Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4096591 - 03/25/15 04:14 AM I Want a Real Geek Store...You Know, The Kind You Walk In and Buy Stuff  
Smokin_Hole Offline
Smokin_Hole  Offline

This is a rant. Online shopping is great. "Great" because I hate driving, hate parking, hate crowds, hate waiting and hate most of all pushy, poorly informed sales staff. And mine is just the kind of attitude that is helping to destroy smaller retailers. So why the rant? Because I just ordered $200 worth of "maker" stuff from a really great NYC based warehouse called Adafruit. Adafruit would be a truly wonderful place to physically visit, but you can't. They don't sell OTC. They run one of the most informative websites on the planet and that website is the only way to buy anything from them. Now I am new at this coding and soldering crap and nowhere close to really knowing what I am doing. I look at a $10 push-button and think it will work with my stupid little project only to find out that the button is three times the size I had imagined. Were the dims listed in the item description? Of course they were. Did I read them? Of course not! But that's part of the problem. Physical shopping allows one to browse and touch. Seeing a thing in three dimensions helps inspire ideas in a way that a photo or gif cannot. I've just now opened this 1 meter cube cardboard box full of even more cardboard and bubble wrap along with the resistors, Trinkets and LCDs and marvel at how badly this heap matches what I really needed. The rant is at myself. And how I really miss the old days of aisles of electronic geakery that I hardly understand and have it explained to me by a pimply kid who makes little effort to hide his scorn for a middle-aged muddler. I actually miss the old pre-cell-phone Radio Shack. And I hate most of all cardboard delivery boxes.

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)