Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 54 1 2 3 4 53 54
#3883034 - 12/24/13 01:20 PM Re: DirectX 8 to 9 converter (that actually works) [Re: Broadside_Uda_Barn]  
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 407
AnKor Offline
Member
AnKor  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 407
Russia
Originally Posted By: Broadside_Uda_Barn
So what's involved with setting it up?
Putting the converter and SweetFX into the WoFF directory?

Yes, extract the converter into the "OBDWW1 Over Flander Fields" folder and edit its d3d8.ini to set NoMultisampling=1 so SweetFX can work. I could have made it 1 by default, but I decided that initial config should be clear of any side effects.
Then you can use FlightFX to make a profile for cfs3.exe.

Meanwhile I researched reported performance issues a bit and found that the converter may indeed cause some FPS loss. Though for me it was not even close to losing 20 FPS, but more like occasional stuttering which didn't happen without the converter. While I believe I know the cause - a single method from DX8 which doesn't exist in DX9 and for which I had to find a workaround, but currently I don't know a better solution.

#3883135 - 12/24/13 03:52 PM Re: DirectX 8 to 9 converter (that actually works) [Re: AnKor]  
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 81
Spinkick Offline
Junior Member
Spinkick  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 81
Michigan
How much does this hit performance? Or does it help? I will do anything for more FPS

#3883214 - 12/24/13 05:30 PM Re: DirectX 8 to 9 converter (that actually works) [Re: AnKor]  
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,885
Adger Offline
Member
Adger  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,885
Thank your for all your tips Ankor...using sweetfx with Para,s settings,(on the WOFF swettfx videos page)
And Woff looks fantastic... beercheers ...Spinkick ive noticed no real fps issues,but its only a key press away to go from Sweet fx to Vanilla WOFF

Last edited by Adger; 12/24/13 05:32 PM.

"Vis unita fortior"

"United Strength is Stronger"
#3883662 - 12/25/13 11:41 AM Re: DirectX 8 to 9 converter (that actually works) [Re: AnKor]  
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,177
elephant Offline
Member
elephant  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,177
Patras-Greece
Experimenting with SweetFX, fiddling around with Para-Bellum's settings
(a little les bloom, a bit of bleach).



With SweetFX, everything look like they have more "volume", don't you think?

There is a bit of stuttering here and there, though as sideffect, Spinkick,
but I can live with it at the moment.

Thanks AnKor for making this possible! thumbsup

Merry Christmas! CT


WOFF UE, BOC member, Albatros pilot.

#3883879 - 12/25/13 10:32 PM Re: DirectX 8 to 9 converter (that actually works) [Re: AnKor]  
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 407
AnKor Offline
Member
AnKor  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 407
Russia
Thanks! It is good to know my mods are useful smile

And I think I have some good news, even though the Christmas has already gone.
It seems my initial assumption about the mod not eating any FPS was wrong. It actually did, especially with many planes around. And while I'm still unsure whether that single method I told above is optimal or not, I have discovered a simplest change which boosts FPS even over original DX8 version.

Download link in the first post is updated.

Note there is a new option in the d3d8.ini:
ForceHardwareVertexProcessing=1
which enables improved FPS by default. There is no need to edit it except for troubleshooting.

#3883881 - 12/25/13 10:39 PM Re: DirectX 8 to 9 converter (that actually works) [Re: AnKor]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 6,879
Trooper117 Online smile
Hotshot
Trooper117  Online Smile
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 6,879
UK
Good job mate smile

#3883915 - 12/25/13 11:39 PM Re: DirectX 8 to 9 converter (that actually works) [Re: AnKor]  
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,048
Robert_Wiggins Online smile
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Robert_Wiggins  Online Smile
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,048
Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted By: AnKor
Thanks! It is good to know my mods are useful smile

And I think I have some good news, even though the Christmas has already gone.
It seems my initial assumption about the mod not eating any FPS was wrong. It actually did, especially with many planes around. And while I'm still unsure whether that single method I told above is optimal or not, I have discovered a simplest change which boosts FPS even over original DX8 version.

Download link in the first post is updated.

Note there is a new option in the d3d8.ini:
ForceHardwareVertexProcessing=1
which enables improved FPS by default. There is no need to edit it except for troubleshooting.


Ok Ankor, I have a ? for you now that you are getting to the final stages. I run and ATI card as follows:
Sapphire AMD Radeon HD 7870 Video Card - 2GB GDDR5, 1000MHz Base Core Clock, 4800MHz Memory, PCI Express 3.0, Dual Link DVI, HDTV, HDMI, Dual Mini Display Port

How do I implement your d3d8 to work on my system. I also have ENB that ran on OFF but don't know if there is a more current version. If so, where would I get it.

If you have any specific tuning info for implementing d3d8 with ENB on my system I would appreciate your suggestions.

Thanks in advance

The reason why I am asking is that when I install the D3D8 dll and ini into my ODB directory along with ENB, I get the following results in which my aircraft shows up all black. when I remove the files everything returns to normal

list of files installed:

taken from quick combat:

taken from campaign mode:


Last edited by Robert_Wiggins; 12/26/13 01:07 AM.

(System_Specs)
Case: Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Pwr Sup: OCZ, GameXStream,1000-Watt
MB: Asus Maximus VI Extreme
Mem: Corsair Vengeance (2x 8GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz, Unbuffered
CPU: Intel i7-4770K, OC to 4.427Ghz
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Seidon 240M Liquid CPU Cooler
Vid Card: ASUS GTX 980Ti STRIX 6GB
OS and Games on separate: Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD
Monitor: Primary ASUS PG27AQ 4k; Secondary Samsung SyncMaster BX2450L
Periphs: MS Sidewinder FFB2 Pro, TrackIR 4

#3883982 - 12/26/13 02:14 AM Re: DirectX 8 to 9 converter (that actually works) [Re: AnKor]  
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,239
MajorMagee Offline
Member
MajorMagee  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,239
Dayton, OH
The d3d8.dll doesn't seem to like my native 3840 x 1024 resolution.

Starting up.
Forcing Hardware Vertex Processing
Create Device Adapter = 0, Type = 1, Flags = 66
Create Device Windowed: 0, Width: 0, Height: 0, Refresh: 0, Format: 0, Multisampling: 0
Create Device RESULT = -2005530516


Service To The Line,
On The Line,
On Time

US Army Ordnance Corps.
#3884046 - 12/26/13 04:01 AM Re: DirectX 8 to 9 converter (that actually works) [Re: AnKor]  
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 424
Rover_27 Offline
Member
Rover_27  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 424
Russia
I also had black aircraft recently until turned skin resolution to High


i5 2320, 3.3 GHz
GTX 560Ti, 4 GB graphics memory
8 GB RAM
Windows 7 64x
#3884053 - 12/26/13 04:12 AM Re: DirectX 8 to 9 converter (that actually works) [Re: Rover_27]  
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 556
Broadside_Uda_Barn Offline
Member
Broadside_Uda_Barn  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 556
Honolulu, HI
Originally Posted By: Rover_27
Try creating a profile for cfs3.exe in Flight FX


Thanks Rover!

I did just that, and with some fiddling, I came up with some awesomely deep and rich coloring.
I honestly didnt think WoFF could look much better (I like the way it looks already!), but WOW!
I started with Para's settings, but then rather than messing around with SweetFX, I used FlightFX which allows presets and much easier tweaking. I thought Para's sky was a little too electric blue. I found that the settings I made for RoF worked terrifically as-is for WoFF.
I'm actually using the same preset config I made for RoF.
Here's some screens:






The screenshots make it look a little darker than it actually is.
For anyone sitting on the fence about SweetFX/FlightFX, it really makes WoFF look GREAT!

Last edited by Broadside_Uda_Barn; 12/26/13 04:18 AM.

AKA: Major Awesome
System specs:
CPU: i7 3770k @3.5GHz stock w/Phanteks PH tc14pe cooler
MB: Asus Maximus V Gene
PSU: Corsair 750w
OS: Win 7 64bit
RAM: Gskill 16gb @1600
GPU: Nvidia GTX670 4GB Drivers: 314.22
Extras: MS Force Feedback 2 Joystick, CH Pedals, TrackIR 5, Saitek Throttle Quadrant, ButtKicker Gamer 2, 3 24" monitors for 5760x1200
#3884102 - 12/26/13 08:28 AM Re: DirectX 8 to 9 converter (that actually works) [Re: MajorMagee]  
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 407
AnKor Offline
Member
AnKor  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 407
Russia
Robert_Wiggins, I'll look into black aircrafts issue (which presumable aren't triplanes from Collishaw's Black Flight smile ).
As for ENB and SweetFX... It may be better if someone else explains how to install and use them. They aren't something new and there ought to be some good instructions somewhere.
In short, you can get SweetFX here: http://www.guru3d.com/files_details/sweetfx_shader_suite_download.html
Extract everything into "OBDWW1 Over Flanders Fields" and then edit SweetFX_preset.txt file by first deleting whatever there are and then copy-pasting there all #define lines from this post http://simhq.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/topics/3882997/Re_WOFF_SweetFX_videos#Post3882997

Originally Posted By: Rover_27
I also had black aircraft recently until turned skin resolution to High

And which resolution did you use initially? Did black aircraft appear every time or only occasionally?
And by the way, did the latest version improve FPS for you?

Originally Posted By: MajorMagee
The d3d8.dll doesn't seem to like my native 3840 x 1024 resolution.

Starting up.
Forcing Hardware Vertex Processing
Create Device Adapter = 0, Type = 1, Flags = 66
Create Device Windowed: 0, Width: 0, Height: 0, Refresh: 0, Format: 0, Multisampling: 0
Create Device RESULT = -2005530516

Thanks for the log. I've seen this kind of error and this is something I have to look into.

#3884113 - 12/26/13 09:56 AM Re: DirectX 8 to 9 converter (that actually works) [Re: AnKor]  
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 424
Rover_27 Offline
Member
Rover_27  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 424
Russia
Originally Posted By: AnKor

And which resolution did you use initially? Did black aircraft appear every time or only occasionally?
And by the way, did the latest version improve FPS for you?


Hi, I use 1920x1080. Black aircraft is usually the active one. Either mine or the one I switch to in Player/Target view. Choosing High quality skins eliminated the problem. Btw, I've seen some weird terrain artefacts with the converter but I forgot to screenshot them. Next time.

As for fps - yes. I don't know what changed but it's now the same as without the converter. However, I had a one-time experience when it dropped to 2 and stayed there for a minute. Then it climbed back to 50-60. Probably some CPU glitch or smth.


i5 2320, 3.3 GHz
GTX 560Ti, 4 GB graphics memory
8 GB RAM
Windows 7 64x
#3884125 - 12/26/13 10:49 AM Re: DirectX 8 to 9 converter (that actually works) [Re: AnKor]  
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 407
AnKor Offline
Member
AnKor  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 407
Russia
OK. Thanks.
I think I've seen both of those glitches: the framerate dropped to 1-2 with no apparent reason and stayed there from some time and almost at the same time terrain textures on some tiles appeared completely wrong.
I suspect both of them may be related to the game running out of video memory (I have 1 GB card).

#3884136 - 12/26/13 11:35 AM Re: DirectX 8 to 9 converter (that actually works) [Re: AnKor]  
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,048
Robert_Wiggins Online smile
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Robert_Wiggins  Online Smile
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,048
Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted By: AnKor
Robert_Wiggins, I'll look into black aircrafts issue (which presumable aren't triplanes from Collishaw's Black Flight smile ).
As for ENB and SweetFX... It may be better if someone else explains how to install and use them. They aren't something new and there ought to be some good instructions somewhere.
In short, you can get SweetFX here: http://www.guru3d.com/files_details/sweetfx_shader_suite_download.html
Extract everything into "OBDWW1 Over Flanders Fields" and then edit SweetFX_preset.txt file by first deleting whatever there are and then copy-pasting there all #define lines from this post http://simhq.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/topics/3882997/Re_WOFF_SweetFX_videos#Post3882997

Originally Posted By: Rover_27
I also had black aircraft recently until turned skin resolution to High

And which resolution did you use initially? Did black aircraft appear every time or only occasionally?
And by the way, did the latest version improve FPS for you?

Originally Posted By: MajorMagee
The d3d8.dll doesn't seem to like my native 3840 x 1024 resolution.

Starting up.
Forcing Hardware Vertex Processing
Create Device Adapter = 0, Type = 1, Flags = 66
Create Device Windowed: 0, Width: 0, Height: 0, Refresh: 0, Format: 0, Multisampling: 0
Create Device RESULT = -2005530516

Thanks for the log. I've seen this kind of error and this is something I have to look into.


I get the black camel every timeand my resolution is 1920 x 1080.
I even removed and reinstalled the enb and d3d8 and it was always the same reproducable.
I can send yu my ENB settins (ini) if you would like to see it.

Last edited by Robert_Wiggins; 12/26/13 01:37 PM.

(System_Specs)
Case: Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Pwr Sup: OCZ, GameXStream,1000-Watt
MB: Asus Maximus VI Extreme
Mem: Corsair Vengeance (2x 8GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz, Unbuffered
CPU: Intel i7-4770K, OC to 4.427Ghz
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Seidon 240M Liquid CPU Cooler
Vid Card: ASUS GTX 980Ti STRIX 6GB
OS and Games on separate: Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD
Monitor: Primary ASUS PG27AQ 4k; Secondary Samsung SyncMaster BX2450L
Periphs: MS Sidewinder FFB2 Pro, TrackIR 4

#3884231 - 12/26/13 03:41 PM Re: DirectX 8 to 9 converter (that actually works) [Re: AnKor]  
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,177
elephant Offline
Member
elephant  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,177
Patras-Greece
I get another strange glitch with terrain textures.
Seems like the TAC and parts of the sky superimposed on the terrain.





EDIT: Oh, I just saw you're already aware of it.

I have a 4GB GFX series 7 card and 16 GB of RAM... confused

Last edited by elephant; 12/26/13 03:47 PM.

WOFF UE, BOC member, Albatros pilot.

#3884349 - 12/26/13 06:40 PM Re: DirectX 8 to 9 converter (that actually works) [Re: AnKor]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 394
yaan98 Offline
Member
yaan98  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 394
Hi AnKor,

Don't know what you did, but it's working perfect now with no effect on the FPS. Except for the occasional drop which you mentioned. I notice that it would usually happen after time acceleration and when I'm starting to enter no man's land.

#3884471 - 12/26/13 11:02 PM Re: DirectX 8 to 9 converter (that actually works) [Re: elephant]  
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 407
AnKor Offline
Member
AnKor  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 407
Russia
Yes, it is most noticeable after using time accel or over the front because the game has to load a lot new terrain.

Originally Posted By: elephant
Seems like the TAC and parts of the sky superimposed on the terrain.
...
I have a 4GB GFX series 7 card and 16 GB of RAM... confused

Yep, that's exactly what I saw. And your specs confirm that it is not related to memory issues.
I think I've found the likely cause, but again I don't have a solution. Already spent more hours on it than I wanted to banghead

If anyone has problems with it just set
ForceHardwareVertexProcessing=0
in the ini and everything will be back to normal at the cost of some FPS.

I doubt I'll be able to solve it anytime soon.
The main problem is that the CFS3 engine is so old and does such stuff which more modern games (i.e. those for DirectX 9) shouldn't do. Especially nasty is the way it uses screen buffer to do terrain texture combining. At first I though it is a bug, but looks like it is intentional. First of all it is very slow and apparently with hardware vertex processing something happens in a wrong order and that's why you may see parts of the screen drawn onto terrain.

#3884922 - 12/27/13 07:33 PM Re: DirectX 8 to 9 converter (that actually works) [Re: AnKor]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 1,209
lederhosen Offline
Member
lederhosen  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 1,209
Germany
ok will work on this

at the mo it turns my planes skin to black.

Last edited by lederhosen; 12/27/13 09:32 PM.

make mistakes and learn from them

I5 4440 3.1Ghz, Asrock B85m Pro3, Gtx 1060 3GB
#3884975 - 12/27/13 09:53 PM Re: DirectX 8 to 9 converter (that actually works) [Re: AnKor]  
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,177
elephant Offline
Member
elephant  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,177
Patras-Greece
I did set ForceHardwareVertexProcessing=0
and still having the weird terrain issues.
I think I'm going to disable SeetFX at the moment... sigh


WOFF UE, BOC member, Albatros pilot.

#3884991 - 12/27/13 10:38 PM Re: DirectX 8 to 9 converter (that actually works) [Re: AnKor]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 394
yaan98 Offline
Member
yaan98  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 394
I don't know how SweetFX specifically interacts with the game files.

When I use sweetfx I get much higher FPS than without it (both in campaign and QC). Also, if I disable everything in the settings file, I can enjoy all the default color schemes from the original game.

Page 2 of 54 1 2 3 4 53 54

Moderated by  Polovski 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
CRPGs
by DBond. 07/22/19 03:19 PM
Well Godzilla KOTM didn't do so well:
by NickM. 07/22/19 01:27 PM
New scam
by KraziKanuK. 07/22/19 06:25 AM
Flight yoke question
by SpongeBob55. 07/21/19 09:17 PM
When Not To Use The Video Chat Cat Filter
by Arthonon. 07/21/19 08:28 PM
HBO’s «Chernobyl»
by semmern. 07/20/19 06:15 PM
Spacesuit Article
by Rick_Rawlings. 07/19/19 09:31 PM
Storm Area 51
by Chaz. 07/19/19 08:20 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0