Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
#3602231 - 07/05/12 06:20 PM Re: New Combined Arms Screenshots (32 images) [Re: citizen guod]  
Joined: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,058
Talon Offline
Member
Talon  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,058
Tampa, FL USA
At first glance I thought I was looking at Steel Beasts Pro. This could in effect be an alternative to SB Pro, IMHO.

I've always been a fan of the electronic battlefield as it was envisioned by Spectrum Holobyte. Now it looks like our dreams will be finally realized. Here's hoping someone decides to model a Tornado (in the spirit of that golden oldie).


Gotta say, I love the direction DCS is headed.

--T

Last edited by Talon; 07/05/12 06:21 PM.

Support simulation in the classroom.
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3602236 - 07/05/12 06:33 PM Re: New Combined Arms Screenshots (32 images) [Re: citizen guod]  
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 485
Wags Offline
Member
Wags  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 485
Ahwatukee, AZ. USA
Just to manage expectations, please do not expect ground vehicle control to be at the level of SB Pro. In this first iteration, it would be more akin to the Battlefield series. However, where it dramatically differs from BF3 is operational scale, inclusion of online JTAC controllers (an outgrowth of some of our military projects), interaction with DCS air units, indirect fire systems, and the 2D Command Map. While 1st person control of many ground units is possible, it will not be possible yet to act as a FPS leg unit.

While the first release of CA will be a big step for us in the direction of the digital battlefield, it is just the first step and there are many areas we plan on fleshing out in coming years (control of AI air and naval units, FPS role, higher detail terrain, different types of artillery rounds, improved dust and smoke, etc.).

Thanks

Last edited by Wags; 07/05/12 06:39 PM.

Matt Wagner
Producer, TFC/Eagle Dynamics
#3602237 - 07/05/12 06:33 PM Re: New Combined Arms Screenshots (32 images) [Re: citizen guod]  
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 17,621
SkateZilla Offline
Skate Zilla Graphics
SkateZilla  Offline
Skate Zilla Graphics
Veteran

Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 17,621
Virginia Beach, VA
no more BF3 for me.. lol


HAF922, Corsair RM850, ASRock Fata1ity 990FX Pro,
Modified Corsair H100, AMD FX8350 @ 5.31GHz, 16GB G.SKILL@DDR2133,
2x R7970 Lightnings, +1 HD7950 @ 1.1/6.0GHz, Creative XFi Fata1ity Platinum Champ.,
3x ASUS VS248HP + Hanns�G HZ201HPB + Acer AL2002 (5760x1080+1600x900+1680x1050), Oculus Rift CV
CH Fighterstick, Pro Throt., Pro Pedals, TM Warthog & MFDs, Fanatec CSR Wheel/Shifter, Elite Pedals
Intensity Pro 10-Bit, TrackIR 4 Pro, WD Black 1.5TB, WD Black 640GB, Samsung 850 500GB, My Book 4TB
#3602239 - 07/05/12 06:39 PM Re: New Combined Arms Screenshots (32 images) [Re: trindade]  
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 22,094
citizen guod Offline
Lifer
citizen guod  Offline
Lifer

Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 22,094
Originally Posted By: Maj_Alvega
Originally Posted By: Pooch
I have A-10C. What do I do to become part of this?


+1

Edit: I guess the answer is here:

http://www.digitalcombatsimulator.com/en/news/


EinsteinEP and Magnum are doing a feature on capabilities in land and air, and how A-10 and Combined Arms work together.


Wisdom is knowing what's enough
#3602245 - 07/05/12 06:51 PM Re: New Combined Arms Screenshots (32 images) [Re: citizen guod]  
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,896
bogusheadbox Offline
Opinionated Aussie Bloke
bogusheadbox  Offline
Opinionated Aussie Bloke
Senior Member

Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,896
Wags, if your could indulge me.

I know the vehicles will be "simplistic" in comparison to DCS craft. But will key elements of these vehicles have correct items like engagement times and cycles. With a Surface2air asset, will (though the systems simplistic) simulate a corect time to attack simulating detection times, IFF times, and weapon deployment times.


Also, i am really keen to know more about the asset tracking and will this involve the creating of supply lines limiting available ordinance at a base. E.g. At the moment, any craft can load up on max effective weapons. so if 15 warthogs spawn in with max mavericks and all crash on take off and spawn again with max mavericks, will they deplete a current store of availble weapons thus limiting others to different ordinance until resupply?

Just interested in how it will work.


Fighterops...

The only TRUE Stealth crowd funded game.

Devs said there was stuff there, but you just couldn't see it.
#3602254 - 07/05/12 07:07 PM Re: New Combined Arms Screenshots (32 images) [Re: citizen guod]  
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 3,109
TankHunter Offline
Misanthropic Peon
TankHunter  Offline
Misanthropic Peon
Senior Member

Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 3,109
It could be entertaining, but it is no SB Pro. It does not appear to have much in terms of FCS.


l'Audace, toujours l'audace

I dont have pet peeves; I have major, psychotic hatreds. - George Carlin

Even if you have a crown and sit at a throne
In the end you will have nothing
Even if you are destined for great riches
In the end you will return to the dust
#3602263 - 07/05/12 07:33 PM Re: New Combined Arms Screenshots (32 images) [Re: citizen guod]  
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 58
tusler Offline
Junior Member
tusler  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 58
Hemet California
I can't wait to get in a mobile SAM duckhunter , go to the edge of the forest next to the battle and tag some A10's whenpigsfly and the KA50 will not have a hope attack .
At least the first time I fire, if they spot my position after that...the story might not have a good ending for me help


If I had a crew chief my sim-race car would be fast too.
In All the Fun...Don't forget to ask Jesus to Save You before it's too late!
#3602280 - 07/05/12 08:18 PM Re: New Combined Arms Screenshots (32 images) [Re: citizen guod]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 2,606
trindade Offline
Senior Member
trindade  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 2,606
Portugal
Originally Posted By: guod
Originally Posted By: Maj_Alvega
Originally Posted By: Pooch
I have A-10C. What do I do to become part of this?


+1

Edit: I guess the answer is here:

http://www.digitalcombatsimulator.com/en/news/


EinsteinEP and Magnum are doing a feature on capabilities in land and air, and how A-10 and Combined Arms work together.


thumbsup

#3602281 - 07/05/12 08:18 PM Re: New Combined Arms Screenshots (32 images) [Re: bogusheadbox]  
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 5,880
GrayGhost Online content
Hotshot
GrayGhost  Online Content
Hotshot

Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 5,880
I'm not Wags, but I can probably answer some of that for you with the caveat that stuff isn't final yet, AFAIK.

The reaction time required for various SAM systems depends on detection capability (how many radar sweeps do I need to call something a track?), to operators having to track the target, to missile gyros spinning up, etc. Since the modeling of these SAMs is fairly simple (plus, they're small rapid-reaction SAMs, I believe the larger SAMs will not be playable), you will not have to deal with all this, so in that respect, engagement times should be shorter for a player. IFF isn't a real factor here.
This much you can probably glean from the screenshots anyway.

Originally Posted By: bogusheadbox
I know the vehicles will be "simplistic" in comparison to DCS craft. But will key elements of these vehicles have correct items like engagement times and cycles. With a Surface2air asset, will (though the systems simplistic) simulate a corect time to attack simulating detection times, IFF times, and weapon deployment times.



I think the intent is to accomplish as you describe, but for now, no comment - ED will properly explain the feature when it is completed.

Quote:
Also, i am really keen to know more about the asset tracking and will this involve the creating of supply lines limiting available ordinance at a base. E.g. At the moment, any craft can load up on max effective weapons. so if 15 warthogs spawn in with max mavericks and all crash on take off and spawn again with max mavericks, will they deplete a current store of availble weapons thus limiting others to different ordinance until resupply?

Just interested in how it will work.

Last edited by GrayGhost; 07/05/12 08:20 PM.

--
44th VFW
#3602306 - 07/05/12 09:29 PM Re: New Combined Arms Screenshots (32 images) [Re: citizen guod]  
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,460
Genbrien Offline
Stick to the plan man!
Genbrien  Offline
Stick to the plan man!
Member

Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,460
Quebec, Canada
is there a difference in speed if you drive on road compare to fields/grass ?

Is there something like in Wargame: European Escalation to tell the ground unit to drive by road instead of direct point to point ?


XBL/PSN/others: genbrien
Mobo: Asus P8P67 deluxe Monitor: Samsung 23'' 1920*1080
CPU: i7 2600k@ 4.8Ghz Keyboard: Logitech G15
GPU:GTX 980 Strix Mouse: G700s
PSU: Corsair TX750w Gaming Devices: Saitek X55, TrackIr5
RAM: Mushkin 2x4gb ddr2 9-9-9-24 @1600mhz
Case: Cooler Master 690 SSD: Intel X25m 80gb
#3602310 - 07/05/12 09:41 PM Re: New Combined Arms Screenshots (32 images) [Re: Genbrien]  
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 537
3instein Offline
Member
3instein  Offline
Member

Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 537
Falkirk,Scotland
Originally Posted By: Genbrien
is there a difference in speed if you drive on road compare to fields/grass ?

Is there something like in Wargame: European Escalation to tell the ground unit to drive by road instead of direct point to point ?


When routing ground forces, you can either set multiple waypoints to reach an end destination, or command units to follow roads.

Taken from here-
http://www.digitalcombatsimulator.com/en/series/combined_arms/ notworthy

Mick.


"An appeaser is someone who feeds the crocodile hoping he will be eaten last"

Winston Churchill

#3602313 - 07/05/12 09:47 PM Re: New Combined Arms Screenshots (32 images) [Re: citizen guod]  
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 297
EtherealN Offline
Member
EtherealN  Offline
Member

Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 297
Also displayed in the trailer. wink

#3602341 - 07/05/12 11:01 PM Re: New Combined Arms Screenshots (32 images) [Re: 3instein]  
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,460
Genbrien Offline
Stick to the plan man!
Genbrien  Offline
Stick to the plan man!
Member

Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,460
Quebec, Canada
Originally Posted By: 3instein


When routing ground forces, you can either set multiple waypoints to reach an end destination, or command units to follow roads.

Taken from here-
http://www.digitalcombatsimulator.com/en/series/combined_arms/ notworthy

Mick.


guess I skipped that line... banghead duh


and what about speed ?


XBL/PSN/others: genbrien
Mobo: Asus P8P67 deluxe Monitor: Samsung 23'' 1920*1080
CPU: i7 2600k@ 4.8Ghz Keyboard: Logitech G15
GPU:GTX 980 Strix Mouse: G700s
PSU: Corsair TX750w Gaming Devices: Saitek X55, TrackIr5
RAM: Mushkin 2x4gb ddr2 9-9-9-24 @1600mhz
Case: Cooler Master 690 SSD: Intel X25m 80gb
#3602362 - 07/06/12 12:11 AM Re: New Combined Arms Screenshots (32 images) [Re: Genbrien]  
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 537
3instein Offline
Member
3instein  Offline
Member

Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 537
Falkirk,Scotland
Originally Posted By: Genbrien
Originally Posted By: 3instein


When routing ground forces, you can either set multiple waypoints to reach an end destination, or command units to follow roads.

Taken from here-
http://www.digitalcombatsimulator.com/en/series/combined_arms/ notworthy

Mick.


guess I skipped that line... banghead duh


and what about speed ?


According to the ED forums,you can set your speed,formation and route,you can see this when you look at the screenshot of the map view,but how this will be done I'm not so sure.
Mick.


"An appeaser is someone who feeds the crocodile hoping he will be eaten last"

Winston Churchill

#3602395 - 07/06/12 03:08 AM Re: New Combined Arms Screenshots (32 images) [Re: citizen guod]  
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,460
Genbrien Offline
Stick to the plan man!
Genbrien  Offline
Stick to the plan man!
Member

Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,460
Quebec, Canada
I was talking if units are rolling on dirt/grass/fields
are they rolling slower than on roads


XBL/PSN/others: genbrien
Mobo: Asus P8P67 deluxe Monitor: Samsung 23'' 1920*1080
CPU: i7 2600k@ 4.8Ghz Keyboard: Logitech G15
GPU:GTX 980 Strix Mouse: G700s
PSU: Corsair TX750w Gaming Devices: Saitek X55, TrackIr5
RAM: Mushkin 2x4gb ddr2 9-9-9-24 @1600mhz
Case: Cooler Master 690 SSD: Intel X25m 80gb
#3602439 - 07/06/12 05:20 AM Re: New Combined Arms Screenshots (32 images) [Re: citizen guod]  
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,425
Mr_Blastman Online content
Senior Member
Mr_Blastman  Online Content
Senior Member

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,425
Atlanta, GA
It just needs Battlemechs and dropships in it to make it 100000 times better. smile

#3602566 - 07/06/12 02:01 PM Re: New Combined Arms Screenshots (32 images) [Re: citizen guod]  
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 31
Chug Offline
Cunning Linguist
Chug  Offline
Cunning Linguist
Junior Member

Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 31
Michigan, USA
Lookin' good!


Shock and Awe is now Shuck and Jive
#3602596 - 07/06/12 02:55 PM Re: New Combined Arms Screenshots (32 images) [Re: citizen guod]  
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 7,673
Patrocles Offline
Hotshot
Patrocles  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: May 2005
Posts: 7,673
Chicagoland
muy bien!


Animal Mother > Rambo+ChuckNorris
#3602693 - 07/06/12 06:37 PM Re: New Combined Arms Screenshots (32 images) [Re: citizen guod]  
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 62
shadowze Offline
Junior Member
shadowze  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 62
The Emerald Isle
I wonder what will come first
CA beta being released
OR
BS1 -> BS2 "upgrade" people being included in the DCS World beta ?


I do not agree with what you have to say, but I'll defend to the death your right to say it.
Voltaire
Customer feedback (how not to) * 1 Closed * 2 Closed * 3 Closed * 4 Closed
#3602978 - 07/07/12 02:02 PM Re: New Combined Arms Screenshots (32 images) [Re: shadowze]  
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 355
CTR69 Offline
Member
CTR69  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 355
Originally Posted By: shadowze
I wonder what will come first
CA beta being released
OR
BS1 -> BS2 "upgrade" people being included in the DCS World beta ?


Getting the World out of beta, me thinks

Page 2 of 3 1 2 3

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Monday Jokes...
by Bill_Grant. 06/17/19 04:25 PM
Happy Father's Day!
by Bill_Grant. 06/16/19 05:35 PM
Apollo 11 in Real Time
by F4UDash4. 06/16/19 04:51 PM
Star Wars Reimagined
by Timothy. 06/16/19 06:17 AM
A moving story
by NH2112. 06/16/19 03:44 AM
Joke: With Aplologies To Bill Grant
by Pooch. 06/15/19 04:50 PM
Grand Theft Auto - new twist
by KraziKanuK. 06/15/19 03:12 PM
New Robots Now Fight Back
by Marc. 06/14/19 10:44 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0