Forums » Air Combat & Civil Aviation » Civil Aviation - General » SteveFX - DX10 Scenery Fixer Active Topics You are not logged in. [Log In] [Register User]
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:
#3841664 - 09/25/13 10:25 AM SteveFX - DX10 Scenery Fixer
Johan217 Online   sleepy
Member

Registered: 01/31/05
Posts: 1125
Loc: Gent, Belgium
The long-awaited DX10 Scenery Fixer has been released: http://forum.avsim.net/topic/421399-dx10-fixer-released/

The price seemed a bit steep to me, but I am happy I bought it. Even though it is called "DX10 Scenery Fixer", it also fixed a number of aircraft issues for me: I can finally fly my imported Century of Flight aircraft in FSX in all its DX10 glory smile
_________________________
Undercarriage lever a bit sticky was it, Sir?

Top
#3841729 - 09/25/13 01:10 PM Re: SteveFX - DX10 Scenery Fixer [Re: Johan217]
kludger Online   content
Hotshot

Registered: 02/25/07
Posts: 7389
Loc: Seattle,USA
Yeah that price point is keeping me away for now, especially since following the AVSIM DX10 howto and his free patch and manual fixes has not resulted in a smooth flying experience for me (I get some strange vsync tearing).

Hopefully the product will eventually be carried by Flight1 where it will have their 30day money back guarantee and I can try it and not be out $35 if it doesn't work any better than the free patches...
_________________________
i5-2500k@4.5ghz, Asus P8Z68-V Pro/Gen3,GTX970
PSN/XBL/Steam/EA/ProjectCARS/MWO:Kludger

Top
#3841740 - 09/25/13 01:38 PM Re: SteveFX - DX10 Scenery Fixer [Re: Johan217]
malibu43 Online   content
Member

Registered: 02/28/07
Posts: 2058
Loc: Belmont, CA
At one point in time, I saw a nice FPS boost and smoother performance with DX10. Based on that, I was (at one point) planning on buying the fixer when it came out.

However, that was several addons, tweaks, and drivers ago. Prior to the fixer's release, I tried DX10 again and saw worse performance compared to DX9. If it was $10, it might give it a try anyway. But at $35, it's just not worth it. Not with all the cool stuff ORBX is coming out with...
_________________________
HP Pavillion Dv6t Quad Edition, Win7 (64), i7 2.0ghz (2.9ghz w/ Turbo Boost), 1GB Radeon HD6770M, 6GB RAM, 640GB HD, TrackIR 4, Saitek AV8R

Currently Installed:
Rise of Flight
IL-2 HSFX 7.0
FSX Acceleration
Strike Fighters 2
DCS / Flaming Cliffs 3
Mechwarrior Online

Top
#3841900 - 09/25/13 08:28 PM Re: SteveFX - DX10 Scenery Fixer [Re: Johan217]
Plainsman Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 04/03/02
Posts: 3637
Loc: In a Blue state, thank God
You gotta pick it up. It's great. The black squares problem in FTX Global is gone now. The flickering runway problem in some airports: gone. The rain distortions: gone.
_________________________
Acer: XB 280HK 28" 3840 X 2160, 1ms, w/Nvidia GSync
ASUS: ROG X99 Rampage V: Extreme mobo
Corsair: White Graphite 760T Full Tower
Corsair: 16GB Vengeance LPX 2800MHz RAM
Corsair: 280 mm liquid CPU cooler
Corsair: SP2500 2.1 Gaming Speaker System
Creative: Sound Blaster Z
EVGA: 850W SuperNOVA
INTEL: Six-Core, i7 5820K CPU @4.2Hz
MS: 3000 Wireless Keyboard and Mouse
MS: Windows 7 Home Premium
Samsung: 1TB 850 PRO SSD
WD: 1 TB Black Edition HDD
Zotac: Dual Nvidia GeForce GTX 980 4GB in SLI


Top
#3841938 - 09/25/13 10:37 PM Re: SteveFX - DX10 Scenery Fixer [Re: Johan217]
Legend Offline
Legsie is such a
Hotshot

Registered: 05/09/00
Posts: 9143
Loc: Zutphen, NL / ShangHai, China
I've never really tried DX10... is it worth it? What does it do? Graphical updates? Faster? Less CTDs?
_________________________
There is a theory which states that if ever anyone discovers exactly what the universe is for it will instantly disappear and be replaced by something even more inexplicable.
There is another theory which states that this has already happened.

Top
#3841958 - 09/26/13 12:26 AM Re: SteveFX - DX10 Scenery Fixer [Re: Legend]
kludger Online   content
Hotshot

Registered: 02/25/07
Posts: 7389
Loc: Seattle,USA
Originally Posted By: Legend
I've never really tried DX10... is it worth it? What does it do? Graphical updates? Faster? Less CTDs?


I think the biggest sell seems to be cockpit shadows:

_________________________
i5-2500k@4.5ghz, Asus P8Z68-V Pro/Gen3,GTX970
PSN/XBL/Steam/EA/ProjectCARS/MWO:Kludger

Top
#3842154 - 09/26/13 01:13 PM Re: SteveFX - DX10 Scenery Fixer [Re: Legend]
Heretic Offline
Member

Registered: 10/12/06
Posts: 1801
Loc: GER
Originally Posted By: Legend
I've never really tried DX10... is it worth it? What does it do? Graphical updates? Faster? Less CTDs?


Cockpit shadows, better water and (slightly) better FPS.


I don't get a performance improvement with DX10 though.
_________________________
FSX: Dornier 328, Convair 580
FS9: Boeing 737-200Adv

Top
#3842448 - 09/26/13 09:47 PM Re: SteveFX - DX10 Scenery Fixer [Re: Johan217]
Legend Offline
Legsie is such a
Hotshot

Registered: 05/09/00
Posts: 9143
Loc: Zutphen, NL / ShangHai, China
Thanks Kludger and Heretic.
_________________________
There is a theory which states that if ever anyone discovers exactly what the universe is for it will instantly disappear and be replaced by something even more inexplicable.
There is another theory which states that this has already happened.

Top
#3843264 - 09/29/13 08:57 AM Re: SteveFX - DX10 Scenery Fixer [Re: Johan217]
Li'lJugs Offline
Hotshot

Registered: 12/31/00
Posts: 8161
Loc: St. Cloud MN USA
I, too, am on the fence on DX10. Wondering if it is worth all the "potential" hassle. I am definitely not a "tweaker", I just know I would mess things up! sigh

I have never even checked the preview button in FSX, and using Bejotes automatic tweaker, I have a good experience in DX9, and don't want to fix what ain't broken. Cockpit shadows would be nice, but are not essential, to me. I do like the idea of unloading work from the CPU to the GPU (although I run on a laptop, my GPU has 3GB VRAM), but...??
_________________________
"As God is my witness, I thought turkeys could fly."

Top
#3843335 - 09/29/13 01:08 PM Re: SteveFX - DX10 Scenery Fixer [Re: Legend]
Plainsman Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 04/03/02
Posts: 3637
Loc: In a Blue state, thank God
Originally Posted By: Legend
I've never really tried DX10... is it worth it? What does it do? Graphical updates? Faster? Less CTDs?


My FPS is 2-3 times faster under DX10, but then again, I turn my graphics up way high, and set target FPS at "unlimited." So where I get 20 FPS using DX9, I get over 50 with DX10. Where I get 9 FPS with DX9, I get 21-24 with DX10. It's consistent. And, of course, DX10 simply looks better, especially the water. That's probably the biggest difference. But again, I have the water slider all the way to the right on maximum. I have traffic on 100% even with third party traffic program installed. Running 1920 x 1200 x 32.

You may be using more modest settings and limiting your target FPS, so may not see much difference in FPS.

Keep this rule in mind: the greater you push the graphics, the bigger the gap between DX9 and DX10.


Edited by Plainsman (09/29/13 01:09 PM)
_________________________
Acer: XB 280HK 28" 3840 X 2160, 1ms, w/Nvidia GSync
ASUS: ROG X99 Rampage V: Extreme mobo
Corsair: White Graphite 760T Full Tower
Corsair: 16GB Vengeance LPX 2800MHz RAM
Corsair: 280 mm liquid CPU cooler
Corsair: SP2500 2.1 Gaming Speaker System
Creative: Sound Blaster Z
EVGA: 850W SuperNOVA
INTEL: Six-Core, i7 5820K CPU @4.2Hz
MS: 3000 Wireless Keyboard and Mouse
MS: Windows 7 Home Premium
Samsung: 1TB 850 PRO SSD
WD: 1 TB Black Edition HDD
Zotac: Dual Nvidia GeForce GTX 980 4GB in SLI


Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:

Moderator:  RacerGT, Stormtrooper 
 
Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
to much Buzz, in Buzz Aldrin game... Apple screwing up again...
by Magnum
12:21 PM
Amazing nature picture.
by marko1231123
11:05 AM
Madge!!
by CG2015
10:46 AM
Five Nights at Freddy's 3
by Desert Eagle
07:36 AM
Time Has Come Today! Woot!
by Wrecking Crew
11:12 PM
Building a warship
by KraziKanuK
05:19 PM
OK, what are we playing for *fun*, and what's the next big thing coming along?
by Dunolde
04:53 PM
Did this really happen during WW II in the European Theater?
by CG2015
03/01/15 06:27 AM
Who here is going to try the free Windows 10 within the first year?
by Force10
03/01/15 03:43 AM
American Sniper
by PanzerMeyer
02/28/15 11:28 PM
 

Forum Use Agreement | Privacy Statement
Copyright 1997-2014, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.