Hop To
#4084013 - 02/26/15 12:03 AM Working with stupid  
- Ice Offline
Veteran
- Ice  Offline
Veteran

Philippines / North East UK
Sadly, you can't fix stupid.

It's hard enough working with the pressures that are on us right now (I work as a nurse in the NHS), but to be given more #%&*$# that doesn't even make sense just makes me want to rage-quit right now.

First new rule - we are no longer allowed "hot drinks" in the workplace aside from in the coffee room. No biggie as I'm not a coffee/tea person anyway. I'll just bring my bottle of juice with me. Supervisor spots it and tells me off in a loud voice, in front of other patients and co-workers, that I'd better put my drink away in my locker as we're only allowed water unless in the coffee room. Apparently, juice is classified as "hot drink." Okay. Conveniently, our drinking fountain (which has a filter installed) has been broken for almost a month now. The water from the cold tap is murky. Yeah, I'd love to drink that....

Second new rule - nurses are expected to put their own pillowcases on pillows. I come in to take a trolley for my next patient and the trolley has sheets on it and a blanket ready, but no pillows. What's up with that, I ask. Apparently, they no longer put pillowcases on pillows because people come in and take them away..... yes, to use on patients!! Not putting pillowcases on pillows doesn't stop us from taking them, it's just making our lives unnecessarily harder. Which doesn't really go down well when we go in and find your useless butt just sat down. I actually was stupid enough to ask why people don't put pillowcases on pillows anymore, and the reply was "you got hands."

I really wanted to banghead right then and there. Don't get me wrong, I'm not above doing that work, but when I barely have time to catch my breath and get this sort of attitude, well, it's simply beyond me....

- Ice
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4084016 - 02/26/15 12:06 AM Re: Working with stupid [Re: - Ice]