Forums » Land & Armor Combat » DayZ Mod » DayZ - How to join friends on a server? Active Topics You are not logged in. [Log In] [Register User]
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:
#3576360 - 05/20/12 07:23 PM DayZ - How to join friends on a server?
Snakeyes Offline
XBL: sSnakeyes
Senior Member

Registered: 10/21/99
Posts: 2820
Loc: Arizona, USA
With cross server persistence in DayZ, (The location where you leave a game is where you will start when you resume play) I don't see an easy way for a group of friends to join a server and start playing together from the jump. Even respawns are at random spots. The best you can do is to all join the same server and meet up at an agreed upon location. Given the size of this map and the lack of useable vehicles, that could take awhile.

Here is a link to the mod map if you don't already have it:
http://avidblur.com/arma2/
_________________________
“Badges? We ain’t got no badges! We don’t need no badges! I don’t have to show you any stinking badges!”
~ Gold Hat

Top
#3576876 - 05/21/12 04:27 PM Re: DayZ - How to join friends on a server? [Re: Snakeyes]
kludger Offline
Hotshot

Registered: 02/25/07
Posts: 7044
Loc: Seattle,USA
I think a reasonable plan is if we all meet up on the SimHQ TS, then we can try to see if there is a server with a couple of open spots and all try to join the same server, then meet at some location on the map that is a visible landmark but not too bad of a Zombie/Bandit hotspot.

I will try to join the TS server whenever playing in the hope that others will do the same.

_________________________
i5-2500k@4.5ghz, Asus P8Z68-V Pro/Gen3,GTX670/4GB
PSN/XBL/Steam/EA/ProjectCARS/MWO:Kludger

Top
#3576897 - 05/21/12 05:19 PM Re: DayZ - How to join friends on a server? [Re: Snakeyes]
Master Offline
meh
Hotshot

Registered: 07/12/04
Posts: 8833
Loc: NW Alabama, USA
_________________________
And we as its creators don't feel ready to hear your annoyed jabber about it.
-IL-2 BoS Dev Team

http://agw.bombs-away.net

RoF: =AGW= Master
Blood, Guts and Oil, My youtube channel

Top
#3577241 - 05/22/12 08:10 AM Re: DayZ - How to join friends on a server? [Re: Master]
Snakeyes Offline
XBL: sSnakeyes
Senior Member

Registered: 10/21/99
Posts: 2820
Loc: Arizona, USA
Awesome map! Thanks Master.
_________________________
“Badges? We ain’t got no badges! We don’t need no badges! I don’t have to show you any stinking badges!”
~ Gold Hat

Top
#3577245 - 05/22/12 08:19 AM Re: DayZ - How to join friends on a server? [Re: kludger]
Snakeyes Offline
XBL: sSnakeyes
Senior Member

Registered: 10/21/99
Posts: 2820
Loc: Arizona, USA
That's about the best we can do kludger. I'll get on Teamspeak at SimHQ when I'm playing DayZ. Maybe we could get a small team together and try that out.
_________________________
“Badges? We ain’t got no badges! We don’t need no badges! I don’t have to show you any stinking badges!”
~ Gold Hat

Top
#3577257 - 05/22/12 08:33 AM Re: DayZ - How to join friends on a server? [Re: Snakeyes]
DeadMeat Offline
Professional Meat Shield
Member

Registered: 09/29/09
Posts: 126
Loc: Kentucky
I've never had to wait more than a few minutes to get on a server. I tend to find one where people from TS are on and spam the join button.
DayZ is one of those games where people are constantly dropping off the server.
_________________________
I've come to realize that many adults act more childish than most children.


Top
#3577276 - 05/22/12 08:53 AM Re: DayZ - How to join friends on a server? [Re: DeadMeat]
Snakeyes Offline
XBL: sSnakeyes
Senior Member

Registered: 10/21/99
Posts: 2820
Loc: Arizona, USA
I agree DeadMeat. It's not really an issue joining a server alone, but the way the mod is designed it's more of a problem inserting a team on the same server. A 4 player team would likely be all over the map depending on where they were when they last logged off.
_________________________
“Badges? We ain’t got no badges! We don’t need no badges! I don’t have to show you any stinking badges!”
~ Gold Hat

Top
#3577281 - 05/22/12 09:04 AM Re: DayZ - How to join friends on a server? [Re: kludger]
fatty Online   wacky
Senior Member

Registered: 07/04/07
Posts: 3064
Loc: Brussels, Belgium
Originally Posted By: kludger
I think a reasonable plan is if we all meet up on the SimHQ TS, then we can try to see if there is a server with a couple of open spots and all try to join the same server, then meet at some location on the map that is a visible landmark but not too bad of a Zombie/Bandit hotspot.

I will try to join the TS server whenever playing in the hope that others will do the same.



This is how we've done it the few times we've gotten together as a SimHQ group. The key is when you spawn, look at the text in the lower right to figure out where you are. Then we just pick a meeting point accessible to all of us and try to rally up there.
_________________________
"...for who are so free as the sons of the waves?"

Top
#3585752 - 06/04/12 03:00 AM Re: DayZ - How to join friends on a server? [Re: fatty]
Snakeyes Offline
XBL: sSnakeyes
Senior Member

Registered: 10/21/99
Posts: 2820
Loc: Arizona, USA
<snip>
Quote:
This is how we've done it the few times we've gotten together as a SimHQ group. The key is when you spawn, look at the text in the lower right to figure out where you are. Then we just pick a meeting point accessible to all of us and try to rally up there.

fatty - That is the best way we have found to meet up. If you spawn too far from the others it is faster just to respawn again (suicide) until you get closer to the group. 4-5 of us were online last night and I only managed to hook up with one. Players can run into all kinds of trouble while trying to reach a rally point. Especially on crowded servers where there is a lot of PVP action.
_________________________
“Badges? We ain’t got no badges! We don’t need no badges! I don’t have to show you any stinking badges!”
~ Gold Hat

Top
#3586073 - 06/04/12 03:23 PM Re: DayZ - How to join friends on a server? [Re: Snakeyes]
Vertigo1 Offline
Veteran

Registered: 02/09/01
Posts: 10781
Loc: At the Mountains of Madness
Bohemia has started selling true physical maps of Chernarus to DayZ'ers. Last I checked, they were selling them for $15. Check their site.
_________________________
“It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data. Insensibly one begins to twist facts to suit theories, instead of theories to suit facts.” - Sherlock Holmes, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

"Politics is the art of looking for trouble, finding it everywhere, diagnosing it incorrectly and applying the wrong remedies." - Groucho Marx

"We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit." - Aristotle


Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
Hop to:

Moderator:  EinsteinEP, RacerGT 
 
Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Absolutely great Uncharted: Drake's Fortune fan film
by semmern
06:40 AM
Can anybody proof the rumor on low cost russian version
by Zoltann
05:28 AM
Carenado Cessna 206 X-Plane 10
by Scoobe
03:30 AM
Modifying Labels
by RANSs9
01:42 AM
CM Black Sea Preview
by LukeFF
12:28 AM
No way to lock map settings in MP?
by mugwump
09:54 PM
One Moore Episode
by Linebacker
08:27 PM
Steel Beasts Control Setup
by Asid
08:22 PM
Darth Vader will save Ukraine?
by FlashBurn
08:05 PM
Steel Beasts Cougar MRAP
by Asid
07:29 PM
 

Forum Use Agreement | Privacy Statement
Copyright 1997-2014, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.