Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
#3782169 - 05/14/13 06:15 PM Re: AARs from Luftwaffe REDUX for Cliffs of Dover [Re: HeinKill]  
theKhan Offline
resident pacifist (sic)
theKhan  Offline
resident pacifist (sic)

Canada
Wow, fantastic AAR.

I used to work for a living, but then I took an arrow to the knee.
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3782230 - 05/14/13 07:51 PM Re: AARs from Luftwaffe REDUX for Cliffs of Dover [Re: HeinKill]  
enigma6584 Offline
enigma6584  Offline

Wisconsin, USA
Stunning! Bravo!

#3784056 - 05/18/13 02:03 PM Re: AARs from Luftwaffe REDUX for Cliffs of Dover [Re: HeinKill]  
HeinKill Offline
HeinKill  Offline

Cloud based
Sept 23, morning

This morning I stood outside my tent at Lympne and watched the sun come up over England for the first time. As the men gathered around the gulaschkanon for their stew and coffee I reflected that perhaps I was even standing where one of my Saxon ancestors had stood, in 500 AD. The pleasure lasted about three minutes before the first air raid warning (a false alarm), but I drank it in.

At the dawn gave way to daylight, we were briefed, and the briefing started with Mayer announcing I would be flying number 3 in his schwarm now - a katschmarek no more! In fact I would have a wingman of my own...

The Leutnant in charge of intel gave us a quick update on the battle. Our forces had established a beach-head at Hythe and captured Folkestone. Unloading of supplies and heavier armour was underway...

Our armoured spearhead was advancing through Folkestone port, to establish a front line facing our ultimate objective, the larger and heavily defended port of Dover.

Our mission was to run a low level strike against the nearby Hawkinge airfield and then patrol the skies over Lympne. But as we accelerated over the turf on our takeoff run, the sirens began to wail again.