Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4099457 - 03/31/15 01:48 AM Help from P-38 or Bf-110 expert pilots.  
Aullido Offline
Aullido  Offline

Or any other twin-engine fighter.

I am doing a profile for the Warthog and I plan to release it to the community. Why I need to know is if you use separated power settings as a combat tactic (I am not an expert pilot on anything.)

Right now I plan to use both levers to control the engines at land to facilitate taxi turning (for bombers) and then use the right lever to control both engines in fly while I use the left to control propeller pitch, but maybe I am restricting some tricks that separated engine management could allow.

I can made the profile to change both modes on the fly, I just need to know if it is worth the trouble.

Thanks.

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4099828 - 03/31/15 07:38 PM Re: Help from P-38 or Bf-110 expert pilots. [Re: Aullido]  
Wklink Offline
Permanent Latrine Orderly
Wklink  Offline
Permanent Latrine Orderly
Hotshot

Olympia, Washington
If I remember right from my Aces High days you could really get a better turn radius with the P-38 by using engine management like you describe. I would cut either the right or left engine in a turn and 'snap' the plane around faster. It was tricky, I ended up in flat spins more often than I would like to admit but it was effective. I had a buddy that was expert at this.

The Bf110 wasn't as good. The P-38's engines counter rotated against each other so the torque effect would be negated in level flight. It also meant that cutting and engine would produce a torque steer effect in both directions. If I remember right the Bf110's DB601a engines were identical meaning the torque effect would only go one way. It was modeled in Aces High but I can't guarantee all WW2 flight simulators modeled this.

Hope it helps.

The artist formerly known as SimHq Tom Cofield