Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4066606 - 01/20/15 03:31 PM Bunch of questions from beginner  
10tacle Offline
10tacle  Offline

Hi all,

I'm new to the Warthog scripting language. Playing around with the Warthog in Elite: Dangereous I'm currently messing around with the scipting language a bit.

While I do understand the syntax and the general coding principles, in my view the official documentation does not really provide an in depth aproach to fully get familiar with the scripting language.

First question: Are you guys aware of a "more detailed" documentation or any pool of generic information which is missing in the documentation? Or maybe some other guys scripting code where I could learn things which are not documented in the official documentation?

Second one: While I got it done to open up an executable with the system spawn command here's my question: Would it be possible to open up an mp3 as well? The way I got it done was to open up an external player and then add the mp3 to be played via that external files' command line. The problem, however, is that with the scripting language I'm only able to always open up the executable over and over. Any idea to circumvent that is welcome.

Third one: By starting my script I'd like to check the position of certain switches (background: switching to other layers, however, I'd like to check what the current position of the switch is). Don't seem to find any information about the fact of whether or not this kind of status is stored somewhere or can be read by any function. Thanks for pushing me into the right direction.

Thank you and regards.
10tacle

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4066897 - 01/21/15 02:29 AM Re: Bunch of questions from beginner [Re: 10tacle]  
Flobert Offline
Flobert  Offline

Hi,

You can find status of buttons, so if its a question of whether that button is pressed or not, or the switch is in a certain position, then at least its easy.