|
|
|
#3599375 - 06/29/12 03:26 PM
VirtualPilot3d Simulator???!!!
|
Member
Registered: 07/06/05
Posts: 1114
Loc: Destination Unknown...
|
Looks like scam to me. They use screenshots taken from FSX and FlightGear. http://www.virtualpilot3d.com/index2.html
_________________________
"Any fool can write code that a computer can understand. Good programmers write code that humans can understand" - Martin Fowler.
|
|
Top
|
|
|
|
#3599395 - 06/29/12 04:43 PM
Re: VirtualPilot3d Simulator???!!!
[Re: jt_medina]
|
Member
Registered: 10/16/05
Posts: 354
|
Seems like they sell FlightGear branded as their own product. Google it and you'll find some more stuff, including security alerts for navigating similar sites.
-C-
_________________________
Thermaltake Level 10GT Intel i7 2600K @4,3Ghz 2 X ASUS Radeon 6950 (6970 BIOS) 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz Corsair 120GB Force Series SSD Seagate Barracuda XT 2TB ASUS P8Z68-V PRO GEN3 Corsair H70 Hydro CPU Cooler
|
|
Top
|
|
|
|
#3599398 - 06/29/12 04:56 PM
Re: VirtualPilot3d Simulator???!!!
[Re: jt_medina]
|
Skate Zilla HD Studios
Veteran
Registered: 11/24/04
Posts: 11955
Loc: Virginia Beach, VA
|
I think they were already exposed as being false at one point.
_________________________
Skate Zilla William B.
HAF922, 700W OCZ, ASRock Fata1ity 990FX Pro, Corsair H100,AMD FX8350 @ 5.15GHz, 16GB G.SKILL Sniper@DDR2133, Sapphire DualX HD7950-OC@1.1 GHz Core/6GHz Mem, Creative XFi Fata1ity Platinum Champ., ASUS VS248HP 24" LEDx3, 5760x1080(6048x), Turtle Beach Earforce, RCA 5.1 Surround CH Fighterstick, Pro Throttle, Pro Pedals, Saitek EclipseII IntensityPro 10-Bit, Kinect For Windows, TrackIR 4 Pro WD 1.5TB Black SATA3, SG 1TB SATA2, 2x SG 500GB SATA2, 1x SG Ext. 1TB USB3
|
|
Top
|
|
|
|
#3599399 - 06/29/12 05:00 PM
Re: VirtualPilot3d Simulator???!!!
[Re: jt_medina]
|
Member
Registered: 06/18/07
Posts: 2335
Loc: Shropshire UK
|
"FlightGear Flight Simulator version 1.9.1 has been actively marketed over the Internet under several aliases and product names, including but not limited to Virtual Pilot 3D, Flight Pro Sim, Pro Flight Simulator, Earth Flight Sim, Real Flight Simulator and Flight Simulator Plus." http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FlightGear
_________________________
IL2, FSX, ROF, SOW, Cliffs of Dover... Vista Ultimate 64bit. Core2Quad9550 @ 3GHz, Nvidia 560Ti 1GB @ 1920x1080P, 4GB RAM, Creative SB X-FI
|
|
Top
|
|
|
|
#3599406 - 06/29/12 05:18 PM
Re: VirtualPilot3d Simulator???!!!
[Re: jt_medina]
|
Skate Zilla HD Studios
Veteran
Registered: 11/24/04
Posts: 11955
Loc: Virginia Beach, VA
|
FlightGear Flight Simulator version 1.9.1 has been actively marketed over the Internet under several aliases and product names, including but not limited to Virtual Pilot 3D, Flight Pro Sim, Pro Flight Simulator, Earth Flight Sim, Real Flight Simulator and Flight Simulator Plus.[5] Usually, $47 USD is charged for the main program and $67 USD is charged for the full World Scenery Package. Numerous ads and review articles that are very similar in wording can also be found scattered across the Internet posted by "affiliates." A number of Facebook pages for these products have also been posted. Recent copies of FlightGear have been using Flight Simulator X images on their website, greatly lying about the capabilities of the simulator.
Because FlightGear is licensed under the GNU General Public License, this is fully legal; however, the morals of these operations are questionable, as many customers who have purchased these products are very dissatisfied with what they receive and feel they have been scammed.[20] Additionally, an investigation by a number of FlightGear developers has found virtually no difference between the source code made available by the FlightProSim, etc. websites and the official version of FlightGear 1.9.1. In fact, FlightProSim, Pro Flight Simulator, etc. almost never recognize that their products are deriratives of FlightGear Flight Simulator, use images from the FlightGear wiki, and are not involved in any way with the FlightGear project.
_________________________
Skate Zilla William B.
HAF922, 700W OCZ, ASRock Fata1ity 990FX Pro, Corsair H100,AMD FX8350 @ 5.15GHz, 16GB G.SKILL Sniper@DDR2133, Sapphire DualX HD7950-OC@1.1 GHz Core/6GHz Mem, Creative XFi Fata1ity Platinum Champ., ASUS VS248HP 24" LEDx3, 5760x1080(6048x), Turtle Beach Earforce, RCA 5.1 Surround CH Fighterstick, Pro Throttle, Pro Pedals, Saitek EclipseII IntensityPro 10-Bit, Kinect For Windows, TrackIR 4 Pro WD 1.5TB Black SATA3, SG 1TB SATA2, 2x SG 500GB SATA2, 1x SG Ext. 1TB USB3
|
|
Top
|
|
|
|
#3599468 - 06/29/12 07:34 PM
Re: VirtualPilot3d Simulator???!!!
[Re: jt_medina]
|
Viceroy of Huntly
Hotshot
Registered: 02/23/06
Posts: 5637
Loc: Virginia, USA
|
I keep getting junk mail on this at work. Probably 3 times a day. Each time it's from a different domain... That's your first clue. 
_________________________
It's a Game.
|
|
Top
|
|
|
|
#3599473 - 06/29/12 07:42 PM
Re: VirtualPilot3d Simulator???!!!
[Re: jt_medina]
|
Lifer
Registered: 01/22/01
Posts: 22682
Loc: KCLT
|
They sure like the word "realistic". Really. I mean. Realistically.
_________________________
Subscribe to PC Pilot! - I write for them!
|
|
Top
|
|
|
|
#3599611 - 06/30/12 06:20 AM
Re: VirtualPilot3d Simulator???!!!
[Re: BeachAV8R]
|
Member
Registered: 01/10/01
Posts: 2354
Loc: France
|
What kind of turkeys do they want to catch ? who today , motivated enough in complex flightsims don't come from time to time in a sim dedicated forum and take advice about their products ?
|
|
Top
|
|
|
|
#3599617 - 06/30/12 06:49 AM
Re: VirtualPilot3d Simulator???!!!
[Re: jt_medina]
|
Member
Registered: 05/06/11
Posts: 481
Loc: Indonesia
|
Selling a free product without even doing any modification, much less improvement, at all.. I know it's legal and people need to eat, but it's sad to know that there are some who shamelessly do that. Wonder if they have the stomach to eat whatever food they buy with the money?
_________________________
"It ebbs and flows, shipmate. A hot woman and a cold beer will put all this in proper perspective."
|
|
Top
|
|
|
|
#3600013 - 07/01/12 07:29 AM
Re: VirtualPilot3d Simulator???!!!
[Re: jt_medina]
|
Senior Member
Registered: 10/27/99
Posts: 2622
Loc: Halifax, NS, Canada
|
I just clicked on the link at the top of this thread and "by sheer coincidence" the comment at the top of that site was just posted today. Never a good sign. Someone hacked my hotmail two weeks ago and sent a link to all my contacts which loaded a weight loss pill article by "Fox News" and all the comments stayed the same but the date auto incremented each day. Very scammer-like.
|
|
Top
|
|
|
|
|
|
| |