Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#3674791 - 11/03/12 09:02 PM DIY Sealed Minature Hall Pots, on the cheap!  
LocNar Offline
LocNar  Offline

Greetings, long time lurker, but first time poster here. Love this forum, and the wonderful ideas I get from here so I figured I should start chipping in. I made some sealed miniature Hall pots for a modified Thrustmaster Cougar I made for my mechpit, which I will be posting about shortly. I'm also a sailplane pilot, and have some sailplane cockpit stuff to share later too. I figured I'd start with the pots though, since it is potentially useful to more people than either my mechpit or my glider pit contributions will be.

Sealed Hall pots. I wanted Hall pots that would:
1. not be easy to disturb once installed
2. be easy to install and calibrate
3. compact
4. cheap
5. repeatable
6. do not collect steel shavings

All compasses pointed to sealed units. After pricing them in the wild, I decided a different approach would be needed, one that fit my budget, which is close to nothing. The tried and true bic pen method it is, (for anyone not in the know: http://www.simpits.org/geneb/?p=299 ) only I decided to bring it up to date. Below is what I have come up with. The pots work great and were well worth the time it took to make them.

The Ubiquitus A1302...