Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#4127245 - 06/01/15 01:33 AM Questions for the experienced players  
BKCason Offline
BKCason  Offline

Maryland, USA
Some background: Back in the day, I played flights sims with WW1, WW2, and jet aircraft. The Dynamix sim Red Baron was the one I remember the most fondly. I have not really played any flight simulations since then.

I am a bit of a history buff and, given the WW1 centennial going on, I think I would like try another WWI sim and I am considering starting either WOFF or RoF but first I have some questions for the experienced players of OFF/WOFF and/or RoF:

Where do I start? just go with OFF and see how I like it then upgrade to WOFF? Or, jump right into WOFF or RoF?

Can I play with a fairly casual approach and take lots of time to reclaim my past experience with flight sims? or do I get thrown right into the deep water? I suspect the realism in modern flight sims is way beyond what I saw back in the day.

I don't have any recent control devices. I have CH joystick that is pre-USB which I guess is useless now a days. From what I have read online the cost of controllers can run from $20-$30 at the low end to hundreds of dollars at the high end. I was partial to the CH Products and would like to know: are they are still a good product?

What controllers would you recommend to get started? I would rather keep the cost down at first but I don't want to buy cheap stuff that will only frustrate me when I try to use it.

If you play both RoF & WOFF, how would you rate them for the player who is not a die-hard flight sim guy? I am willing to learn and to be patient while I learn but I don't think I will enjoy a game that is only enjoyable if you are a dedicated player who is a real-life pilot. Oh yeah, I am no spring chicken so my reflexes are ordinary, at best, so I try to avoid twitch games.

Sorry about all the questions but I would like some input before I make any decisions.