Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#4139589 - 06/25/15 10:58 PM Bodnar board equivalents/alternatives?  
- Ice Offline
Veteran
- Ice  Offline
Veteran

Philippines / North East UK
I think I'm doomed... I just purchased a DCS switch from a chap on the ViperPits boards and it should be in my trembling hands by next week.

I'm planning on building a ICP panel for BMS, but I know that's just going to be the start of yet another adventure in pit building and simming. However, this is my very first attempt at making a physical button/switch setup and I have very little clue about things.

Firstly, I know of the Leo Bodnar board but I wonder for those that make panels or button boxes here, but what other alternatives exist? What are YOU using in your setup?

Second, what kind of wire is best to use for a project like this?

I already have a wire stripper, soldering rod, lead, and a few bits and pieces, but I plan to make the panel out of MDF. Which brings me to my next problem: how to cut square holes in the MDF face....

Suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

- Ice
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4139615 - 06/26/15 12:07 AM Re: Bodnar board equivalents/alternatives? [Re: - Ice]  
CyBerkut Offline
Administrator
CyBerkut  Offline
Administrator
Hotshot

Florida
I suspect Sokol will give you a far better answer on the electronics than I would. As to the square hole...

Well, there's probably what most would consider the conventional way:

Then here is another way, using a different type of power tool:

I don't know how easy it would be to get a narrower blade in order to make smaller sized holes...

Beyond that, there are more complicated ways, but one of those is probably your best bet.

Last edited by CyBerkut; 06/26/15 12:20 AM. Reason: added comment
#4139657 - 06/26/15 03:42 AM Re: Bodnar board equivalents/alternatives? [Re: - Ice]  
Sokol1 Offline
Sokol1  Offline

Internet