: Show off your Rig [Re: Alpenman]  
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 5,513
Sandbagger Offline
Forums Moderator
Sandbagger  Offline
Forums Moderator
Hotshot

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 5,513
Coningsby, Lincs, UK
Hi all,
Just got my new rig for WOFF up and running. Thought you might want to see it.



RAF 'old and bold' (27 years)

User Mods download page:
http://www.thatoneplease.co/indexWOFF.html

Alienware Aurora R5
Windows 10 64 bit
Intel i7-6700K 4.2Ghz (liquid cooled)
Two GTX 1080 Foundations in SLI (8 Gig each)
32 Gig DDR4 2133Mhz
1TB SSD boot drive - 1TB SATA storage drive
5.1 Surround Sound
34" Dell Ultra Sharp U3415W (3440x 2440)
CH Pro-Pedals, Stick and Throttle
TrackIR-5 Pro
#4308406 - 11/02/16 06:56 PM Re: Show off your Rig [Re: Alpenman]  
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,292
dutch Offline
Member
dutch  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,292
EURO-zone
Sandbagger how does Woff run on TWO GTX1080 Vcards?

#4308407 - 11/02/16 06:57 PM Re: Show off your Rig [Re: Sandbagger]  
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 5,513
Sandbagger Offline
Forums Moderator
Sandbagger  Offline
Forums Moderator
Hotshot

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 5,513
Coningsby, Lincs, UK
In case you're wondering what I use the big screen for driving



RAF 'old and bold' (27 years)

User Mods download page:
http://www.thatoneplease.co/indexWOFF.html

Alienware Aurora R5
Windows 10 64 bit
Intel i7-6700K 4.2Ghz (liquid cooled)
Two GTX 1080 Foundations in SLI (8 Gig each)
32 Gig DDR4 2133Mhz
1TB SSD boot drive - 1TB SATA storage drive
5.1 Surround Sound
34" Dell Ultra Sharp U3415W (3440x 2440)
CH Pro-Pedals, Stick and Throttle
TrackIR-5 Pro
#4308409 - 11/02/16 06:59 PM Re: Show off your Rig [Re: dutch]  
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 5,513
Sandbagger Offline
Forums Moderator
Sandbagger  Offline
Forums Moderator
Hotshot

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 5,513
Coningsby, Lincs, UK
Hi Dutch,
As you'd expect it runs very well, but I think the monitor refresh rate limits it to rock solid 60 FPS with everything max'd out.
Sat close to the curved screen adds much to the immersion of WOFF yep


RAF 'old and bold' (27 years)

User Mods download page:
http://www.thatoneplease.co/indexWOFF.html

Alienware Aurora R5
Windows 10 64 bit
Intel i7-6700K 4.2Ghz (liquid cooled)
Two GTX 1080 Foundations in SLI (8 Gig each)
32 Gig DDR4 2133Mhz
1TB SSD boot drive - 1TB SATA storage drive
5.1 Surround Sound
34" Dell Ultra Sharp U3415W (3440x 2440)
CH Pro-Pedals, Stick and Throttle
TrackIR-5 Pro
#4308440 - 11/02/16 07:33 PM Re: Show off your Rig [Re: Alpenman]  
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,207
Adger Online smile
Member
Adger  Online Smile
Member

Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,207
Stoke..UK
That is one brilliant setup Sandbagger..next stop a 144hz GSync monitor biggrin

Can you imagine WOFF UE running at a smooth 144fps. Awesome


"Vis unita fortior"

"United Strength is Stronger"
#4324844 - 12/31/16 12:45 PM Re: Show off your Rig [Re: Alpenman]  
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 242
Lausbub78 Offline
Member
Lausbub78  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 242
Here is what I use,I admit it looks a bit modern for just flying WoFF. But I like to fly other sims aswell. It is still missing a second screen in the center dashboard though.


#4324852 - 12/31/16 01:13 PM Re: Show off your Rig [Re: Alpenman]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 2,618
RAF_Louvert Offline
BOC President; Pilot Extraordinaire; Humble Man
RAF_Louvert  Offline
BOC President; Pilot Extraordinaire; Humble Man
Senior Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 2,618
L'Etoile du Nord
.

Holy schnikee! Lausbub78 your set-up, and for that matter Sanbagger's as well, are phenomenal. So cutting edge.

.


[Linked Image]

Three RFC Brass Hats were strolling down a street in London. Two walked into a bar, the third one ducked.
_________________________________________________________________________

Former Cold War Warrior, USAF Security Service 1974-1978, E-4, Morse Systems Intercept, England, Europe, and points above.
"pippy-pahpah-pippy pah-pip-pah"

#4324876 - 12/31/16 02:42 PM Re: Show off your Rig [Re: Alpenman]  
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 419
Stache Online content
Member
Stache  Online Content
Member

Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 419
Michigan, USA
Yes Lausbub78 that is an impressive setup.
I've been toying with the idea of getting into custom panels.


Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. A. Einstein

Click to reveal.. (System Specs:)

I7-6700k OC 4.4GHZ, 16GB DDR4 3200Mhz; Gigabyte Gaming 7 MB, G1 OC'ed GTX980ti; Acer XB271HU WQHD Gsync 144Mhz; Samsung 950-512GB NVMe SSD; WD 2TB-7200rpm; Cooler Master HAF XB EVO, Nepton 240M cooler, V1000 PS; Windows 10 PRO; T-16000M Stick; Saitek Pro Flight Pedals, Throttle Quadrant; Dual TM MFD panels; TrackIR 5; home grown cockpit, la RogerDodger.net
#4324882 - 12/31/16 03:24 PM Re: Show off your Rig [Re: Alpenman]  
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 242
Lausbub78 Offline
Member
Lausbub78  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 242
Thanks guys. Been a long way till I got there. The Throttle was the last part I added,after a long search for something that would fit my needs.

Stache, I use three Leo Bodnar controller boards,the throttle quadrant runs on one of them. Those boards are pretty much straight forward and easy to use. There are also versions where you don't need to solder anything. Except for soldering wiring to switches,but not to the board itself. They use push-in conectors. Hardest part was to find a good layout for the buttons and switches.

Edit: I forgot to mention,that for WoFF a controller needs atleast a X and Y axis. Otherwise it will no be seen as controller by the sim. Every other sim works without problems. I saw you are using Thrustmaster MFD's,I guess they don't work too in WoFF and you need to program them in TARGET to use key inputs?

Last edited by Lausbub78; 12/31/16 03:35 PM.
#4324950 - 12/31/16 07:54 PM Re: Show off your Rig [Re: Alpenman]  
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 419
Stache Online content
Member
Stache  Online Content
Member

Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 419
Michigan, USA
Yeah I have heard a lot about the Bodnar boards.

That is correct I use Target to define the key inputs.
Even if the would work - using Target makes more sense, easier to just use standard mappings for sims and have different Target scripts for each.

For Christmas I got a little screen to put behind a MFD.
I plan to program some graphics so I have it apply to WOFF and then change for other sims, rather than changing the slide in preprinted card.
Will see how far I get...


Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. A. Einstein

Click to reveal.. (System Specs:)

I7-6700k OC 4.4GHZ, 16GB DDR4 3200Mhz; Gigabyte Gaming 7 MB, G1 OC'ed GTX980ti; Acer XB271HU WQHD Gsync 144Mhz; Samsung 950-512GB NVMe SSD; WD 2TB-7200rpm; Cooler Master HAF XB EVO, Nepton 240M cooler, V1000 PS; Windows 10 PRO; T-16000M Stick; Saitek Pro Flight Pedals, Throttle Quadrant; Dual TM MFD panels; TrackIR 5; home grown cockpit, la RogerDodger.net
#4325112 - 01/01/17 03:51 PM Re: Show off your Rig [Re: Alpenman]  
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 557
CW3SF Offline
Member
CW3SF  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 557
colorado & arizona
My rig is old and not "multi stuff" ! Just a Origin "Silver Stone" desk top, a pair of very old BOSE speakers
and a 16000 stick. All is on a very small build in slide out desk within our 36 foot 5th Wheel RV. I fly only at night making sure my wife's reading light behind me is on low intensity and keeping the volume down is a must. The good news is I get to spend the winter in Arizona and the summer in Steamboat Springs Colorado.
I almost forgot to mention my new benQ screen.

I would say that some of your "rigs" come close to our total size of 400 sq Feet.


Origin made- silverstone case,ASUS Max VI Extreme , CPU intel Core i7 4770k, cooling asotex 570LC, NVIDA 3G GTX 780 Ti , Mem 16GB Kingston Hyper X DDR3 ,game drive 120GB INTEL X25 SS, OS drive 1TB, Win 7 home Prem.Logitech G105 key board,BenQ XL2430 Gaming Monitor.
All pilots owe me a beer. Retired USAF Rescue/Survival, Special Forces, and MI (after I got old and grey).
#4345230 - 03/18/17 05:27 PM Re: Show off your Rig [Re: Alpenman]  
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 419
Stache Online content
Member
Stache  Online Content
Member

Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 419
Michigan, USA
While waiting for my new VKB Gunfighter Pro joystick to ship, I happened to notice a sale at Newegg.
Been waiting for the price of the Acer XB41HU to drop and this was the lowest I'd see it, plus it had 3 day shipping for $10.

Still have some tweaking to do, but here is the first attempt - 7680 x 1440 - Six (6) feet wide.
Need to figure out how to get screen shots with nvidia surround active.
Next year Dayton trip should be fun, I am building a new system for my friend James who helped us out last year.
Should have two high powered systems there.

I can SEE ! dancinfools

[Linked Image]

Attached Files DSCF8060 (Large).JPG

Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. A. Einstein

Click to reveal.. (System Specs:)

I7-6700k OC 4.4GHZ, 16GB DDR4 3200Mhz; Gigabyte Gaming 7 MB, G1 OC'ed GTX980ti; Acer XB271HU WQHD Gsync 144Mhz; Samsung 950-512GB NVMe SSD; WD 2TB-7200rpm; Cooler Master HAF XB EVO, Nepton 240M cooler, V1000 PS; Windows 10 PRO; T-16000M Stick; Saitek Pro Flight Pedals, Throttle Quadrant; Dual TM MFD panels; TrackIR 5; home grown cockpit, la RogerDodger.net
#4345234 - 03/18/17 05:35 PM Re: Show off your Rig [Re: Alpenman]  
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 1,128
ArisFuser Online smile
Member
ArisFuser  Online Smile
Member

Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 1,128
Simply...wow! thumbsup

#4345254 - 03/18/17 07:52 PM Re: Show off your Rig [Re: Alpenman]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 720
HumanDrone Offline
Just shoot me...
HumanDrone  Offline
Just shoot me...
Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 720
Near Pittsburgh, PA USA
Mike, that is unbelievable! I hope I can be there next year as well. You did a fantastic job there, glad I was bale to pitch in a little wee bit anyway.


Box: Win7 Pro 64 bit / I72600K @4.1 GHz / EVGA GTX580 OC'd / 16GB RAM / Corsair 240 GB SSD / WD 600 GB Velociraptor / 1050W Power
FS Stuff: Saitek X52 Pro Stick/Throttle & Combat Rudder Pedals, TrackIR 5
Sims: FSX Gold, REX 2.0 OD, UTX-NA, FSGenesis 10m mesh/ CFS3 ETO 1.40/Wings Over Flanders Fields Ultimate Edition (more gorgeous than ever!)
Proud BOC inductee 4/30/12!
#4345259 - 03/18/17 08:44 PM Re: Show off your Rig [Re: Alpenman]  
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 303
AceMedic88 Online content
Member
AceMedic88  Online Content
Member

Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 303
Niagara Falls, NY
Wow...looks like I may have a new hobby


Intel Core i7 4790K (4.0 GHz)
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 4 GB
16 GB DDR3 (4 x 4GB) 2 TB HDD 240 GB SSD
Windows 10 (I hate it)

Former U.S. Army Medic - SGT.
Page 2 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Polovski, Sandbagger 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Song / Video for the Aging Male
by F4UDash4. 03/28/17 03:01 AM
British solders were drunkards
by KraziKanuK. 03/28/17 12:54 AM
WWII bomber jackets (USA)
by PanzerMeyer. 03/27/17 06:20 PM
The current state of the Hollywood film industry
by PanzerMeyer. 03/27/17 04:49 PM
Question about accents
by PanzerMeyer. 03/27/17 10:52 AM
The Ford V8
by KraziKanuK. 03/27/17 05:16 AM
parkinsons disease?
by coasty. 03/27/17 12:17 AM
Glacier Girl II?
by F4UDash4. 03/26/17 10:25 PM
Pictures of the Gulf of Mexico
by oldgrognard. 03/26/17 10:11 PM
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0