Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#3999474 - 08/22/14 06:25 PM Advice on a trim wheel controller?  
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 5
Raven_Morpheus Offline
Junior Member
Raven_Morpheus  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 5
Hello

New to SimHQ. I've been around a bit on various other sim related forums though so some here may know me already (I play racing sims as well as flight sims). I came here to ask this question as here seems to be where all the cockpit and controller building geniuses reside.

As far flight sims go I mainly play IL2 1946 and DCS World (UH-1H and KA-50) and just recently I built myself a 3 axis trim controller using 3 10k ohm 10 turn pots and a Leo Bodnar BU0836A board.

However I'm wondering if I can make it a little more sophisticated to help me out in knowing how much trim I've applied at any time on any of the 3 axis.

Is there a way that I can add an LCD screen (or 3, 1 for each axis) that shows me how much I've turned each pot in numerical form, presumably a + or - figure with 0 being centre?

I'm thinking that I can't but I can't figure out another way of measuring because the pots are 10 turns each and thus I can't properly measure how much I've turned the dial without looking at a dial whilst I'm turning it and making a note that I've turned it x times and I'm x way through a turn - which I'm sure most here can appreciate is a bit awkward to do when trying to fly.

Last edited by Raven_Morpheus; 08/22/14 06:35 PM.
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4010572 - 09/16/14 05:30 PM Re: Advice on a trim wheel controller? [Re: Raven_Morpheus]  
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 3,955
Sokol1 Offline
Senior Member
Sokol1  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 3,955
Internet
Well, BU0836 dont have "output" ability, you will need do a USB device (Arduino ?) and write a code to show this in LCD...

Why not used a knob (Vernier Dial) for multiturn pot:

http://www.circuitspecialists.com/xsn-vernier.html

http://www.tme.eu/html/EN/precise-knobs-for-multiturn-potentiometers/ramka_7173_EN_pelny.html

Sokol1

#4015451 - 09/28/14 09:30 AM Re: Advice on a trim wheel controller? [Re: Raven_Morpheus]  
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 5
Raven_Morpheus Offline
Junior Member
Raven_Morpheus  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 5
Thanks. I wasn't aware counting dials would be suitable in this case.

They'd be OK for the rudder and aileron dials as they're on the top of the box, but not so much for the elevator dial which is on the side and I tend to move it using the rim of the knob I've used for it.

These are the knobs I've currently got on each pot - http://www.soundtronics.co.uk/37mm-chrome-knob-with-arrow-for-6.35mm-shafts.html

If I could find counting dials that are the same size as the dials I've got and I can turn via the edge of the rim that'd probably be the best, and easiest/cheapest, solution. I like the look of the type of dial in your 2nd link BTW, well the counter on the top of the dial at least, that looks easier to read than the one that looks like an old safe combination dial, but again probably wouldn't work on my elevator pot because it'd be pointing sideways and I'll not be able to see the dial...


As well as not knowing how much I've turned the dial I've also noted that unless I check in the cockpit (and not all planes have working trim dials) I don't know where centre is so each time I fly in IL2 1946 I have to check I've got the dials at centre, especially after each mission where I've trimmed a plane during the mission.

#4016071 - 09/30/14 12:25 AM Re: Advice on a trim wheel controller? [Re: Raven_Morpheus]  
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 67
Hempstead Offline
Junior Member
Hempstead  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 67
Bellevue, WA, USA
Originally Posted By: Raven_Morpheus
Thanks. I wasn't aware counting dials would be suitable in this case.

They'd be OK for the rudder and aileron dials as they're on the top of the box, but not so much for the elevator dial which is on the side and I tend to move it using the rim of the knob I've used for it.

These are the knobs I've currently got on each pot - http://www.soundtronics.co.uk/37mm-chrome-knob-with-arrow-for-6.35mm-shafts.html

If I could find counting dials that are the same size as the dials I've got and I can turn via the edge of the rim that'd probably be the best, and easiest/cheapest, solution. I like the look of the type of dial in your 2nd link BTW, well the counter on the top of the dial at least, that looks easier to read than the one that looks like an old safe combination dial, but again probably wouldn't work on my elevator pot because it'd be pointing sideways and I'll not be able to see the dial...


As well as not knowing how much I've turned the dial I've also noted that unless I check in the cockpit (and not all planes have working trim dials) I don't know where centre is so each time I fly in IL2 1946 I have to check I've got the dials at centre, especially after each mission where I've trimmed a plane during the mission.



If you just want to know roughly there, stick this thing in, https://www.sparkfun.com/products/11643. It will even plot a graph for you. It's an Atmel XMega-based tiny oscilloscope, I use it to monitor the voltage of axes and to reconfirm that I am reading the right ADC values when I do development for Hempstick, instead of hooking up a chunky real oscilloscope. I am sure it can do 2 axes but 3? I don't know. Plug a second one in?

It gives you voltage though, not converted digital values. But there might be a way to configure it to display digital values, I am not sure, RTFM. Even if you could, it would read 0 to 1023, because it's a 10 bit ADC there. Whether it can display %, I don't remember. You might as well look at the plot of voltage, which gives you at a glance roughly where it is. Be forewarned though, this is a dev tool and the MCU has very few legs so the developer had to multiplex buttons, thus the navigation and uses are a bit convoluted. But once you configure it the way you want, you can pretty much leave it there. It will remember the settings between reboots.

I used to print out such values on an LCD on an AVR board, predecessor of Hempstick, but I found it too gimmicky and the board costs too much so I never develop it further. It's not very hard to hook up a "supported" OLED display in Hempstick if all you want is printing some text, because Atmel's ASF comes with a driver for it. But that kind of functionality in Hempstick is very low on my priority. However, it's OpenSourced though, code it yourself. That's the beauty of OpenSource isn't it? Low on my priority, high on yours, you code it.

#4049660 - 12/12/14 05:36 PM Re: Advice on a trim wheel controller? [Re: Raven_Morpheus]  
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 7
evilC Offline
Junior Member
evilC  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 7
England
My UJR app allows you to take two physical axes and use one to trim the other, outputting the result to a virtual axis.
So you could basically apply the trim in software, so you could get a readout of the position of the trim controls on-screen.

You would obviously need some way to view the readout, either a 2nd monitor or run the game in full window and overlay the trim info.

Last edited by evilC; 12/12/14 05:37 PM.

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Headphones
by RossUK. 04/24/24 03:48 PM
Skymaster down.
by Mr_Blastman. 04/24/24 03:28 PM
The Old Breed and the Costs of War
by wormfood. 04/24/24 01:39 PM
Actors portraying British Prime Ministers
by Tarnsman. 04/24/24 01:11 AM
Roy Cross is 100 Years Old
by F4UDash4. 04/23/24 11:22 AM
Actors portraying US Presidents
by PanzerMeyer. 04/19/24 12:19 PM
Dickey Betts was 80
by Rick_Rawlings. 04/19/24 01:11 AM
Exodus
by RedOneAlpha. 04/18/24 05:46 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0