Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#3748401 - 03/10/13 01:51 AM Has anyone purchased the FSSB for their Warthog?  
Joined: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,268
specialksl Offline
Member
specialksl  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,268
Baltimore, MD USA
I am wondering who made the purchase of this product after spending almost $500.00 on their Warthog system to add another $500.00. Unless you have a lot of "throw" away income, how much better is this mod and is it really needed?

This isn't meant as an insult to the manufacture, just my curiosity.


Main PC: ASUS P8Z77 - Intel I7 3770K OC to 4.4GHZ - Thermaltake Water2.0 Pro
GeForce GTX 970
16 Gig G.Skill Ares DDR3
Samsung EVO SSD 500GB
Plenty of storage
Windows 7 64bit
ASUS PB278Q @ 2560x1440

SIMPIT: ASUS Prime Z370-A, I7 8700K, H80i-V2 watercooler
ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2080
Windows 10 64bit
32GB 2400 DDR4 memory
Thrustmaster Warthog - 2-TM MFDs
Saitek Combat Rudder Pedals,4 -FIPs, TPM, Radio, Multipanel, Switch Panel, Pro Flight Yoke
3 - 32" Samsung monitors-1920x1080, 22" Samsung monitor
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3748425 - 03/10/13 02:48 AM Re: Has anyone purchased the FSSB for their Warthog? [Re: specialksl]  
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 355
CTR69 Offline
Member
CTR69  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 355
Only if you're into BMS... It doesn't make sense in DCS, imo.

#3752701 - 03/18/13 01:53 AM Re: Has anyone purchased the FSSB for their Warthog? [Re: specialksl]  
Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 57
piiman Offline
Junior Member
piiman  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 57
I give up what is fssb

#3752719 - 03/18/13 02:31 AM Re: Has anyone purchased the FSSB for their Warthog? [Re: piiman]  
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 6,640
CyBerkut Online content
Administrator
CyBerkut  Online Content
Administrator
Hotshot

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 6,640
Florida
Originally Posted By: piiman
I give up what is fssb


http://www.realsimulator.com/html/fssb_r3_warthog.html

#3753222 - 03/19/13 01:05 AM Re: Has anyone purchased the FSSB for their Warthog? [Re: specialksl]  
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 630
Ltfransky Offline
Sith Lord
Ltfransky  Offline
Sith Lord
Member

Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 630
Peterborough, ON, Canada
But what does the acronym mean? (FSSB) I'm curious


Please Heatware Me!

Ours is not to reason why. Ours is to do or die.
Tennyson

I have slipped the surly bonds of earth
And danced the skies on laughter-silvered wings..
Gillespie Magee, RCAF
#3753250 - 03/19/13 02:00 AM Re: Has anyone purchased the FSSB for their Warthog? [Re: Ltfransky]  
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 6,640
CyBerkut Online content
Administrator
CyBerkut  Online Content
Administrator
Hotshot

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 6,640
Florida
Originally Posted By: Ltfransky
But what does the acronym mean? (FSSB) I'm curious


I'd *guess* it's Force Sensing Sensor Board.

#3753856 - 03/20/13 12:15 AM Re: Has anyone purchased the FSSB for their Warthog? [Re: specialksl]  
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,598
Frederf Offline
Member
Frederf  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,598
That is pretty funny. The website marketing the "FSSB" never actually explains the acronym.

#3754218 - 03/20/13 06:01 PM Re: Has anyone purchased the FSSB for their Warthog? [Re: Frederf]  
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 6,640
CyBerkut Online content
Administrator
CyBerkut  Online Content
Administrator
Hotshot

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 6,640
Florida
Originally Posted By: Frederf
That is pretty funny. The website marketing the "FSSB" never actually explains the acronym.


Yes, that seems to be the case. I did find a reference to "sensor board" in there somewhere, hence my guess.

#3754548 - 03/21/13 12:19 AM Re: Has anyone purchased the FSSB for their Warthog? [Re: specialksl]  
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,598
Frederf Offline
Member
Frederf  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,598
It's "force sensing" or "force sensitive." Basically it works like an F-16 SSC. It has a force transducer and zero/minimal physical control movement. This would be a good idea if you're trying to model a F-16/F-22/F-35 (I think the JSF is like the Viper).

#3754686 - 03/21/13 04:00 AM Re: Has anyone purchased the FSSB for their Warthog? [Re: specialksl]  
Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 57
piiman Offline
Junior Member
piiman  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 57
it seems a little over priced when you consider TM made the whole stick and throttle and all they make is the sensor part for basically the same price the whole unit. Which is probably why they don't have a single comment in their forums.

#3756574 - 03/24/13 03:23 AM Re: Has anyone purchased the FSSB for their Warthog? [Re: specialksl]  
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 630
Ltfransky Offline
Sith Lord
Ltfransky  Offline
Sith Lord
Member

Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 630
Peterborough, ON, Canada
Any of the TM mods that I've seen have been crazy expensive. No one can seem to modify the Cougar/Warthog without doubling the original purchase price.


Please Heatware Me!

Ours is not to reason why. Ours is to do or die.
Tennyson

I have slipped the surly bonds of earth
And danced the skies on laughter-silvered wings..
Gillespie Magee, RCAF
#3766907 - 04/12/13 08:53 PM Re: Has anyone purchased the FSSB for their Warthog? [Re: specialksl]  
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 155
Hamblue Offline
Member
Hamblue  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 155
Guess if you want one another option would be to get the X65 which does the same thing and gives you the whole set-up.


Motherboard: Z87. CPU: 4790K clocked to 4.4Ghz.
Ram: 16Gig Power Supply: 1000 watt Video:GTX 780Ti Hard Drives: 500 Gig PCIE SSD and 1TB maxtor.
Video Card. Evga GTX 78O Ti OC
Controllers: Warthog Hotas, Saitek Combat pedals, Track IR5.
#4120002 - 05/13/15 05:43 PM Re: Has anyone purchased the FSSB for their Warthog? [Re: specialksl]  
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 1,180
scrim Offline
Member
scrim  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 1,180
Late input, but as the happy owner of an FSSB mod, I can say this: Don't get it for the Warthog. If you get it for BMS, or any other F-16 sim, go ahead, it's worth it. But not only is it unrealistic for the A-10, it's also massively awkward. The A-10 lacks a flight control system like the F-16. Just leveling out and letting go of the stick won't cause the plane to fly straight. Take a look at the control UI next time you fly the A-10, and you'll see that there's a lot of small control inputs you have to make for level flight, whereas in BMS it's you can literally speaking let go of the stick.

Having a force sensing stick as opposed to one that actually moves is a massive pain with the A-10, or any other plane in DCS really, you just wind up with a very awkwardly flying and responding plane. That said, for BMS it's absolutely fantastic. If an F-16 module is ever released for DCS, then I'd assume it will be the same for that.


Moderated by  Force10, RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Berlin - March 1943
by PanzerMeyer. 05/21/19 11:14 PM
The B-17
by oldgrognard. 05/21/19 10:20 PM
RIP Niki Lauda.
by RedToo. 05/21/19 07:12 AM
What is with kids these days?
by KraziKanuK. 05/21/19 03:03 AM
you gota be f'ing kidding me..
by W-Molders. 05/21/19 02:41 AM
Epic flypast for D Day anniversary
by HeinKill. 05/20/19 05:44 PM
Funniest Forgotten Weapons video in a while...
by RSColonel_131st. 05/19/19 09:21 PM
And Now, a Movie About Apollo 8
by F4UDash4. 05/19/19 04:16 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0