Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4106271 - 04/14/15 09:33 PM AAR: Sid Meier's Starship, quick campaign  
HeinKill Offline
HeinKill  Offline

Cloud based
Well here we go, a playthrough of a quick campaign in Sid Meier's Starship for iOS, a simple little turn-based strategy game with a world building theme a la Civilisation. Don't expect Elite Dangerous here - this is a little 15 USD game for tablets.

Start screen. First thing to note, no multiplayer. Here's how the game works.

OK, let's get campaigning. The setup screen.

We choose our race and affinity. I choose Boliver, because that gives me an extra starship for my fleet to start with, and 'harmony' affiliation because I am a noob, and expect to get the poop beaten out of me so I need the ability to repair damage cheaply!

I choose a large map, 4 opponents and moderate difficulty. I've played once before, on easy difficulty, and it was.

There are five 'victory' conditions to choose from - domination (last one standing), population (>51% population), wonders (seven or more hi tech wonders), science (3 level 6 technologies) or 'all' of the above. I'll go with 'all'.

Onto the strategic map. I start with my homeworld Cephei 62, a nice little place with 2 billion people (2% of the galactic population), and not much in the way of tech...

I could spend a few science credits now and buy some stealth tech, but I want better shields and weapons, so I'll wait until I have more science credits.

Now to check out the nearby planets. There are two within easy reach. Ursae 74...

And Corona 23

Ursae has a simple little side mission giving a few hundred Science but Corona has a real problem - a pirate death star has arrived in orbit.

That should give a nice little bonus if I can take care of it. But can I?