Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#4026827 - 10/24/14 08:22 PM How is this game in terms of the pew-pew?  
- Ice Offline
Veteran
- Ice  Offline
Veteran

Philippines / North East UK
Okay, I've read some of the threads but that quickly devolved into "I don't like this" or "I hate that" which is more about the non-flying aspect of the game.

Suppose I was not bothered with everything, played on as-close-to-simulation settings as possible (takeoff, ingress, mission, egress, land), how is this game in terms of accuracy with regards to WWII aircraft dogfighting? Specifically:

1.) Is the flight modelling accurate? Will one aircraft feel and fly differently from another aircraft? I'm no expert and I've never flown in any of these planes so I really couldn't tell the degree of accuracy, but I'm more after simulation flying than Ace Combat/arcadey flying.

2.) Is the damage modelling any good? Are aircraft as tough or as fragile as they are supposed to be?

3.) How is the wingman AI? Do they require constant babysitting? Are they better off being told to anchor somewhere and you do the mission yourself?

4.) How is the enemy AI? Do they fly and fight as you would expect? Do they use their advantages to their benefit or do they fly around like idiots?

5.) Is it possible to turn off or limit the range at which the labels show up?

6.) Are things like fuel consumption and ammunition count modeled?

I'm basically interested in WWII dogfighting. RoF is just too "old" for me, I don't quite like flying WWI aircraft. DCS is so "meh" and I'm happy to wait until that sim grows up a bit more. IL2 is probably the best in this genre but I'd like something that looks more modern if possible. While I like BMS for it's accuracy, I'll be honest and say I wish the ground graphics looked more DCS-level.

Anyway, thoughts appreciated! Thanks!

- Ice
#4026882 - 10/24/14 10:41 PM Re: How is this game in terms of the pew-pew? [Re: - Ice]